We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the worst hotel in the universe.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We did not even stay the night.
We lasted 3 hours in the hotel before we walked out absolutely disgusted.
In those 3 hours we had the following:
Whilst situated in the QUIET zone of the hotel we experienced 1 million decibel noise levels from very common hen parties intoxicated, screaming, playing very loud music, jumping around, running up and down the hall way and setting off the fire alarms.
The room hadn't seen a lick of paint since 1892 and the carpet had more stains than a stain glass window.
The bed was not screwed to the wall so when you sat on it it nearly threw you through the window.

When we tried to speak to a member of staff we were greeted by complete disinterest and smugness.
They lied about why the fire alarms went off and there was no signs of a health and safety fire protocol. Utterly shocking!

We tried to contact the manager on 4 occasions but he would not call us back. When we finally got through, which was by chance as he answer the phone, his customer service skills were worse than the hotel.

He was rude, talked over us and generally was not interested in the issues we raised.
It was only when I tried to escalate it to his area manager that he finally listened and gave us a refund. Basically he was scared I would highlight these concerns and it may risk his job. No refund was offered, we had to fight for 3 days for this to eventually and grudgingly refund the total.

If you have any sense you wil avoid this chain. It is plain awful.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Angelina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Having been booked here by my company and reading the reviews I was dreaded it but.... Yes the place is a bit shabby with little investment but it was clean and the staff are lovely and real try hard. On a quiet mid week the food arrive very quickly and was perfectly OK. It does not try to be fancy and is very good value. Yes there is a nightclub opposite but luckily not open during my tues/weds night stay. My stay has been much better than I expected and I applaud the staff both reception and bar/restaurant

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank cestlaviex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a basic hotel which is perfect for me when traveling through the area for business. I've stayed here 3 times and my room has always been clean and service adequate. The food is nothing fancy however edible, especially breakfast. When you just need to basics, then stay here.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, request a room on the ground floor as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DownUnderDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This has to be the worst hotel I've ever stayed in, the rooms are shabby and in need of refurbishment, I had a blocked sink in my room and no tea or coffee, so house keeping leaves a lot to be desired. To add insult to injury the food is totally inedible, after waiting over an hour for my meal it arrived overcooked and dry I was offered an alternative and told this would only take a few minutes, my food finally arrived 45 minutes later and was average. My complaint was dealt with grudgingly and I was made to feel in the wrong for complaining. I would suggest anyone considering this hotel look at a YMCA as i'm sure the accommodation would be of a higher standard.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Many of the other reviews of this hotel reflect my feelings. This is a sparse hotel with basic amenities that is one of those I just want to get a few hours sleep and then move on outfits. Its a French chain and reflects their style of motorway hotels that offer little except for a bed. Throughout you feel that French air of we are only going to provide you with the absolute necessities and anything extra you will have to pay for. They could learn a lot form Holiday Inn Express!
Rooms are clean and the service endeavours to help with the limited support they are given from what is obviously a very distant management. You felt they were struggling with low staff quotas and it was just a job not a vocation.
Rooms are not well sound proofed so get a room at the end of the corridor otherwise you will hear everyone coming in at all hours and with a nightclub opposite this can be the case!

Room Tip: Go for rooms as far away from Reception as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My usual hotel was fully booked and I ended up here. The rooms were in a separate block to reception, which felt a little strange as a solo traveller. The bed was old soft, bedding was clean, room warm, but carpets stained and needed replacing. No lift so I struggled up to the 2nd floor with 2 cases and a bag,

The pub/restaurant. Well wish I hadn't bothered. I ordered a pizza. After 50 minutes I asked where it was " oh we had a big order before yours" came the reply. Well and??/ So what?? This pub had about 30 people in it, and maybe half were eating. When it came it was totally inedible.

The other guests were noisy. It was like being on a school trip with doors banging, shouting and people running up and down corridors. Never again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel for the night in order to attend a two day conference. Whilst I understand it was late when we arrived, I expected slightly more than a piece of paper shoved my way implying I should fill it in, and then being told that I didn't have to fill it all in once I had!
The room was basic but clean and tidy. The bed felt as though it was going to fall apart when I got into it, we had a twin room and my colleague did not sleep well at all, I would say it was a good job I was so tired! Incidentally the beds were small, squashed close together and only had one pillow on each.
On a far brighter note: the shower was excellent! I was impressed having such a bad bed that the en-suite shower was quite so powerful, though the sign asking guests to ensure that the door was shut to avoid setting the fire alarm off made me chuckle and wonder which unfortunate guests were in the hotel the night that they discovered that this was the case?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
1 mi away
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
2 mi away
Newton Park Farm Bed and Breakfast
Newton Park Farm Bed and Breakfa...
#30 of 35 in Milton Keynes
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Peartree Lodge Waterside
Peartree Lodge Waterside
#7 of 35 in Milton Keynes
335 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ramada Milton Keynes
Ramada Milton Keynes
#2 of 5 in Newport Pagnell
402 reviews
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Milton Keynes at The Hub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford

Address: Off Watling 40 Penn Road | Stratford Bletchley, Milton Keynes MK2 2AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Price Range: £34 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes is situated in an ideal location for business and leisure users, situated close to the town centre the Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes offers flexible and affordable rates. A picturesque location beside The Grand Union Canal, Conveniently situated within easy reach of the M1 and A5, only 5.5 miles away from Milton Keynes train station and shopping centre. Local attractions include the theatre District, Xscape, Bletchley Park and Woburn Golf course and Safari Park. With 80 stylish ensuite bedrooms and 3 modern purpose built meeting rooms. All public areas and bedrooms within the hotel provides paying WI-FI. The hotel is the perfect choice for leisure or business travellers offering a place to relax and unwind ready for the following day. There are 3 meeting rooms available. All meeting rooms are fully equipped with over head projectors, TV, video, stationary, flip chart. You can sample our contemporary cuisine at Campanile Restaurant, or the varied drinks menu at the Bar. At Campanile Milton Keynes, you're assured of a warm welcome and flawless service. You'll find areas for relaxing and places to work, along with numerous other first-rate amenities such as our free onsite parking and pet allowances. .Our hotel comprises of 80 bedrooms, these are split like so: - 4 Easy access rooms - 56 Double bedded rooms - 20 Twin bedded rooms To sleep, relax or even work, enjoy the peace and tranquillity of our bedrooms. At Campanile hotel Milton Keynes we can accommodate up to 2 adults and 1 child (under 12 years old) with a choice of a twin or a double room. Each of our presentable en-suite bedrooms offer: - Paying Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel - Comfortable bed for a great nights sleep - Bathroom with a bath, shower and hair dryer - Courtesy try with tea & coffee facilities - Flat screen, TV with free view channels - Ample work space .Breakfast From 6:30 am to 9:30 am (and from 7am to 11am on Saturdays-Sundays & Public holidays),top up on vitamins in the morning with our all-you-can-eat Continental buffet : fresh fruits, yoghurts, cereals, pastries, cheese, ham, fruit juices and a selection of teas and coffees; in addition to traditional cooked breakfast. Our Eatery Everyday choices… Fantastic Value! Our informal dining area has something for everyone. If you’re looking for somewhere to get good-value food, join us for one of our fantastic food offers. Fancy a bite? The Daily Menu offers you everyday choices for great value! Check out our daily menu for the offers available. If you’re looking for somewhere to chill out, after a hard day’s work, why not relax with a bottle of wine or a beer? If it’s sports you’re into, then, join us in selected destinations. By day, you can relax with a pint and enjoy the days sporting events; by night and come the weekend, you can feel the passion, with rugby and football fixtures. All our dishes are available from 12.00pm till 9.45pm unless otherwise stated. For your business trips or family holidays, your hotel in Milton Keynes offers you all the services to facilitate your stay: •Facilities for guests with reduced mobility •Paying WIFI in all rooms •Parking •Complimentary tray with kettle, tea, coffee •Hairdryer and iron available at the reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing