We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not special enough to warrant prices”
Review of La Collina

La Collina
Ranked #46 of 536 Restaurants in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not special enough to warrant prices”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Took a friend to this restaurant for a birthday meal, having had very good and INTERESTING food there a few years ago. Tonight the interesting choices were considerably fewer ....much more pasta and pizza than remembered. We were puzzled by the taste and colour of our pre meal Camparis and soda so asked for a top up of Campari thinking it was because the drink was too dilute, but had to leave them half drunk as they tasted wrong. It turned out on presentation of the bill that they were Cinzano....OR Martini. The delightful waitress said that they would have been put on the bill under the generic term 'cinzano or martini' but to be honest the odd taste suddenly made sense !! Certainly NOT Campari. The food was perfectly pleasant but boringly predictable and certainly not worth the prices charged. Pasta ok and but veal overcooked. The wine was very good although the choice was limited to Southern Italian wines. The service was charming and excellent. We felt that the original interesting menu choices had been sacrificed to popular ones which is a shame and although we had a very pleasant evening we could have eaten at any reasonable chain Italian restaurant for half the cost.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ASVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    39
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Italian in the area by far!”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We booked on a Monday night and the restaurant was packed creating an excellent atmosphere. Despite the number of people we were seen to quickly by the great staff and enjoyed some really good Italian food. The menu is excellent and the quality of food is superb.

We have visited this restaurant on several occasions and the welcome, service and food quality has been of the highest standard on each occasion. Indeed Antonio takes time out each time we visit to have a quick chat to us and the group to ensure this.

I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a special destination to go as a couple or as a group of friends to enjoy some truly excellent food and hospitality.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_f2655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“La Collina at The George, Little Brickhill”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We visited La Collina this week for the first time on a Friday evening. Food was excellent with generous helpings and good choice on the menu, and the service was very prompt and friendly. Prices were reasonable.
The atmosphere was very good with a lot less general background noise than one often gets in 'gastropubs' - although maybe it could be a little more 'Italian' in character & decor.
One criticism - the restraunt entrance is via the corridior to the pub toilets, with all the attendant odours.... Really needs to be better thought out, that one.
Overall, not perfect but a really nice little Italian restaurant

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This restaurant was recommended, to me in a passing conversation, I booked and we were very impressed, the restaurant is in an old pub, with a traditional bar area & restaurant at the rear, it's tastefully decorated, the service was very good but not 'in your face', then the food arrived it is fresh cooked (not microwaved like some chains) our starters were very nice and the main course did not disappoint. All in all a very good evening will defiantly return

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Weller_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tremendous atmosphere and food”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Food was terrific, portions were very generous, great homely atmosphere, marvelous service, would defiantly recommend! Great restaurant! Although could do with a more Italian style design.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Collina also viewed

Woburn Sands, Milton Keynes
Woburn Sands, Milton Keynes
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to La Collina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing