We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should be included in Bletchley entry”

The National Museum of Computing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The National Museum of Computing, located on Bletchley Park, is an independent charity housing the world's largest collection of functional historic computers, including the rebuilt Colossus, the world's first electronic computer, and the WITCH, the world's oldest working digital computer. The Museum enables visitors to follow the development of computing from the ultra-secret pioneering efforts of the 1940s through the large systems and mainframes of the 1950s, 60s and 70s, and the rise of personal computing in the 1980s and beyond.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Should be included in Bletchley entry”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A fascinating journey to the origins of the computing industry. If you grew up in the 70s, 80s or 90s there will be items to tweak your interest. Especially fascinating was the important role women played in the early years of IT - where have all the women gone?
Don't leave Bletchley Park without heading around the corner to this museum - what a pity it is not bundled into the price!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    100
    20
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Computer Lover's Heaven!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is an amazing place to visit if you're a computer nut!

There is a working replica of the Colossus used at Bletchley Park during WWII which just blew my mind.

The exhibits range from the early punch card systems through mainframes up to modern PCs. There are hands-on sections where you can experiment with various bits of tech.

The entry fee is only £5 which is a complete bargain. There is a gift shop and small cafe there too.

A great day out for all the family.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Visited by accident, but pleased we found it.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were ushered to the Computing Museum's Car Park, when we had intended to visit the Bletchley Park Museum. We spent so much time with the Computing Museum that we will have to visit the Bletchley Park Museum on another day. Excellent place for young and old alike. Knowledgeable guides that brought the machines that cracked the Lorenz code machines to life. In awe at the people who conceived and built them during war time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CrisapGwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Closed because of no staff”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Was due to be the highlight of my visit to Bletchley Park. However it was closed due to lack of staff.
It was on my return home that I found there is/was some friction between the Bletchley Park Trust and the museum. So not sure if this had an effect on the museum being open.

Will visit again and reiview

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishthemodeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“What happened to British computers ?”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We visited the museum after Bletchley Park, and it is a logical follow on, given that the Colossus computer was conceived within Bletchley. A great shame that they are not better linked, being on the same site.
What followed was a revelation about how the computing industry started in Britain, but within a few years had been swallowed by the US.
When seen within one building, the rate of progress & change is really inspiring.
The dedication of the staff in restoration & operation of (relatively) recent history is to be commended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The National Museum of Computing also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Wolverton, Milton Keynes
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The National Museum of Computing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing