We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even go here!”
Review of OldBrook Lodge

OldBrook Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milton Keynes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
OldBrook Lodge
Ranked #28 of 34 Milton Keynes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I have read the reviews below and agree with previous comments. Awful experience. We didnt even stay in the end,even after we'd handed our cash over,reluctantly,knowing that it was put up with it for 1 night or face a long drive home after going to a gig at MK Bowl. Woman was beyond bizarre. Obsessive,unwelcoming,rude...I could go on. Not what I would class as a Guest House or B&B. It's a house on an estate in a not very nice looking area. Very suspicious if this is a legitimate business. Rubbish accommodation is offered together with an owner/landlady(?) who does her best to provoke/upset/offend/concern you so much that you'd rather leave out of pocket than risk a night there! Need I say more?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

This women is insane!avoid avoid avoid!given 20 minute lecture regarding the 'rules' which included not wearing ur shoes past the frount door,only carrying 1 bag up the stairs at a time,only using the bathroom at an 'allocated' time!no breakfast offered,beds uncomfortable with plastic on,no room to swing a cat in the room,refused extra blanket and pillow on request,no
parking,no light at the frount door,no leaflets regarding local eateries attractions etc!very rude unhelpful and unprofessional women!this place should most definetely shut down!dive!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Eithne52002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This has to be one of the worst places I have ever stayed! It is basically like going to stay at a uni students house. The landlady even asked me not to walk across the floor because it was to creaky and might disturb other users of the house even though she asked me to open my door! I have cancelled all other booked nights at the awful place. How it is still in business i don't know!!

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PTTVAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at Oldbrook Lodge a couple of weekends ago and did not enjoy the experience. Firstly we were not told before booking that we would be sharing a bathroom with 3 other people and I found this out by chance when I rang up because I saw on the website that not all rooms were ensuite. By then it was too late to get somewhere else to stay that was reasonably priced because this was the gran prix weekend. I asked for a discount because of their mistake but did not get this or an apology.

The word 'lodge' is misleading it is actually a new build house in an estate in milton keynes and not really what we expected. The pictures on the website are definitely misleading. On arrival we were met by the lady who runs this and other 'lodges' in the area. You walked into the place and were kept standing in a porch whilst you were told a whole list of things not to do whilst staying there. This included how to carry your bags up the stairs so you did not scratch the walls and how to close the door so that the door frame did not come off (the walls were so thin and this had happened in the past). It was like she was expecting us to destroy the place. In fact she did try and throw someone out on Sunday morning for slamming the door too hard (it was painfully awkward, we could not wait to get out of there).

The room was tiny as they had divided the upstairs into 3 bedrooms when really you could only fit 2 in. And you could hear everything in the room next door. The room was so uninviting with a plastic sheet over the desk and bit of old wood in the corner. It felt like walking into student accommodation rather than a B&B. You did not want to spend anymore time in there than you had to. There are no communal areas also to break this up.

On arrival we decided we would take our chances with finding another hotel but were told we would have to pay the full cost of the accommodation. I tried to explain we were not happy and this was not what we expected but this made little difference. Also we were told 'what do we expect at this price'. We accepted staying as it was only 2 nights and we needed to be near silverstone. We were asked not to destroy the room on purpose now we were unhappy about staying (!)

The shared bathroom was ok, except there were always wet towels on the floor that were never changed. There was hot water though and it was cleaned daily. No towels supplied or any frills actually. We did not try the breakfast as we did not want to give them anymore money. There is also not someone there all day if you need anything (however you can text the lady running the place for help).

Overall I would not recommend anyone to stay here. The lady who runs the place is nice enough but she just had a weird approach to service and its really just a house masquerading as a B&B. Rooms are tiny, the place makes you feel claustophobic, and its just not worth it for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ACG0180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pablo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
4.6 mi away
The White House
The White House
#1 of 1 in Little Brickhill
282 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Milton Keynes
Ramada Milton Keynes
#2 of 5 in Newport Pagnell
388 reviews
6.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#1 of 2 in Sherington
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
1.7 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#7 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OldBrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OldBrook Lodge

Address: 2 Titchmarsh Court, Milton Keynes MK6 2SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Milton Keynes
Also Known As:
OldBrook Lodge Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing