We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bletchley Park

Bletchley Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Bletchley Park, Home of the WW2 Codebreakers, was once Britain's best kept secret and is now a vibrant heritage attraction open daily to visitors to learn how the Codebreakers' breath-taking achievements helped shorten WW2 by up to two years.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We visited today having had Bletchley on our 'to do' list for some years. Much work has obviously taken place over the past couple of years and all the open buildings are now well displayed with something of interest for the techi visitor and those who enjoy social history. Car parking is easy and there are picnic benches on the grass in the park itself if you prefer to bring a picnic. Do take advantage of the free 1 hour guided tour (bookable from the Mansion House). Also try to watch the free demonstration of the Bombe. We had 5 hours there and did not see 4 of the huts or the Computer Museum so will take advantage of the re-usable ticket sometime in the next 12 months. Although quite expensive we felt is was good value.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,216
    1,098
    235
    77
    43
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“You need two or three days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

The staff are very helpful and knowlegeable. Although we used the audio equipment on arrival we found the battery didn't last long enough. We took the tour and found it fascinating. There is a lot to take in, but our guide answered any questions and explained it very clearly. (thank you Stuart)
It is a real eye opener and there is so much to see that it took us two and half days. The entry ticket is valid for a year! The cafe was very busy but the prices were fair. A lot of people took picnics as there are table set out in the grounds, weather permitting. We were surprised that the Computer museum was in another part of the grounds that added another £5 to your entrance fee - but it is still worthwhile. Not a place for small children but the older ones are able to do some hands on. A definite must for all and everywhere is disabled friendly.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good improvements in last year...but fued with Museum of Computing spoils things!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Visieted 12 months ago and really enjoyed the experience, so I went again. There have been some very good improvements and much restoration of building, which is good. Shame the Churchill collection has been booted out and its a travesty that Colossus, etc is now excluded from the experience as a rsult of the fued between the two museums. Its about time they stopped behaving like children...and sorted the issues out and brought Colossus back into the whole experience!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“So much going on..............”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

What a great day out this is, I would imagine for any age above 10 years old. The story of how Bletchley Parkway is used during the war is fascinating, and the way things have been recreated throughout the park is excellent, particularly the sound effects and projections on the walls as you tour around. The house itself is nothing special other than of architectural interest. The food in the restaurant is reasonably priced and tasty. We took the four hour tour which was a little exhausting and by the time it ended I had forgotten where we had started! I wouldn't have lasted 5 min under interrogation! Well worth the entrance fee, particularly as you can use your tickets to return again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Wow what an brilliant place. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We spent all day here but could have spent longer. So interesting to learn all about the people and their very important and clever decoding work here. Was lovely to see all the renovated huts, and war memorabilia. It really brought the second world was to life. It's a shame that more of our Wartime Heritage can not be saved for future generations as this before it is lost forever. The other independent exhibitions in other huts are well worth a visit also.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bletchley Park also viewed

Wolverton, Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Bletchley Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing