We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Good comfy beds but bathroom fan so loud it sounded like a siren. Glad they are doing refurbishment works and maybe the fans will be updated and quieter. It was nice to have a room overlooking the lake as view is very relaxing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rizwan A, Manager at Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly, thank you for your time writing a review.

At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable, clean environment and we do apologize that the fan was a bit too noisy.

I do agree with you regarding the update of the hotel, however we have started our hotel extension, which will be followed by the full refurb of all rooms!
It is very exciting time for us as all rooms will be updated very soon.
We hope to see you once our hotel works are finished and hopefully you will have an amazing Premier Inn experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Ilona
Reception team leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Very comfortable stay. Breakfast service very quick and the range of food on offer was good. The restaurant offered a good menu for evening meals within the pub. Good pretty central location. Friendly staff.



  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rizwan A, Manager at Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and five star review.
I am delighted that you had an enjoyable experience and found our hotel to be in a suitable location. I am pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast and found our team to be friendly and helpful. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Ilona
Reception Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Handily positioned for Milton Keynes and Bletchley. Beautifully situated on a lake. We were there for a football match, so very convenient.

Very good associated bar and restaurant, friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast and dinner, good value for money, whole stay was reasonably priced.

The hotel room was a little 'tired', but excellent bed and and great night's sleep. We noted an extension was being added to the hotel, so no doubt when that is complete the current hotel and bar/restaurant will be refurbished.

Car parking plentiful and straightforward. When upgraded this will be a lovely place..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdevenish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rizwan A, Manager at Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We are very pleased that on this occasion we have succeeded and you have enjoyed your stay.
You are correct, once the extension is finished; we are having a full refurbishment.
We will be pleased to welcome you back to brand new rooms and design at Premier Inn Caldecotte.
Thank you for taking time to write a review and we hope to see you soon.

Regards

Ilona
Reception Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This Premier Inn had not been face lifted, yet the room was clean and comfortable. The TV was an old fashioned analogue type, yet was adequate for our one nights stay.
The only minor negative point was that we were woken up by the nearby A5 traffic.
Reception was friendly and the bed was comfortable.
We only paid £29 for the room. We did not have breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not face the A5 dual carriageway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rizwan A, Manager at Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and four star review.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our Premier Inn is very popular for it’s views and nice, quiet location. Our friendly Reception Team are always willing to help with any requests you may have.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon and thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Regards
Ilona

Reception Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We booked this hotel based on reviews and the location seemed ideal. We had no trouble finding it and were pleased with the lakeside setting. The kids loved feeding the ducks and there was a great kids play area.
The reception staff were very helpful and gave us maps etc for parking in Milton Keynes and ready printed directions.
There is currently an extension being built. We stayed at the weekend when there were no workmen around so it caused us no problems and it seemed that the rooms closest to the work were shut off.
The bathroom was slightly tired but I understand that the rooms are also to be renovated after the extension.
We ate in the attached Caldecotte arms in the evening and for breakfast. Food was ok, but in the evening service was very slow. We had to ask for our table to be cleared, it appeared we had been forgotten. Service much better at breakfast time.
Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rizwan A, Manager at Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you very much for your time in writing such a fantastic review for our Hotel.

I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Premier Inn. Our site is very much known for its traditional windmill and the quiet lake view. I completely agree with you that the Hotel is set in such a beautiful location, which certainly takes the cherry on the cake. I am also pleased to know that you enjoyed our service, clean and comfy beds and the Pub next door.

Please be assured that your feedback will be passed on to both the teams in the Hotel and Pub next door.

Once again let me take this opportunity to thank you for your time and recommendation. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The location of this hotel is quite something. It is sited on the edge of a lake and as far as i could make out all rooms look out onto this pleasant landscape. The room was of the Premier Inn house style - what else would you expect if you book into a Premier Inn - comfortable and quite well appointed for a budget hotel. The windmill integrated into the building is an unusual feature (I did ponder how planning permission for this had been achieved back in the '70's when I guess this hotel and pub were built) but it makes for a very unusual and attractive place to stay. The strongest feature of the hotel was the service. The reception staff were excellent and very helpful. As far as the building work, which was underway during some of our 3 night stay, we were not disturbed by any noise or inconvenienced in any way, and the building site was well contained and managed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle_Selavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rizwan A, Manager at Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you very much for your time in writing such a fantastic review for our Hotel.

I am very pleased to know that you had a great experience during your stay with us. At Premier Inn we all go extra mile to deliver exceptional guest service and a great good night sleep. Positive feedback like this always helps to put smile on team’s faces and helps to deliver more.

Please be assured that your feedback will be passed on to both the team in the Hotel and the Pub next door.

Once again let me take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and recommendation.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

When you book there is no mention of the fact that this Premier Inn is being extended - as such there is a full blown building site in operation !

Receptionist was pleasant and provided me with my requested room - Lake facing 1st floor. As with another reviewer when I entered the room there was an overpowering smell of ?????....... not sure whether it was cheap bleach or body odour - what ever it was it was pretty offputting.

The carpets were not just dirty but filthy !

TV set that must have come out of a job lot sale from the dark ages and a fan in the toilet that made so much noise you couldn't stand it.

As usual - Premier Inn standard patio doors you could see daylight through and even on a still (and thankfully mild) night, the wind still howled in - the heater kept "clicking" on and off every few minutes in a valiant attempt to keep the Polar Bears at bay and whilst trying to get the door to close a little better I noticed a large pile of half empty milk bottles and plastic bags (containing goodness know what) lying on the veranda. (They were still there when I checked out three days later - so much for cleaning room s!!!!)

The Faye and Square ( part of the same building) was a disaster.

Come on Premier Inn Manager - cue usual blurb ! -- "we do not have any connection with these establishments" - well its about time you did as they are giving your Hotels a pretty bad name !! .This one had tables that were filthy, the cutlery on them had obviously been handled by numerous clients (finger marks all over) and I made the fatal mistake of leafing through the menu's and pulling out one that was marked "childrens"- I almost gagged at the state of it! - filthy with the remants of sticky hands all over it - ugh!. - I moved tables.

Ordered the simplest thing I could, including a burger - after queing for almost 20 minutes to get served at the bar the food then took another 45 minutes and two enquiries as to where the order was to arrve. When it did the starter was stone cold.

OK - so its not the most expensive of establishments and to be fair, the burger was very tasty when it did arrive - but the service (or complete lack of it) and hygene was a complete turn off.

The Hotel itself is in dire need of refurbishing, a deep clean and modernising.Until it has, the building works completed and the attached Fayre and Square sorted out I would give it a wide berth !! (even with a £29 a night offer - its so far from any facilities it will cost you another £50/day in taxis at least)

Room Tip: Avoid until building work completed, place has been thorughly cleaned and updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W0mbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rizwan A, Manager at Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you very much for your time in writing us your feedback.

I am very sorry to hear about your experience with us and the Pub next door. I completely agree with you and due to which the Hotel is having an extention and a whole refub. All the relevant information is on the website when you make a booking for this Hotel its gives all the details about the extention. I am pleased to know that you were given a room of your request. I can assure you once the extenion and refub is done it would be a whole new world for this Hotel and for our guest.

I would also like to apologise on behalf of thePub next door. I completely understand though its not managed by Premier Inn but we still all work as a team and trust me this will be passed on to the Pub management.

Once again thank you for the feeback and please be assure this will be looked into it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
0.9 mi away
Hilton Milton Keynes
Hilton Milton Keynes
#16 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel
3.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,379 reviews
1.5 mi away
Peartree Lodge Waterside
Peartree Lodge Waterside
#9 of 35 in Milton Keynes
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel

Address: Bletcham Way | Caldecotte, Milton Keynes MK7 8HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Milton Keynes
#2 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
#6 Family Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range: £48 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in scenic views of Caldecotte Lake, only minutes from Milton Keynes and the famous Bletchley Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel Milton Keynes
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing