We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Bit Disappointing!"”
Review of Hilton Maidstone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Maidstone
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Maidstone
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We travelled to Maidstone to help our Daughter move house! The Hilton was perfectly located....just off the M20 and on the outskirts of the Town. Booking our one-night stay at short notice, via the Internet was quick and easy. We paid an extra £15 upgrade for a larger room with garden view. The room was large, comfortable and clean and very quiet. There was no individually controlled air-conditioning.....a large free-standing fan was available for hot days/nights. We found the large-sized bed incredibly uncomfortable....mattress too hard and pillows too soft.....my Wife and I had a very poor night's sleep! My Wife was not happy to find the bath/shower control "seized" on shower setting.......so had to fill her bath by running the shower, which took some time! Unusually the loo paper was the poorest quality we have come across for some time.......took us back to cheap holidays in Greece! I was also puzzled why a copy of our bill was thrust under our door in the middle of the night......surely Reception at check-out would have been more appropriate!
Breakfast was in "Seasons" main restaurant......and was very good. Staff were friendly and efficient and there was a good range of hot/cold foods......perfect to start the day!
We had an evening drink in the Bar........not fantastic! Large glass of wine was £9 and the place was so brightly lit we felt almost "on stage" under the spotlight! It was almost deserted and lacked any atmosphere.
There is a Health Club with gym and pool, which we didn't use as we were "on a mission" helping our Daughter's house move!
Overall our stay was "a bit disappointing".....it was a very convenient place for our one-night stop-over, but the Hotel felt rather "tired and dated".......perhaps future improvements are planned?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardoGagliano, General Manager at Hilton Maidstone, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Ian,

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations fully. It is disappointing that you found our brand new mattresses too hard, since it seems not to suit everyone’s taste we have just started last week to fit supper toppers on our deluxe rooms mattresses and will have every room in the hotel fitted with them by the end of August.

I am sorry that the pillows where not to your wife and yours taste either, we do have alternative types of pillows, it is not clear from your review if this was not offered or if your dissatisfaction was not mentioned to our team. My apologies for the issue with the shower control as well, once again it is not clear from your review if you brought it to the hotel team attention, I am sure they would have tried and fixed it during your stay.

The express check out drop is meant to be more convenient for our guests, the objective is that if you are happy with the bill, you can just sign it and drop in the express checkout box at the reception, without going through other checkout procedures. I am sorry this was not clear and inconvenienced you.

I hope you daughter’s move went well and you will give us another chance next time you are in the area visiting her; I am sure from the majority of our guests’ feedback that we can provide world class hospitality.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Regards,

Leonardo Gagliano
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Hilton hotel in maidstone and I can honestly say It felt like home to me. The rooms were warm, quiet and up to standard. The breakfast in the morning was brilliant,
Definitely filled a hole! Thankyou Elaine who had a lovely kind welcoming voice and made us feel like royalty! But I would also like to give a big thank you to Tanith from the Food and Beverage for making my experience at the hotel a joy! She would have long conversations with me at the bar like a friend then a typical customer, we laughed and recommend places to me and even on her break she would sit with me and tell me the best places to go out in maidstone and write up directions. She was truely a star and made my stay 10 out of 10 I was sad to return home and will deffinetly be visiting some time in the near future.

Would highly recommend this place, it's not always about the look but about the customer service!


Jane cole
Northern Hampshire

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeC12kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardoGagliano, General Manager at Hilton Maidstone, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Jane,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience and recommend the Hilton Maidstone. I am sure the team will be as delighted as I am to read your review, as this is what our team and I strive to provide to every one of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Kent.
Regards,
Leonardo Gagliano
Hotel General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had our Wedding at this Hilton Hotel in April 2014 and I could not fault the service or food, I would say that some of the rooms are in need of a update. but overall we had no complaints apart from the new car parking charge system which was installed after we booked our wedding, There are no signs about to let people know that if they have used the hotel or been to a function then they do not need to pay for parking, just validate their ticket at reception, unfortunately for some of my reception guests this was not clear and although I did try to remember to tell my guests as they left, I think a few of them did pay for parking when they shouldn't have. I feel this issue needs addressing at the Hotel and I will be contacting them directly to ask about this.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade the rooms are not worth it. unless you get a great deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardoGagliano, General Manager at Hilton Maidstone, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Charlie,

Thank you for your review, I am glad that you found our hotel good value but disappointed that the car park system, installed to guarantee free parking spaces for our guests against tresspassers, was misunderstood. There is a sign stating parking is for free for hotel users next to the machine that dispenses the tickets, I am sorry it was overlooked and cause inconvenience to some of your guests.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Hilton Maidstone.

Regards,

Leonardo Gagliano
Hotel General Mangers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Was here for business and only stayed one night. It's a pretty average hotel. The rooms are standard although the bathtubs are big and raised making getting in and out tricky. My room was on the main floor looking out to the courtyard. Nothing special. The pool and workout room were very nice. I have no complaints.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank LostALot22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardoGagliano, General Manager at Hilton Maidstone, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Roving,
Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the gym and had no complaints but disappointed that you did not find your stay special. I hope you will stay with us again next time you are in the area, as I am sure we can provide world class hospitality that will change your perception for better next time.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Maidstone.
Regards,
Leonardo Gagliano
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed here every week for a month earlier on this year. The hotel offers a good base if you are working in Maidstone or visiting the area as its right next door to the motorway and the park and ride.

The restaurants are good and the room service menu is more extensive than others.

Rooms, whilst a little dated, are comfortable and clean.

As its a Hilton, everything has a price tag on it including £4 for a bottle of water in the room (excessive in my opinion).

Room Tip: 1st floor is quieter than ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardoGagliano, General Manager at Hilton Maidstone, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Mikcy,
Thank you for taking the time to write a good review about and recommending the Hilton Maidstone to the readers of this website, above all thank you for your repeated preference.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Maidstone.
Regards,
Leonardo Gagliano
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

stayed here many times and cannot fault the level of attention from the staff. great food great service and great rooms. From the moment I check in to the moment I leave I feel welcomed and valued. highly recommend the food too as I have never had a bad meal either in the bar or in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardoGagliano, General Manager at Hilton Maidstone, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Julian,
Thank you for your regular preference, good review and for recommending the Hilton Maidstone. I am delighted to read that you enjoy staying with us and I am sure the team will be too, because this is the sort of experience we strive to provide to every guest.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Maidstone.
Regards,
Leonardo Gagliano
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Maidstone recently to attend a nearby wedding. We were greeted by very reception staff who aided us with an early check-in. The breakfast was fantastic and very hot! The room was lovely and big and very clean. All-in-all a very good weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagicNumbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
2.2 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.6 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 17 in Maidstone
1,809 reviews
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
577 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Maidstone Central
Travelodge Maidstone Central
#11 of 17 in Maidstone
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Maidstone

Address: Bearsted Road | Weavering, Maidstone ME14 5AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Maidstone
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range: £74 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Maidstone 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Maidstone hotel is within easy reach of the town centre and the M20 motorway. The hotel has a health club with indoor pool, treatment room and a sauna. Enjoy Seasons Restaurant and The Court Bar, or do business in the 8 meeting rooms. Nearby Kent attractions include Chatham Historic Dockyard, Historic Rochester, Leeds Castle and Kent Life.We have also been awarded Silver for Green Tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Maidstone Hotel Maidstone
Hilton International Maidstone
Maidstone Hilton International
Hilton Maidstone Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing