We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and bright - Staff excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Milton Keynes
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milton Keynes UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and bright - Staff excellent”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight on a Friday - hotel was excellent value for money, staff couldn't have been more helpful- noisy guests in the hotel lobby spoiled a quiet breakfast, pity really otherwise it would have been 5 stars all round

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMKGM, General Manager at Novotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Eddie E,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. We appreciate your time and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Milton Keynes again soon.

Kind regards,

Rob Unson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    407
    214
    73
    63
See reviews for
380
279
62
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for one night, Friday 1 August 2014. Friendly reception. Lift out of order, but not a problem for us. Spacious room (115), basic but clean.King size bed was very comfy. All was well until we arrived in the dining room at 9.30 am for the £13.95 a head breakfast. What a shambles! Breakfast is served buffet style. We went for coffee first. No coffee in any of the jugs. Never mind, it will arrive soon, so let's have some fruit. Only 3 slices of water melon available, all other trays empty. No crosissants or other pastries, just a few fruit buns. Half a french stick. Never mind, let's go for the full english breakfast. Lots of sausages, no bacon, 1 gloomy looking fried egg, a tray containing a few scraps of watery scrambled egg, half a tray of mushrooms, no baked beans, no hash browns.
There was nobody around to ask for more food, although to be fair the coffee was replenished by about 9.45, as was the bacon and the beans. The fruit did not get replenished in all the time we were in the restaurant, neither did the french bread or pastries. This was done by one man, who also seemed to be responsible for clearing plates and seating guests. Management need to look at this, as it was clear from the list of guests we were crossed off from upon entering the restaurant that this was a busy service. The small amount of food on offer was not acceptable and represents very poor value for the £27.90 paid.
We were in a hurry to leave, so did not have time to hang around waiting to find someone to voice any complaint to. However, when we were queing to check out at 10.15 am, a couple of men were having a furious exchange with one of the front desk staff about the lack of food available to them at the breakfast buffet....
Would stay at the hotel again, as it is handy for MK shopping centre, but would recommend you eat breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berniluxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMKGM, General Manager at Novotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Berniluxford,

Thank you for your feedback from the weekend just past, we appreciate your comments and agree that Saturday morning's breakfast was not the ideal experience, we did amend things on the Sunday to cope with the numbers and got some positive feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves soon!

Kind regards,

Rob Unson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and everything was ok. Reception staff were great! The waiting staff unfortunately were not so great. Big delays with food and clearing plates, i suggest putting more staff on. The housekeeping staff just left dirty dishes and laundry all over the place and it didnt get picked up till midnight! Swimming pool was lovely!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise-Megan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMKGM, General Manager at Novotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Louise_Megan,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us during the school holidays. We are glad you enjoyed the reception staff and hope they have the chance to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Rob Unson
General Manager
Novotel Milton Keynes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as the hotel we had pre booked had sadly flooded, the mecure- which is an amazing hotel btw. We stayed in a executive room at the Novotel Milton Keynes and it was beyond basic and would of preferred a premier inn to be honest. I have read the other reviews and don't know how it has such good reviews? I'm not at all fussy, I like camping and have travelled the world staying in huts so I'm not the type of person to moan. The hotel location is good, near to the centre which is handy, and looks well presented from the outside. As you walk in the decor is modern and clean. The lady with red hair behind the front desk is really lovely and a shame that the other staff aren't as kind and friendly as her. We checked in and was told how the first lift wasn't working, which wasn't an issue for us but if your disabled just a note to telephone ahead to check this lift is working as there are some steps to get to the next lift.
The corridors are a little aged and the carpets could do with a good clean, maybe a splash of paint? Arriving at our executive room, had the label on the door, walk in and it was like stepping back in time? Old dirty carpets, pebble dash design toilet, separate from shower room and sink? So unable to wash your hands if some one is using the shower and they've locked the door? Just all very basic... Nothing special, we were treated to one free bottle of water! Treat to our room I guess? We noticed the pool on the way in and phoned reception to ask if we could use the pool and they said yes but we had to wait because it was full... They would telephone us back... Sadly the nice red haired girl had left the front desk and a useless man was there instead, date 2nd August 2014 afternoon/ evening if the company are interested in which member of staff this gentleman is... So after 45min no phone call... We ring again... No it's still busy... Ok so another 45min no we still aren't allowed in... Great? So we decided to order room service for tea, was alright but cold on arrival, the gentle man delivering the food was nice. Luckily we had a taste card to get 50% off the food bill, very lucky as it wasn't worth £50.
As I pulled out the chair to sit on I noticed lots of stains... Brown stains... And a few white :/ I daren't imagine what they were so covered it with a towel and sat down to eat and think of that... The stains were on both seats and looked very much like something you would wipe on toilet paper. This executive room really is top dollar? Not!
The shower was old dated and peeling flooring inside. Toilet paper very thin, and I know this is petty information but so thin you end up using lots more.
The bed was very comfortable so one bonus!! No view from the window. Stains on the sofa bed too. Charge of £2.50 if I wanted another bottle from the fridge.. No thanks.
We had already paid for breakfast in bed and that arrived on time, good. Looked average but as I cut into the sausage it was raw inside, I'm pregnant and obviously could not eat this nor could anyone else who doesn't want to be seriously ill. Made me fed up as I thought "what else?" So I ate the toast and jam, jam was nice and the bread well made me giggle was only toasted on one side? But that didn't bother me just thought how useless that you can't even toast a piece of bread? Also holes in the towels used for the shower, would recommend taking your own really if they're all like that? So we never were "allowed" to use the pool so I can't comment on that, it may be it's saving grace but well never know. Also the useless gentle man on the front desk was meant to telephone us back and tell us when it would be available that evening... Never received the call... He was also supposed to telephone us back about an enquirey we had about the food before we ordered the evening meal, never did?! But we got through to the nice people at the restaurant and they were very helpful. I would recommend that the manager of the Novotel Milton Keynes reviews this gentlemans contract and maybe gives the lady with the red hair a pay rise for having to do all the work. But hey ho?!
I was so glad to leave earlier today! Will never stay in a Novotel again, this wasn't our choice this time and will certainly never be our choice in the future. Good luck if your going there, hope you get a cheap deal as it isn't worth it otherwise, and seriously don't stay in the executive room it isn't worth it at all. Book a premier inn if your on a budget you'll get a much better service and towels without holes and nice warm cooked food. I highly recommend the mecure we stayed in previously if your going to the area. Beautiful hotel, really helpful friendly staff and the grounds are lovely, worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazenc2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMKGM, General Manager at Novotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear kazenc2002,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us when you were relocated from Mercure Parkside. I can imagine you would have been disappointed to have a different stay than you were originally expecting at Parkside, and more so with things being less than either of us would have hoped for. We wish you pleasant travels on your next trip, and best wishes with your impending birth!

Kind regards,

Rob Unson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

i stayed here last night with the family and we had a fantastic time

The staff were incredibly helpful in looking after my son's medication which is very rare.

The room was very clean and comfortable, with a perfect pool for my son.

100% will be staying there if in MK again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMKGM, General Manager at Novotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Ceri g,

Thank you for your praises. I was pleased to see the staff looked after you and your son so well. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels take you to MK.

Kind regards,

Rob Unson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Fine, is probably the best way to describe this hotel, it's nothing special, but not offensive either.
There is free car parking which is a huge bonus in a fairly central area of Milton Keynes, with ample spaces, it's also very quiet. Service from reception staff was good, and the room was spacious with a large comfortable bed. Everything was clean and well presented, there was plenty of hot water and large towels.
Breakfast was pretty average, buffet style, with lots of choice, but none of it was terribly appetising.
I think for the price it was good, and would only stay for a night, or if on business again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ponytail186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMKGM, General Manager at Novotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Ponytail186,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to see most of your needs were met, and I will review your comments with the chef to ensure we make any necessary improvements to breakfast!

Kind regards,

Rob Unson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A clean modern hotel with friendly staff. A lovely swimming pool. We had a family room which was very comfortable and spacious with a separate toilet. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. The hotel was very close to Gullivers Land and Willen Lake. Plenty of parking space.
I could not find fault for a hotel of this type and terrific value - would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 49, a family room was spacious and overlooked woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMKGM, General Manager at Novotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Tony H,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with the grandchildren and hope to welcome you all back again soon!

Kind regards,

Rob Unson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,240 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
1.7 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 34 in Milton Keynes
805 reviews
2.6 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Milton Keynes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Milton Keynes

Property: Novotel Milton Keynes
Address: Saxson STREET Leyburn Court, Milton Keynes MK13 7RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Milton Keynes
#4 Family Hotel in Milton Keynes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Milton Keynes 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Milton Keynes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Accor Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes Novotel
Novotel Milton Keynes Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing