We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”
Review of The Cock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cock Hotel
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

It was dubbed the "Old blokes Stag" we were the fathers of the wedding couple who were considered too old to party with the youngsters! We negiotiated a great rate for a Saturday night of £51.00 each for 3 twin rooms and this came with a hearty breakfast, we were welcomed upon arrival by Katie Bluck the Assistant Manager, and nothing was too much trouble for her. The rooms are always clean abeit some upgrading is required, however it is an old coaching inn and it feels like it! The rooms are all rather small, but hey we only slept in there and they made it a great stag weekend, although my head was somewhat heavy the next day

Room Tip: Rooms on the High Street have the church bells chiming from 4:00pm fors times and 4:30 one chime, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millsy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Cock Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    126
    84
    82
    76
See reviews for
113
151
20
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

while the room was small just room to move around the bed, it was a nice room, bathroom had a double shower. It did take a while to check in and book out the desk wasnt covered at all times. But all that said it was a pleasent stay very quiet and the meal in the hotel was good to.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armchair4849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Cock Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I love old English hotels... they are quirky and different. Often they are old trust house forte hotels and therefore can offer good quality accommodation. Checking into the Cock hotel was not good. it was obviously a busy pie night and the receptionist was serving meals rather than checking in (not her fault). The room was small with no bedside table a very small bathroom and no ability to switch the room light off from the bed. Shower not bad but was cold in early morning, tip here is to run it for a while and wait for it to get warm. Breakfast was as per all old English hotels fantastic and well served. I went to leave my key as I checked out, nobody on reception to receive it except for somebody in the back room texting on their phone. Overall not too bad but wouldn't rush back.

One good thing was the location. lots of pubs and places to eat on the high street.

Room Tip: ask for a larger room than you are given
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillman-avenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Cock Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for highlighting our failings on this occasion. We are sad to see that your stay did not reach our usual standards of customer care. As always we appreciate all feedback both positive & negative so that we are able to deliver great service by learning from the mistakes that we make.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I have never stayed at this hotel, but I have eaten there over 20 times, so it's not too bad. They do cheap pub grub and normally have good deals. They sometimes do kids eat free deals in holidays. To be fair we go there regularly because unless you want Indian its the best value for money in the town and the food is ok. It has improved a bit in the last couple of years, before that it was worse. Unfortuantly they are a typical chain, they try not to spend money to invest in decor so it sometimes looks tired. It seems they have a high staff turn over. I think it would have had a better chance as an independent. Does have a lot of history and is on the Roman Road A5 in Stony Stratford, the town is brilliant, lovely, full of community, culture and buzzing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagstothefuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The Cock is a fabulous oldie worldy hotel, and yes it's not perfect, and yes it needs new carpets and wallpaper, but thats what makes it special, the staff especially Katie are very professional and pleasant, but i suppose if you take the trouble with people so do they. The rooms i have stayed in are okay, always clean, beds alway comfortable not 5* but i love the old place and stay there twice a month on business

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms in the old stable, but in fairness they are all clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millsy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Cock Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We spent the weekend at this hotel. We found the staff friendly and helpful and food was good. The room was adequate with a clean and comfortable bed, but the carpet could do with a clean. Parts of the hotel are beginning to look a little shabby not surprising in view of its age. Thanks to Mark and his team for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the High Street would appear to be quieter than those at the rear. Lots of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Cock Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights to celebrate a family birthday. We booked 3 rooms (2 doubles and a twin) at the bargain price of £9.95 pppn including breakfast. On arrival we were given 2 twins and a double but, when we pointed out the error, they tried to help by offering us a different double instead of a twin but this was only accessible by an external metal staircase and, as snow was forecast overnight, we decided to stick with the original rooms rather than risk breaking our necks the following morning! As the rooms were all under the same booking it seemed a little strange that they were as far apart as possible - 2 being in the main buillding and the other one in the Coach House across a courtyard at the rear but, to be fair, we didn't specifically ask for 3 rooms next to each other.
The rooms were ok, perhaps a little tired as previous postings have said, but the breakfasts were fine and we ate in the restaurant on both nights and the meals were ok.
We are big fans of Old English Inns, having stayed at 4 or 5 different ones with another booked for later this month. Generally I think they are excellent value with friendly staff and a lot more character than more modern hotel chains. Of the ones we have visited, I would have to say that we liked this one the least, but it is nevertheless excellent value and we would stay again if we were in the area.
Just one complaint - please make sure the outside tables and ashtrays are cleared at least daily. They were not cleared at all during our stay and by the state of them when we arrived on Saturday, had probably not been cleared for a few days prior to that.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindiloo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Cock Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for pointing out our failings on this occasion. We are saddened that your stay did not reach our usual standards of customer care. As always we appreciate all feed back both positive & negative so that we are able to deliver great service by learning from the odd mistakes that we make.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
2.1 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 34 in Milton Keynes
832 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Milton Keynes Old Stratford
Travelodge Milton Keynes Old Str...
#15 of 34 in Milton Keynes
91 reviews
5.9 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Chicheley Hall
Chicheley Hall
#1 of 1 in Chicheley
361 reviews
3.6 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#9 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,140 reviews
6.0 mi away
Swan Revived Hotel
Swan Revived Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newport Pagnell
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cock Hotel

Property: The Cock Hotel
Address: 72-74 High Street | Stony Stratford, Milton Keynes MK11 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cock Hotel Milton Keynes
The Cock Hotel Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing