We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“clean, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights,nice clean hotel good decor,food was nice breakfast very good,really hot water in bathroom be care if children running a bath.
Drinks are reasonable price for a hotel, only downside was beds a bit to soft and the zedbeds very very soft, new mattresses please, but would go back

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hugo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review, I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and we will take your feedback on-board.

Kindest regards

Nicholas Bees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    243
    116
    59
    37
See reviews for
169
289
37
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Booked in and stayed in the 'lodge' awoken at 4.00am noise from the central heating pump. Gues its because I booked the cheapest room as we arrived at 10.00pm and were due out 8.00am the next morning didnt see the point in a more ecpensive stay. Complained the next morning that we were awoken even though they turned off the pump so that we could sleep. Resulted in cool water in the bathroom or should I say converted broom store. Sent email to complain , no one bothered to reply Oh so Poor

Room Tip: Refuse the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
I'm really sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, and even more sorry to read that you had sent an email to us and didn't receive a response. This certainly isn't our standard at the hotel!

If I could ask you to forward your letter to me directly at nicholas.bees@accor.com, I shall answer immediately.

In the meantime, thank you for your response and I hope to speak to you very soon.

Kind regards

Nicholas Bees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We booked in to stop in this hotel as we were going to see a show in Milton Keynes. We paid for the privilege room and were anticipating it to be larger than the standard hotel room, however we were first given the key to room number one, upon entering we found it to be very small and it was generally not at all what we were expecting. We couldn't work out what privilege we had from being in this room as not only was it small it had a view of a car park and a grave yard. After speaking to a gentleman at reception we were moved to room 34, this was a lot bigger and a much nicer setting to spend the evening. We soon regretted this as in the morning there seemed to be very loud banging and pipe work going on below us.

We paid to have breakfast in the morning, this was fantastic and the staff were very helpful and friendly. However when walking back from breakfast we walked through our corridor which had trays with last nights food on from other guests across the floor, this had been there earlier but we had presumed it would have been quickly cleaned up, which it wasn't.

We felt that the hotel generally needed an update as everything seemed to be very dated however it was in a lovely location and if myself and my partner were there longer we would have enjoyed walking around the beautiful garden.

Room Tip: Ask what privilege you are getting for your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you very much for your considered review. We really appreciate the feedback...

I'm sorry to see that we didn't meet your expectations during this stay, we really hope that we can welcome you back in the future and exceed your expectations on a repeat visit. Please do let us know when you are returning and I'll make sure that your room is to your liking...

In the meantime I'll investigate your comments and we'll try to make improvements for future guests.

Kindest regards

Nicholas Bees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

A pleasant country location, in a rural village setting. We stayed in the new annex at the rear of the hotel, which was comfortable, clean and quiet, with a great view out over the gardens. There was a large family party that night, but we didn't hear any late night noise. We didn't use the restaurant facilities as there is an excellent village pub just a few hundred yards walk, which had a good selection of local beers. The location was ideal for exploring Bletchley Park as well as the shopping centre and restaurants in Milton Keynes. Will use again as a base, and will book ahead for meals at the local pub.

Room Tip: Ask for the new annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm delighted that you'll use us your base for visiting the area again in the future - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Nicholas Bees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Having had this hotel booked for me for a business trip I was pleasantly surprised to find such a delightful hotel in the countryside very close to the centre of Milton Keynes.
Public rooms are a converted mansion whilst the bedrooms are in a modern extension and coach house.
The bedroom was a little tired but clean and a good size. The only downside being that there were no bedside lights and the shower was less than impressive.
The staff were very friendly and the food in the restaurant excellent.
I would definitely return for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim11052011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks very much for your response. I'm delighted to see that, on the whole, you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

We are working on the points that you've raised so thank you, once again, for your feedback.

Kind regards

Nicholas Bees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

After being seconded on business to work in Milton Keynes, I was fortunate enough to spend my 1st night at the Parkside. After several weeks of being booked in a number of other hotels in Milton Keynes, I requested to go back to the Parkside, and subsequently spent nigh on 6 months in residence.

Getting the negatives out of the way:

1. Room quality - Varies room to room and generally in somewhat need of an update.

2. Car Park - Poorly laid out ending up with residents poorly parked which can lead to access being restricted.

3. Coach house accommodation - Provides basic rooms but are quite restrictive and not in the best of order (N.B. This is based on feedback from colleagues, rather than personal experience)

Now to the positives

1. Staff - To a woman and man, from Reception to Restaurant and Bar they were simply fantastic and made my stay so much easier, and couldn't do enough to help.
It really was of great solace, after an extended period away from a young family at home, that I was made to feel like a member of the 'Parkside' family.

2. Location - Considering it is no more than 5 minutes from the centre of Milton Keynes, you would simply not know it, a very tranquil and pretty location.

3. Restaurant - Recognising it already has a Rosette, this is backed up by the superior nature of the menu and food compared to any other hotel restaurant's I ate at and infact a lot of Restaurants in Milton Keynes.
In addition, suffering with a wheat intolerance, the staff made sure everything was checked and where possible an alternative 'wheat free' option offered.

To Rob and his team, I extend my thanks and hope at some point to return to visit

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It's great to get feedback from regular guests as you have more of an insight into the positives (and negatives) of the hotel.

I'm delighted to see that on the whole your comments are positive and I'll ensure that I pass your comments on to the whole team.

Many thanks again

Nicholas Bees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just returned from a couple of nights away with Mum and Dad and have to say that this is a lovely hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere of the hotel is relaxed and welcoming. The lounge and bar areas are comfortable with a very nice décor and the bedrooms are of a high standard. We stayed in rooms on the ground floor of the main hotel building. The food in the restaurant is good quality and the breakfast was very good too. I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a quiet short break. The hotel is in a pretty location with lovely walks and cycle routes along the canal and through parkland.

Room Tip: We found the ground floor rooms in main hotel building to be very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for your considered review. I'm delighted that you all enjoyed your stay here, and look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Nicholas Bees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
3.8 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#2 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
0.4 mi away
Peartree Lodge Waterside
Peartree Lodge Waterside
#5 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Milton Keynes
Hilton Milton Keynes
#14 of 34 in Milton Keynes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel

Property: Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel
Address: Newport Road | Woughton on The Green, Milton Keynes MK6 3BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milton Keynes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside hotel is a boutique 4 star hotel, located in the village of Woughton on the Green just minutes from central Milton Keynes. The hotel has been extensively refurbished including guest bedrooms, public areas and function rooms. The popular Seasons Restaurant has a traditional menu and has recently gained an AA Rosette, and the hotel bar serves drinks and light meals menu in the stunning lounge area or outside on the terrace overlooking the surrounding fields and parkland. The hotel has 3 fully-equipped meeting rooms for up to 150 people, perfect for business as well as weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Parkside Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel Buckinghamshire
Accor Milton Keynes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing