We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like history it's a must!”
Review of Bletchley Park

Bletchley Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Bletchley Park, Home of the WW2 Codebreakers, was once Britain's best kept secret and is now a vibrant heritage attraction open daily to visitors to learn how the Codebreakers' breath-taking achievements helped shorten WW2 by up to two years.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Ironbridge, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you like history it's a must!”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

It might not be for everyone but if you have any interest in 2nd World war you will not be disappointed. Admission price includes a 1.5 hour tour (every hour at w/ends) which gives a fascinating insight into what went on there and leave time to visit the cinema too. You will need at least half a day - there's a restaurant and a cafe

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank huencry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,482
    1,165
    245
    80
    46
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fascinating insight into wartime code-breaking”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

It was particularly amazing to be shown round by a lady who had worked there during the war and had amazing knowledge of how it was then. Definitely worth a visit - I am not a computer geek in any way and I was fascinated!

Helpful?
Thank DaphneFranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
194 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Very interesting whether a WWII "Buff" or not”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

1st off - once you've paid the entrance fee, you can go back as many times as you want within 12 months,
2nd off (in response to the "review" of the place being "tatty")... it was built before WWII - what do you expect? Contemporary?!!.
Bletchley Park is an important part of British History and the guides are wonderfully passionate about the park, the work done there and the progress of keeping it open and funding the repairs to the parts that have not yet been refurbished. Therefore, take the guided tour - it's free and if you find that you've had enough, you can leave it and go exploring on your own.
It is a shame that the Colossus and Computing Museum are additional costs, but this place has to be funded somehow.
Very young children might find it dull, but for anyone else, it's a good day out.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TerryMWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good couple of hours”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My daughter and spent a couple of hours there in February and our guide was a very informed and passionate man about this very important place. If the weather is cold, would suggest warm coats as you are walking around the grounds. We could picture the scene in the 1940s as the spirits live on.!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Interesting day trip from London”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is easily accessible from London Euston station and works great for the cheap day return (off-peak hour) tickets starting at 9:30. It takes about 1 hour to get to the Bletchley Station, then leave the station and go left about 2-3 minute walk down the road to the entrance. We took the tour and had an excellent guide. After the tour of about 1 1/2 hours we viewed some of the other exhibits - also a nice cafe with hot meals and tea/coffee (not fancy but good-especially on the rainy day we had). It's probably better to eat after the main lunch group.We had not known much about the decoding beforehand but learned alot. The chap at the post office was very nice and found interesting stamps for my postcards to my students. It was one of the most interesting tours we have taken. Take the tour by the main house first to get oriented. Do the entrance/museum building last.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Pambela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bletchley Park also viewed

Wolverton, Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Bletchley Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing