We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cock Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Milton Keynes(Milton Keynes)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Milton Keynes(Milton Keynes)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes(Milton Keynes)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel(Milton Keynes)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central(Milton Keynes)(Great Value!)
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Chicheley Hall(Chicheley)
US$88
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peartree Lodge Waterside(Milton Keynes)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveller rating
148
133
95
87
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
133
95
87
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstony stratfordhigh streetsunday roastboxing dayevening buffetwedding venuewedding breakfastearly hoursfull english breakfastbletchley parkbullmk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 549 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

we always go to the cock hotel for our christmas dinner but this is our first stay and what a lovely stay it was, plenty of off street parking. reception was freindly and efficient as were all the staff they could not do enough for us, our room was clean and very comfortable, we had an evening meal, the food is of great quality and value. we read some reviews of which were negative regards the staff and breakfast, but be reassured this was not the case with our stay,the breakfast was fantastic with a good choice,the staff always paying full attention to all customers, we would definatly stay here again and recomend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThatcoupleFromDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Cock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for such a glowing reference towards the quality of our food and service. The whole team our delighted that you had such a great stay and we appreciate the reccommendations made to your friends. Once again thank you for the positive feedback and we hope to see you again soon here at the Cock Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The sun was shining. We thought we would go for a family Sunday lunch somewhere different. We thought we'd go somewhere local that we hadn't visited before. I suggested 'The Cock' in Stony Stratford - I wish I hadn't!
I should have known when I had to ring three times before the phone was answered, that things would be a disaster. I booked a table for 6 at 2pm.
When we arrived our allocated table was in a squashed and very noisy part of the pub, so I asked if we could sit outside. We were told that wasn't a problem, but we would have to order our food at the bar as there was no waiter ordering outside. Fine, so we ordered at the bar. I was told there would be about a 30 minute wait for food. Again not a problem - or so I thought at the time!
After about 40 minutes a waiter came out with our starters but we were told they weren't our starters - even though they were, but they had got the order number wrong. Ten minutes later, after nothing else had arrived, I asked the waiter if our food was coming. He said it hadn't come because no one had cleared our table, so he cleared it and we waited for our mains. After another 10 minutes two meals were bought so we politely waited, until other family members told us to eat up or our food would be cold. Eventually their meals arrived too. We had now been there an hour and a half.
We then waited for our, prepaid desserts. No one came!! I decided to take my plate and table number in to the bar to see if we could have our desserts. I was told they would be served straight away. No one came!! I went back in twice more to remind them. Finally at 4pm the waiter brought THE WRONG desserts. By this time we were all totally fed up so we just up and left - without having our already paid for desserts.
What was supposed to be a relaxing family lunch ended up as a totally miserable experience! I really can't believe that in this day and age service could be soooo shocking! They obviously just didn't care about their customers - as long as they got their money, why bother with us!
Suffice to say we will never be eating there again - life is too short!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Selenepbbrixham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Cock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

We are saddened to hear that you had such a negative experience and appreciate your response. It was unfortunate that with the beginning of the good weather our newer front-of-house members are still fresh to the process of dealing with outside food orders and have struggled to deal accordingly with customers moving from one location to another. Rest assured, however, that the front-of-house team have been briefed and reminded of the protocol regarding these matters of service and we hope you can come back to the Cock Hotel to see how great our service normally is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have just visited the Hotel, We had an Experience Day booked at the Silverstone Race Track. They stay here was Superb, Excellent Value for Money and very nice Food. Extremely lovely staff, they couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. I would recommend this Hotel it has a really nice feeling about it and it has a nice mix of Historic and Modern features. Perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Cock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for such glowing feedback regarding your stay here at the Cock Hotel. We appreciate your response and are delighted that you feel the hotel is worthy of reccommendation. Rest assured that such positive feedback is relayed to our team members and we hope to see you again soon at the Cock Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The hotel is in a perfect position on the High St and there is ample parking around the back, but you have to drive around to it as there’s no direct access to the car park from the front of the hotel.

Our room overlooked the rear courtyard and although it was fairly quiet during our stay, I imagine it would become very noisy during warmer summer weather.

Room was adequate and everything worked as it should, but there was thick dust build up in the corners and even in the bathroom. Definitely needs some supervision to sort out the cleanliness!

Food was pretty good if not exactly cheap, but the place is very popular throughout the whole of the day and there’s a great atmosphere at night.

The staff were friendly and efficient; all in all, a good place to stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trev2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Well Car-rum-ba.!!!!... this place rocks!!!! food fantastic, service great, surrounding well comfy

Brilliant choice of home cooked food which was very yummy indeed. Families welcome too also brilliant for evenings out with mates

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sistermoon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Cock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

We are delighted that you always have a great experience here at the Cock Hotel and appreciate the positive feedback regarding our service and food. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews