We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food & very polite staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Italia

Aqua Italia
Ranked #12 of 528 Restaurants in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food & very polite staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

First visit to this restaurant and was pleasantly surprised. Special menu at £12.95 for 3 courses. Quite a good choice & nicely presented. Only criticism would be plates were a little smaller than some other similar places but still worth the price.
Pleasant surroundings & lovely polite staff. Can definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    223
    79
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I visited Aqua for a business lunch with a client and was very impressed with the food and the service. The service was very good, polite, timely and friendly. The quality of the food was very good and it was a very enjoyable business lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Pagnell, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I booked the restaurant for 17th May for my wife's birthday celebration with some of our family. We last visited the restaurant 11 months ago but were so disappointed with the poor and slow service we decided to wait awhile before returning. This is a difficult review to write as this was a very mixed visit.

When we arrived we were told the table was not ready and we decided to have a drink while we waited. After a few moments we were told our other 5 guests had already arrived a were seated. We were shown to a table with 5 complete strangers seated. Not our party at all. We waited for about 5 or so minutes, our guests arrived, and we were shown to a table on the mezzanine floor that proved fully satisfactory in all respects.

The menu is good and offered a large variety. It was after this that we found the service slowed right down. There is no doubt the food was good, bordering on excellent, but service was slow and we had a lengthy wait for our starter. Things did not improve and we had to wait nearly an hour after ordering our main course for it to arrive. The food was hot and tasty. However, some of the courses only came with one vegetable and other
vegetables had to ordered as an extra, not something we have experienced elsewhere.

Three of the party ordered a desert and this too was a long time coming. In total we spent 3 hours in the restaurant, which was far too long.

In summary the food was good but we felt was a tad expensive. Service was slow and the wait for courses to arrive was far too long.

Coffee was excellent but drinks were expensive.

The restaurant was very noisy and we found if hard to converse. At times we had to shout to each other.

The final negative item was when the bill arrived and I was charged for 3 bottles of wine (at about £18 per bottle) when only two bottles and one glass had been ordered. After another wait the bill was eventually reduced by about £14.

The staff, however, were exceptional. Extremely friendly as well polite and cheerful. Indeed if it had not been for them this review might have been worse. They are obviously overworked.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeckyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, stylish environment and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a great place for a spot of lunch. Had the steak today, cooked to perfection, the restaurant is well presented, with an open kitchen, so you can literally taste the food before your seated. The staff are friendly and engaging, a credit to the establishment, keep up the good work.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bennie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had an excellent meal last night, my husband and I only had room for a main course, which was a shame after looking at the menu.
Great service and very pleasant staff, especially enjoyed talking to the Manager over Coffee who told me how to try and make Pollo farcito which was absolutely delicious.

Looking forward to eating there again, enjoyed the whole experience
A very nice restaurant

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vintagevogue50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aqua Italia also viewed

Great Horwood, Milton Keynes
 
Woburn Sands, Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Wolverton, Milton Keynes
 

Been to Aqua Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing