We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Milton Keynes East (Willen Lake) Hotel
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Good value for a 2 night stay. Excellent clean rooms, maybe on the small side though. Excellent value and good food in the restaurant. This particular hotel is by a Lake, obviously, and is a very popular place for members of the public so can be very busy at times. I didn't find this a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkW79, Team Leader at Premier Inn Milton Keynes East (Willen Lake) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Kevin G,

Thank you for the review on TripAdvisor in regards to your recent stay in our Hotel at Willen Lake.

Thank you also for your comments about the cleanliness of the rooms and i have said a big thanks to the housekeeping staff.

Unfortunately due to our location and that we offer guests a balcony with every room, bar the ground floor, i can understand that ours are perhaps not as big as others within the Premier Inn brand, however we feel that having a balcony in all rooms perhaps compensates a little for the slightly small sized rooms.

again thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

Dale Bridge
Team Leader.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here for the second time last weekend. Received a call the day our arrival to remind us there was a car parking charge and funfair on.

Rooms are a little tired looking, but some family rooms have a balcony overlooking the lake, making this a cut above the usual Premier Inn. Staff at check in, and whilst in and out of the hotel, were very courteous, knowledgeable about the local area and very helpful in finding somewhere suitable to eat out. All in all pretty much what you would expect from a Premier Inn but the staff deserve a special mention.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank gingerrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkW79, Team Leader at Premier Inn Milton Keynes East (Willen Lake) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear GingerRosie,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at our hotel on TripAdvisor.

Thank you also for your kind words about the team here at Willen, we always strive to make sure that our guests feel as if they're in a home away from home and i have passed on your comments onto the team here.
If however you're able to remember the names of any staff that gave you the excellent service, please contact me so i am able to pass on my gratitude to them personally for looking after you so well.

All of the team here at Willen Lake Premier Inn look forward to you and your family visiting us again soon.


Best wishes and regards

Dale Bridge
Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I know that Premier Inns are not everyone's cup of tea but we like them and think they represent good value for money. This is obviously an older and more basic version but none the worse for that. It occupies a great location at the side of Willen Lake South which offers various water sports and a children's play area, and is a popular recreational area with locals, making it quite busy and noisy during the summer months. The attached Fayre and Square restaurant is heavily geared towards families and can get quite boisterous. We avoided it and went to the nearby Harvester, ( follow the Fox Milne signs and turn into The Holiday Inn site).

This Premier Inn is one for families and any couples/singles are recommended to avoid the school holiday periods. One fairly serious criticism: we were not informed that the hotel car park was pay-and-display until after we had made our booking. It currently costs £4.00 per 24 hours, so factor this into your budget.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe are best - those in the main building could be directly above the busy restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avondalepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkW79, Team Leader at Premier Inn Milton Keynes East (Willen Lake) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Avondalepaul,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay on TripAdvisor.
The team here at Willen Lake are proud of the views on offer within our rooms and the variety of recreational options available due to the location of our hotel.

I must apologise for you not being aware of the car-parking fee before your arrival.
Our team here at Willen Lake do give a courtesy call to guests 24 hours before they are due to arrive, this is to make them aware that the car parking facilities are not operated by Premier Inn and that there is unfortunately a charge to use them at this site, plus anything that maybe happening locally event wise during their stay.

Perhaps there was no answer when we tried to contact you, however whatever the reason it does bring to our attention that sometimes not all calls are received and we will be looking at this policy in the near future.

I hope that apart from the issue with car parking, your stay here at the Premier Inn Willen Lake was an enjoyable one, and that you come back to visit us soon.

Regards and best wishes

Dale Bridge
Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I use Premier Inns on a fairly regular basis. The standards are usually high and in this respect Willen Lake was no exception. The hotel staff were pleasent and the location is nice with a lovely lakeside walk.

Unfortunately the attached Fair & Square restaurant really lets things down. Both evening meals were cold and badly presented. There seemed to be no effort to clean tables. Wine was served in a dirty glass. At breakfast there were no bowls, when more were requested they came out dirty, the toaster didn't work properly. The situation was made worse by a group of staff who clearly weren't interested in helping customers. They seemed more interested in engaging in their personal, somewhat inappropriate, conversations.

When we checked out the Premier Inn manger happened to be in reception. He appologised and this seemed to be very genuine. He assured us that higher management were aware of the situation and action was being taken to ensure improvements are made.

I would use this hotel again, despite the issues. My feeling is that there is a will to improve.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWP479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkW79, Team Leader at Premier Inn Milton Keynes East (Willen Lake) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear SWP479,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at Willen Lake Premier Inn and we greatly appreciate the feedback.

I'm sorry to hear you experience at our co-located Spirit restaurant “The Lakeside” wasn’t very enjoyable and you have my personal assurance that this matter has and always will be taken very seriously.
As such we have passed your comments onto the restaurants manager in regards to staff and problems with the service and food, as your comments enable us to work closely with The Lakeside restaurant, so combined we can aim to deliver a higher standard of both breakfast and dinner.

It is my hope that you will one day in the future come back and visit us here at Willen Lake and give us the opportunity to ensure you enjoy your stay and leave happy.

Kind Regards

Dale Bridge
Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for three nights as we were visiting family and booked a family room as there was myself, my wife and our two year old daughter. The room was facing the lake with a balcony allowing us to enjoy the evening, the views and the nice weather rather than stuck in the room, this being a reason we booked this hotel. On arrival till the minute that we left all of the staff were friendly and did there best for us including making my daughter feel like she was the most important person ever. On the Friday, we visited the fayre and square and we had a nice meal, did not wait to long so despite reading previous posts I wondered what the fuss was about, this day we ate at 1630, the following day after a trip to the zoo and arriving back at 1800 we went again and the food was awful the scampi was overcooked, the curry had 4 pieces of meat, looked like crap and without being to crude, was what I would expect to suffer the following day after a bad meal. We got our daughter a childrens pizza and she would not touch it so I tried it and it was disgusting, it was like it had been heated, gone cold and microwaved. We left it all and could not speak to a member of staff as they were busy with other complaints and my daughter was ready for sleep.

The following day, I spoke with the manager but did not have any intention of mentioning it until he asked if were eating there on the night and I explained the above. He was apologetic but in my opinion should not reflect on the hotel as this was the best and most friendly staff I have encountered, nothing was to much trouble. The manager also advised us of other places to eat as we did not know the area and had family coming to meet for tea. I was made aware that the manager was meeting with the manager of the fayre and square and believe if he is able to influence it anyway he will do. I

We will be back again as there is so much to do around the lake for families and is great base to go into Milton Keynes, whipsnade zoo, etc.

I know this review will be read by the staff so would like to thank them once again for a great service and see them in the future and for the money is somewhere I would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkW79, Receptionist at Premier Inn Milton Keynes East (Willen Lake) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Dave Hull,

Thank you for taking your time to write such a pleasant review about your stay here at Willen Lake. Your feedback and praise about the staff here are greatly appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Your comments regarding the restuarant will enable us to work closely with our co-located restaurant and aim to deliver a higher standard of both breakfast and dinner. We aim to communicate with our guests to be able to understand their experience to make future changes or improvements and so your comments are very helpful to us.

As you mentioned our location is convenient for numerous local attractions and we hope to see you and your lovely little family again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lucy Green
Reception Team
Willen Lake Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

As usual with a Premier Inn it was clean, comfy and had everything you could expect and wifi at £3 for the night in your room is a real boon when travelling on your own with kids, earphones on and away you go, I sat and watched Sky go and catch up TV on ipad for a few hours. The lost marks are all down to the disgusting place next door I won't go into detail here but you can expect them to empty bottle bins into skip right outside hotel windows until late evening, and really I cannot implore you enough not to eat in the place. Its a Fayre and Square, and it's a complete hole. I was told by staff at Gullivers to avoid it for an evening meal but unfortunately breakfast was prepaid (now refunded), everything filthy bowls, cups, tables (even at 7.10, that's 10 minutes after it starts with only one customer) one staff member, hot food was mostly cold as apparently heating beans and tinned tomatoes are a culinary technique beyond the kitchen staff. Utterly utterly awful if you stay here breakfast at the Beefeater or Super Sausage not here. Just to reiterate don't eat here, really don't, it's not convenient it's gross, unless you like dead flies in your milk, cups and glasses stuck to tables, cutlery that I assume you self clean and horrible food, oh and don't forget the odour of stale beer mmmmmmm enjoy your breakfast.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 August 2013

Dear Mr RichardA,

Thank you so much for bringing the issues you encountered with your breakfast to my attention.

This feedback plus our recent telephone conversation will now enable me to further work with our co-located Spirit restaurant partner in delivering a better standard of both breakfast and dinner to all our guests that visit Willen Lake.

Through doing so I hope to ensure that as a partnership we deliver the consistent good quality and friendly breakfast service that all Premier Inn guests both enjoy and deserve across our brand.

I am personally both shocked and disappointed with the standard of breakfast and service you received during your stay and intend to work very hard at ensuring that there is no repeat of this in future.

You have my personal assurance that this matter will been taken very seriously and that all appropriate steps will be taken to ensure that there is a clear and rapid improvement in regards to all areas of dining and breakfast here at Willen Lake.

It is my hope that you will one day in the future come back and visit us here at Willen Lake and give us the opportunity to truly wow you and ensure you enjoy your stay and leave happy.

Kind Regards

Mark Wirth

Operations Manager Willen Lake Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great hotel - balcony overviewing the lake (and the swans), comfortable bed, clean room - everything you expect. However, the whole experience is a bit ruined by the restaurant. The 3 course meal can take you 1.5h (sometimes receiving the desert before the main). Restaurant is understaffed and the staff is not making too much effort. If there was a room service available, it would be 5 stars.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms should be overviewing the lake (at least even numbers to 24 in the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkW79, Team Leader at Premier Inn Milton Keynes East (Willen Lake) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Julia S,

Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor, we are grateful to all whom post reviews about our hotel and we are glad to hear that you found our beds most comfortable and also the views and Swans at Willen lake most enjoyable.

As for your bad experience at The Lakeside restaurant, as they are a separate company from Premier Inn I can only apologise on behalf of the management team there and have also passed on your comments about the quality of service and hope the next time you visit us, you'll have a more enjoyable dining experience.

Thank you also for the idea about room service, unfortunately we are unable to offer that type of hotel experience at this time, but we always appreciate any ideas that may make any future stay with us at Premier Inn Willen Lake more pleasurable and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards

Dale Bridge
Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,375 reviews
2.0 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#7 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
1.3 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel
1.5 mi away
Peartree Lodge Waterside
Peartree Lodge Waterside
#9 of 35 in Milton Keynes
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Milton Keynes East (Willen Lake) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Milton Keynes East (Willen Lake) Hotel

Address: Brickhill Street | Willen Lake, Milton Keynes MK15 9HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range: £46 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Milton Keynes East (Willen Lake) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willen Lake is Ideally located within easy reach of the M1, The Lakeside facilities include various water sports, Aerial Extreme and play areas for children. Other local attractions include Gulliver's Land and the Ecopark. For great shopping Milton Keynes shopping centre is only 2 miles away. Our Milton Keynes East Willen Lake Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Milton Keynes East (Willen Lake) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Milton Keynes East (Willen Lake) Hotel Milton Keynes
Premier Inn Milton Keynes East (Willen Lake) Hotel Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing