We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Wedding Celebration”
Review of The Cock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cock Hotel
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Golden Wedding Celebration”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Held our 50th Wedding Anniversary celebration lunch in the banquet room. Excellent food with very generous portions. Great service in location adjoining courtyard. Events co-ordinator Sara very helpful throughout, suggesting menus and layout of room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenya359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Cock Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed celebrating here with us at the Hotel. Thank you for your comments that have been passed on to the team, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    126
    85
    82
    76
See reviews for
114
151
20
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The bar man wAs so rude! The food took 40 mins to arrive my fish was dripping in fat and my daughters ham wasn't cooked and slimy. We were offered a free desert! ? Only 1 thought! Get your act together! You ruined a lovely sunny day withy daughter! Not happy!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildchild777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Cock Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We apologise for your recent experience at our Hotel. We have taken action to ensure staffing levels are adequate for our busier periods, both in the restaurant and kitchen areas. Our team are all aware that politeness matters at all times and are sorry that the barman who served you appeared rude. Our fish is indeed deep fried and should be allowed to drain before serving, this has been brought to the attention of our chefs. The ham is bought in ready cooked but the suppliers have been notified. We value your comments which can only help us deliver the service and standards usual at our Hotel and hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milton Keynes hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Satisfactory accommodation, clean and comfortable. Bar and courtyard very busy in the evening. Breakfast nice enough but slow service. Wifi connectivity very poor and room was very stuffy with almost no ventilation. Overall friendly atmosphere and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Cock Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Hotel. With the recent weather being so pleasant, we have been very busy in the evenings so have focused on more staff being available at our busiest times. We have also provided fans for each room facing the sun which has helped to cool the rooms. We apologise for the slow service you experienced at breakfast. Again, this has been addressed with more staff made available. We pride ourselves in our friendly atmosphere and helpful team and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

No! No! No! Where do I begin? I do understand the historic ambiance of staying here. But, must it include an nasty staff? This was our first time here. We unpacked, and went to their dinning area. No one would even acknowledged us. They completely ignored us. It is not that they didn't see us, the heavy framed bar man, actually physically moved me aside to walk by me. All it would have taken was "Hello", or some kind of greeting not to lose a customer. One can say that is how it is done in England, but customer service must stand, no matter where you stay in the world if you wish to retain customers.

Moreover, there was mold in the bathroom, a blown light bulb, no directions on how to get the "Free Wifi", the remote is missing for the TV, dirty hallways (nothing a coat of paint couldn't fix). Top that all off, with mediocre cold room temp food, a nasty staff, and no one to answer the phone at the front desk, there are many reasons not to frequent this hotel again. As you can see from some of the other reviews, I am not the only one that has experienced the inconsideration from the staff. Evidently, since the matter is still occurring, they just don't care.

Sadly, a friend referred this place, as it is close to sites we are to visit. What a shame, the place has so much potential to be a quaint go to location.

Room Tip: Try to get a quiet room away from the front of the building, and courtyard. Take inventory of your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Cock Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We can only apologise if you feel our Hotel did not meet your expectations, especially as you had been referred to us. There can be no excuse for bad customer service or the overall presentation of our Hotel and I can assure you that our team have all been made aware of your comments. We hope you visit us again to enjoy a stay of the highest standard as is usual for our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We recently had our wedding reception at the Cock hotel, where we and all our guests also stayed overnight. The whole experience has been amazing ! The venue was just what we were looking for, full of character, perfect size, lovely reception room and hotel rooms, great courtyard for the kids and for the guests to enjoy the sunshine. The food was excellent, great choice for breakfast. Above all, the staff have been amazing. Everyone was very nice and helpful. The wedding co-ordinators have been brilliant, from the organisation to the execution of the day, nothing was too much trouble. The resident DJ also did a great job at getting everybody on the dance floor. In all aspects, it exceeded our expectations and we had lots of great comments from all our guests. We would highly recommend it. Thank you so much to all the team at the Cock hotel for this fantastic day !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Cock Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are very pleased you all enjoyed your wedding day here at the Hotel. We’d like to thank you for your encouraging and very positive review and your comments have been passed on to all the team. We sincerely wish you happiness in your future together and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomar, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Cock Hotel offers a good experience in most cases. The hotel is an OK establishment. Most of the rooms are acceptable. Do not accept room 4 a single room that is to say the least small.
The food is good and the staff make the experience even better.

Room Tip: Certainly not room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greylock54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Cock Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We value all feedback for our Hotel and thank you for your comments that have been passed on to our team. The quality of our food and friendly staff all add to the atmosphere here. We have 30 bedrooms and room 4 is the smallest but still very cosy. We are happy that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We recently had our wedding at the Cock Hotel Stony Stratford and were thoroughly impressed by the service received. The day was fantastic and the team were incredibly helpful; ensuring everything ran smoothly and that our plans and visions for the day were delivered. Nothing was too much trouble, the room changes were completed quickly and we were all very well catered for throughout the day. A number of our guests commented on the fantastic venue and great food. We would definitely recommend the hotel. Thank you so much to the whole team for making our day so wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete_and_Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Cock Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to compliment our Hotel and our team. We are so pleased we were able to help make your day so special and that you all had a wonderful time. Congratulations to you both and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
2.1 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 34 in Milton Keynes
832 reviews
5.9 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Milton Keynes Old Stratford
Travelodge Milton Keynes Old Str...
#15 of 34 in Milton Keynes
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#9 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,140 reviews
6.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
8.1 mi away
Chicheley Hall
Chicheley Hall
#1 of 1 in Chicheley
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cock Hotel

Property: The Cock Hotel
Address: 72-74 High Street | Stony Stratford, Milton Keynes MK11 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Cock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cock Hotel Milton Keynes
The Cock Hotel Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing