We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place”
Review of The Barge Riverside Restaurant - CLOSED

The Barge Riverside Restaurant
Price range: US$7 - US$76
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“Excellent place”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Ate here last Saturday and had a lovely meal all cooked nicely, helpful staff while sitting on the lovely calm river which just tops off this lovely restraunt

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarryHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    25
    16
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TUNBRIDGE WELLS
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great night out”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

my husband and i had a great meal here on saturday i had the belly of pork which was one of the best i have had, my husband had the ribs which he really enjoyed,
the atmosphere was good as they had a guy singing and he could sing various songs which would appeal to all tastes.
look forward to going back

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALIGOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a disaster!!!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Went there on Saturday night with a group of friends for a birthday celebration. There were nine of us. The starters, small and inconsequential, arrived on time, but our seafood platter looked like a dollop of puke on a wooden board. Fish pate and hummus mixed together anyone? And then the real problems started...

We waited...and waited...and waited...and waited some more. The main courses hadn't arrived after waiting well over an hour since the starters. We complained. We were assured the food was coming, but nothing. Eventually, at 10.50, after a wait of an hour and a half between courses, we upped and left.

The Barge is quite simply appalling! Our friend's birthday night was totally ruined by these amateurs and I would advise you very strongly to steer clear. The people on The Barge have no idea how to run an effective restaurant. I can't comment on value for money as we left without paying.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul1970xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“I didn't think you could go down hill on a river”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We last went to the barge a couple of years ago and would have given that visit a 4 1/2 star review. Last night however was a very different story. Somebody has already said in his review that it was overpriced pub chain food and I think he has a point.....excuse the gramma but I'm just going to do a list of what I thought was unacceptable for a restaurant that charges £18 for a 7 ounce rib eye and £10 for a glass of standard Chablis

Poor service, they made us feel rushed, did not wipe the table between courses and were completely uninterested about or complaints but instead said that he 'hoped that the rest of our evening was better'. That's the first time ever I've not left a penny tip

Warm white wine (£10 a glass remember)

Fondant potatoes which were actually small new pots with skins on that didn't taste like they'd been within a mile of any kind of stock

At least 3 ounces of my 7 ounce steak was gristle and was brought to the table cold(although in fairness it was cooked spot on med/rare)

Chips that tasted like they'd been purchased from the freezer section of Asda because they'd run out

Cabbage that simply could not be chewed.

The pork was cooked very well but the crackling (my wife's favorite) had a peculiar stale taste.

My advice....steer clear me hearty

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place - we will be back”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We loved the Barge, the staff are great, the food & atmosphere was really nice and we will definately be back for more - Thanks Spencer, you are a credit to your dad x We will be keeping an eye on your website for Christmas/New Year :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lclilylee1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barge Riverside Restaurant also viewed

 
East Farleigh, Maidstone
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing