We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but awful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Milton Keynes Hotel
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I stayed for one night on a business trip in room 31:

- Mould on the bathroom ceiling, corner of the bath, bathroom tiles
- Bearing gone in the bathroom extractor fan - so noisy that I was afraid to turn the bathroom light on in case I woke the neighbourhood
- When i did turn it on there was only 1 dim bulb working in the bathroom
- Big black lump of something fell out of the hot tap when I turned it on
- Very dirty / mouldy window frames
- Breakfast average but cutlery, plates need replacing
- Mugs all chipped and need replacing
- Bedroom walls very thin – makes for a noisy stay

On the plus side - a nice friendly young girl on reception. She deserves to work at a better hotel.

Room Tip: There are much better hotels for the same price in Milton Keynes
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrahamVingoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Milton Keynes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights on business. I would not normally choose such a place but had little choice due to other places being full.

The rooms were basic - mine was noisy as it was ground floor and people would congregate outside to smoke. The window would also not shut properly, making the noise problem worse and ensuring that the room was freezing.

Outside peak hours there is no reception, so you must call the pub to get attention.

Car parking can also be a problem when the hotel is busy.

I didn't eat at the attached Hungry Horse so can't comment.

Room Tip: Pick one on the 1st floor
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I stayed for one night as a convenient location for a business meeting. Whilst the food and service at the Hungry Horse were ok, the bathroom ceiling in my room (27) was covered in mould. I left early (before reception opened) the next morning for home and a shower!

Room Tip: Unless you have a wet suit, stay away from room 27
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

we all have those times when we need a bed for the night, we are travelling around, had a hard day, with an equally hard day the next, and we book the first place, that appears reasonably priced.....and hence why I found myself at this "hotel"

at 60quid a night, in Milton Keynes, it is clear that this isn't going to be a paradise found, BUT equally it isn't the cheapest place around (B&B are much cheaper and much better) but you do kind of expect certain things...parking, a friendly greeting, a mould free bathroom, are a few of what you might expect, any of these, you aint getting here.

This is truly GB at its finest in art of hospitality, rude staff, with the refusal to provide a receipt, hallways full of old broken furniture, a bathroom that makes you gag upon walking into it, through the mould, and smell are a few to mention.

Seriously, it was not that cheap, and even if you are clearly using the place as a stop over, dont you deserve just a few comforts.

When booking you assume this is a chain of fine English Public Houses, that provide overnight stays, please be assured this is a not the case, you would be far better booking into a good old fashioned pub with a few rooms.

This is without doubt the worst "hotel" i have ever stayed in. The car would be better option.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James4298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

was working very close to this hotel so it seemed the obvious place to stay. looked at prices and availability online at lunchtime and the price was £53, which i thought was acceptable. but when walked over there a couple of hours later i was told the price was £67! after a bit of a debate i decide to pay the £67 and add a full english breakfast for a further £6.50, and was quite happy to hear the manager say he would throw the breakfast in for free! (due to the price confusion). i had a nice clean room with a large comfortable double bed, the shower was very powerful with all the usual toiletries supplied. the hungry horse pub menu has a very large selection and has a different deal for every day of the week, but remember this is pub food and not restaurant food.. and i feel you get what you pay for. the staff are very friendly and there is generally a nice atmosphere throughout

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We did not stay at the hotel but arrived at the Hungry Horse restaurant without a reservation at 18:00 on 25/2/2012 - 4 adults and 2 kids. We were told that the wait for a table would be between 30-45 minutes. True to her word the restaurant "seater" came and found us after just 30 minutes. Meanwhile we had a drink and perused the extensive menu.

There is an eating are for over 21's and one for families. We were seated in the family area and it's good for kids. Colouring books and a magician was performing throughout our meal.

Each table has it's own small flat-screen TV which was showing football when we arrived (until the wife turned it off!)

We chose our meals and ordered at the bar (which is a pain as it was very busy). I had chosen the 20 0z Megasararus steak but was told on ordering that they didn't have one. I said 2 9ozs steaks would do instead and for some unfathomable reason was told that this was "not possible" so I had to make do with the 9 ozs rump.

This sort of badly coloured my judgement of the whole meal but what we did get was acceptable food acceptabley cooked which was about what you would expect in an establishment of this type. Value wise the food was very reasonably priced.

The order to service time was vey good - about 5 minutes I would guess.

It suited a purpose - no more no less.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waj_the_badge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stopped here for 1 night on 6th Nov against my wife's wishes due to previous reviews. Paid £54 for the room as booked early October and was very close to required location. Gave it the benefit of the doubt. Was greeted by a miserable hotel receptionist who could not find our booking initially then to find our surname was incorrectly spelt. Could not understand what was said by the receptionist as she may of been foreign. Entered hallway to be hit by a smell like old cigarettes, very musty. Room was clean and bed comfortable but no extra pillows available. Sealant around the bath was moldy and sink chain broke. Floor in the bathroom looked like it missed its last clean. No bin liner in bathroom bin. Tried the food next door at hungry horse. Food good value for money and staff friendly. Had a fair night's sleep but no lie in as cleaning staff noisy and ignored my sign on door saying still asleep. Lucky I was not the hotel inspector. Breakfast was ok but overpriced at £4 for continental style. If you are looking to save money then this is the place but should of listened to my wife and used premier inn or equivalent.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caleybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
1.6 mi away
Hilton Milton Keynes
Hilton Milton Keynes
#15 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,340 reviews
1.6 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
2.1 mi away
Peartree Lodge Waterside
Peartree Lodge Waterside
#9 of 35 in Milton Keynes
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Milton Keynes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Milton Keynes Hotel

Address: Milton Road, Milton Keynes MK10 9AA, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Milton Keynes Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Price Range: £45 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Western Milton Keynes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Milton Keynes Hotel, is a friendly lodge-style hotel offering a family friendly pub style restaurant with Sky Sports, free Wi-Fi, free parking and a good location near the M1, just three miles or about five kilometers from Milton Keynes. Located within Broughton Village and less than one minute from the M1 at Junction 14 this hotel is perfect for visiting many attractions in the local city of Milton Keynes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Best Western Milton Keynes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broughton Hotel Milton Keynes
Best Western Milton Keynes Hotel Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing