We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food”
Review of The Barge Riverside Restaurant - CLOSED

The Barge Riverside Restaurant
Price range: US$6 - US$73
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Maidstone
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Came here with 5 friends to celebrate my birthday. I have been here before and to be honest was a bit apprentice about returning based on some of the reviews. I have to say that the whole evening was wonderful. The food was excellent and extremely tasty, everyone of my party agreed that their meal was good. The service was good with enough time given between courses and I thought the staff were very attentive. I would definetly recommend this restaurant and would say ignore any bad reviews.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    25
    16
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meh - ok”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Went to the barge with two kids - 9 and 7 for end of holidays dinner. It was more of the novelty for the kids which enticed us. We were first there for 6pm booking. Menu was limited (which is fine - beware big menus). However there was no kids menu and their only suggestion was to offer half sizes on the lasagne and you guess it - the burger and chips. We asked if they could do a pasta with tomato sauce for the fussy youngest but they wouldn't oblige. In the end to avoid wasting food we didn't order her anything and she shared select bits from the rest of us. Food itself tasted freshly cooked. My wife enjoyed the lasagne, eldest child had the half burger and chips - which was still a very big burger and I had the calamari rings which were overlooked but edible. Deserts were £5 each but not much to write home about. There were at least three other tables with children that night and we heard them struggle with menu options given the restaurants lack of flexibility. Atmosphere was pleasant all told. One waiter was friendly and outgoing the other two were polite bit looked like they just came out of school and had a 30 minute crash course in waiting tables. If you go there not expecting too much you'll probably have a pleasant enough evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gezza00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Really enjoyed my time there”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Lovely restraunt
Best place in Maidstone, all the food was cooked spot on and it was good value for money

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OliviaJOHNSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excellent place”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Ate here last Saturday and had a lovely meal all cooked nicely, helpful staff while sitting on the lovely calm river which just tops off this lovely restraunt

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarryHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TUNBRIDGE WELLS
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great night out”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

my husband and i had a great meal here on saturday i had the belly of pork which was one of the best i have had, my husband had the ribs which he really enjoyed,
the atmosphere was good as they had a guy singing and he could sing various songs which would appeal to all tastes.
look forward to going back

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALIGOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barge Riverside Restaurant also viewed

 
Boughton Monchelsea, Maidstone
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing