We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful receptionist and 'dated' rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unhelpful receptionist and 'dated' rooms”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked 2 rooms at the same time, but were told by a rude and unhelpful receptionist that it wasn't possible to have the rooms near to each other! Considering one of the rooms was for my daughter only, we didn't think this an unreasonable request. Obviously it was too much trouble for the reception staff to sort out. It was only when I asked for the manager's name (and she didn't know this!) that her attitude changed and suddenly, she 'found' 2 rooms opposite each other. The rooms themselves were reasonably clean but the furniture has seen better days. The whole rooms seemed very dated and a little tatty. My daughter's room overlooked the water, which was very pretty, but the geese woke her up at 2am making dreadful loud noises. All-in-all I can't recommend this hotel at all, very, very disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaynaG133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    213
    79
    20
    15
See reviews for
185
211
28
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle Of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were visiting family and always stay at this Premier Inn. The family room was great, we had a room in the new part of the hotel. Staff brilliant and the breakfasts were really good value, plenty of choice. Had a meal in the restaurant, very nice. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely 1 night stay at this premier Inn, got a family room round the back overlooking the gorgeous lake, stunning ! The third bed was a proper bed not a sofa bed, Both the double and single were very comfy. Nice big TV and a lovely clean bathroom. Breakfast was included in our price and it had a great selection, cereal, toast, cooked breakfast etc etc along with the tea, coffee, juice, for an all in for 2 adults and 1 child for £50 an absolute bargain. Lovely place to stay and friendly staff too!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Clair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night with husband and 2 teenagers. Quick, pleasant check in. Room 6 which was ground floor overlooking car park. A lake view would've been great but we only paid £33 so can't complain. The room was really clean what u would expect from premier inn. Usually kids fight over who has to sleep on the pull out bed but there were 2 beds, one either side of the room. Room has hair dryer and shower gel so don't need to pack yr own. Ate out at new Prezzos few minutes away that's worth a visit but went to pub adjoined for breakfast. Fast service seen as though man seemed to be taking orders , filling supplies all by self. Daughter felt bad for him and wanted to give him a hand!!! Def earned his wages. Surrounding area really nice , beautiful views across lake with lots of pathways to explore . Second visit and will definitely be back.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank st491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

great service, lovely room, pub next door with good selection of liquid and food. set on a lakeside with different water sports, cycle path and walkways, all well sign posted with information about the history of the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clem18111947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is a pleasantly situated hotel next to Caldecotte Lake. We had a nice greeting on arrival and the room was very clean - in fact it looked as if it had recently been refurbished. We stayed with our 7 year old son, so we had a family room with a separate single bed. Food from the restaurant next door was fine and reasonably priced. The breakfast was excellent although I still begrudge paying £8 each!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevPartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

All what you expect from premier inn, was a lovely day so we enjoyed the park and a walk along the lakeside, staff where very nice,
Car park busy, and breakfast busy too, coffee was a weak experience at this one but everything else was spot on

Room Tip: We were on ground floor very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELL0075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
0.9 mi away
Hilton Milton Keynes
Hilton Milton Keynes
#14 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,228 reviews
1.4 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
1.5 mi away
Peartree Lodge Waterside
Peartree Lodge Waterside
#8 of 34 in Milton Keynes
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel
Address: Bletcham Way | Caldecotte, Milton Keynes MK7 8HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
#6 Family Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in scenic views of Caldecotte Lake, only minutes from Milton Keynes and the famous Bletchley Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel Milton Keynes
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing