We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Brilliant place to have fun and educate children about safety at home and in their community

The Safety Centre provides a wide range of scenarios that demonstrate hazards and risks in the home... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2019
Rose1111
,
England
Good educational experience

Our grandchildren went here to undertake a course in basic safety management . They were impressed... read more

Reviewed 4 October 2019
JAA_MK
,
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Read all 36 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Milton Keynes
from £69.99
More Info
from £10.00
More Info
from £795.00
More Info
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
26
8
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
26
8
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2021

Whilst this educational centre is effective in making children more aware of everyday dangers, be aware that neurodivergent children - particularly those who are Autistic or have anxiety - will not benefit from the experience. There is a very high chance that they will become overwhelmed from the alarms and bright lights or develop severe anxieties that will persist into adult life. In some cases, it may be traumatising, especially if the guide pretends that the scenario is real (although the child will know that it's not, if they make a mistake in a scenario, they may subconsciously believe that unavoidable future dangers are their fault.)

This is speaking from personal experience (due to the fire safety section I attended, as an adult I am constantly terrified of my house burning down with elderly family members trapped inside, and cannot strike a match or leave an oven on unattended. Due to the road and railway sections, I have high anxiety when crossing the road or near stations, and the water section increased a sensory dislike of water into hydrophobia to a debilitating level.) I am aware that the centre has likely updated since I attended (in 2007), but their MO seems similar, if not the same.

Please do not disregard this as 'worth it' to teach children about danger in a hands-on way; it can be traumatising and debilitating to neurodivergent children, not helpful. I gave this two stars because if done correctly and to the intended audience (neurotypical children), the centre is generally good.
(There was no option to select accurate information: I attended in 2007 with my school.)

Date of experience: November 2020
1  Thank B12WKds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
382jodiec, Development Officer at Safety Centre Milton Keynes - Hazard Alley, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2022



I am very sorry that your experience in 2007 was not the more positive. I can assure you that we are very accommodating and inclusive to all abilities, and have measures in place to support certain needs and have specifically modified our tours for SEN schools and groups.

We also ensure that we give a full brief with descriptive information on what our tours entail before teachers book, this includes any lighting, sounds, movement and information on what each scenario entails. We modify the scenarios based on whatever the needs are.

We would never want the centre to be somewhere that would cause any discomfort. As a charity we work hard to support children, young people and adults with interactive safety education, and have very strong relationships and receive great feedback from our visitors and schools regarding their experiences here with us, so we are very saddened to read this review and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2019

The Safety Centre provides a wide range of scenarios that demonstrate hazards and risks in the home and in the community. Children (and indeed adults) learn in a fun but realistic way what to avoid and how to cope if in they face an unsafe situation. All this is delivered by amazing and exceptionally well trained volunteers.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Rose1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
382jodiec, Development Officer at Safety Centre Milton Keynes - Hazard Alley, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2022

Thanks so much for the review! We are so glad to hear, and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2019

Our grandchildren went here to undertake a course in basic safety management . They were impressed in that they were not bored and gained something from it.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank JAA_MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2019 via mobile

This is so worth a visit for families. Interesting to learn and not boring at all. There is parking spaces outside. Interactive displays inside.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank U9456YPannec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2019 via mobile

What a visit .. perfect to make children aware of dangers and gentle reminder to adults too !! Thanks for having us

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank tinapH646WG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews