We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Work Night better than hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chiltern Hundreds

Chiltern Hundreds
Ranked #35 of 310 Restaurants in Maidstone
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
penarth - south wales
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Work Night better than hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent service -Clare (sorry could not leave tip had no cash xx) scallops lovely, wine good - steak ok ( bit over done but it's was a thin sirloin )

Far better for £30 than any hotel meal at £10 per glass of wine

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank marcus_rees_davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    198
    101
    71
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't even book”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I'm afraid my experience is similar to one of the other reviews left. I have tried to book for a table of 14 people - so a lot of business. Unfortunately after have called in excess of 6 times straight in a row and leaving the phone to ring until it rings off the hook I have decided to book elsewhere.
I'd hate to think what the service would be like!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Chiltern Hundreds, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Wendy G

Thank you for providing us with your review

I can confirm that I have passed on your comments about your visit to the management team and to the Area Manager of the Chiltern Hundreds who would like to thank you for your feedback and to let you know that they have taken your feedback on board and passed it to the relevant teams.

We do hope to see you soon in the Chiltern Hundreds soon.

Kind regards,

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
358 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Lovely food, pleasant ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Decided to end the Bank Holiday weekend with a final dinner out, at a place we know and like. Not disappointed, as always. Surprisingly the restaurant and pub were relatively empty for a Holiday weekend evening. Got a table easy. As always the staff are polite, friendly, know the menu, and quick to serve but happy to leave you to decide, and wait between courses.

I had the venison pie special - OMG! Size of the dish was huge but full of good meat, a lovely sauce, and light pastry. Mash was a little dry but vegetables well cooked. My wife had the sea bass, scallops and risotto - very well cooked, full of flavour. A lovely meal in a pleasant country type pub. We'll go back (again!).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve6244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely food and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We hadn't booked but they managed to find a table for us on Saturday night. James, our waiter was really pleasant, making sure we had everything we wanted without intruding. The food was well cooked and tasty. Would thoroughly recommend this place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank shadylady57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“OK for a quick cheap lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Three of us popped in for a quick lunch time bite to eat. The place is one of the Chef & Brewer chain of pubs and restaurants. Quite a good selection beers names I'd not seen before, Black Sheep, Abbat, Broadside, Harviestoun, Tribute. Staff were friendly and cheerful and the place was reasonably clean, but the decor and seating was fairly dark making the place appear drab and dark. The Lunch menu had main courses from £5 weren't a bad selection and quite good value. Service was quick and the food portions were OK considering the price. We ordered at the bar but there was waiter service had we known. Wasn't the greatest but would go there again if I was in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiltern Hundreds also viewed

 

Been to Chiltern Hundreds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing