We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal stop for crossing the channell”
Review of Days Inn Maidstone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Maidstone
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ideal stop for crossing the channell”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Clean hotel with basic well sized room. Based at Maidstone services ideal for resting before crossing the channel. On the down side it does not have a restaurant, so you would have to eat in the services, but they do an excellent breakfast. The Eurostar train line is close by but it did not disturb me.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smartmart1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthea S, Manager at Days Inn Maidstone, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for you review
I'm really pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
On your next visit just ask at reception at they will gladly recommend local places to eat other than the sevice area if you wish.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next stay The Days Inn Maidstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    61
    41
    14
    13
See reviews for
40
43
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We used this hotel during a 3 day 2 night stay visiting relations in Shorne, nr. Gravesend and also to attend the British Superbikes at Brands hatch. Not knowing what to expect with a budget stopover we were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were great and informative, the room was spotless, roomy and more than up to expectation. Having an eating outlet on site and also being just 5 minutes from Maidstone with a variety of hostleries offering good food it proved to be a perfect stop for us and we would definitely use it again, perhaps as a one night stay on route to the Channel Tunnel or indeed cross channel ferries.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthea S, Manager at Days Inn Maidstone, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. Although we are a budget hotel, we do try to provide a friendly service of a high standard. I'm so pleased you found this.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next stay at The Days Inn Maidstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Malvern
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

As is always the case in hotel surveys, they never ask the right questions!! I
was a walk-in, had no intention of stopping for more than a pee and to
use wifi in the motorway services, (if they had it) to find a place to stay in Calais, didn't even know there was an hotel at those services!

Parked up, feeling dead knackered, and thought, "Bet it'll be 80 quid
for a last minute" and walked in to ask. Result.

In fact, as a marketing exercise, rather than post, rooms from £25, you
might post, "rooms from 25, never more than 55", cause whenever I've
tried Premier Inns for example the price is always way more than I'll
pay.

Anyway, the only two things wrong with the room at Maidstone was the pathetic
water flow in the shower. Bathrooms and clean sheets are the most
important bits and a nice deluge of hot water comes very close to the
top on my list, and (2) having to give personal info to get the "free" wifi, if you have to give to get it's not free! Fortunately I have a Spanish mobile too, so I don't think I'll be too bothered by them. This giving of info is the reason I no longer use McDonalds but try to find Starbucks and similar where the wifi really is free.

I am staying tonight in the Vinci Hotel Salamanca, 55 Euros, marble bathroom,
big room, recent renovation, secure underground car park 10 euros
extra. Makes UK value look rather tame.

Days Inn Maidstone? Great place and a reasonable price to lay your head, but with time and future planning you wouldn't choose it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCMalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthea S, Manager at Days Inn Maidstone, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for your review. Please note that your feedback is extremely valuable to us .We will utilise your comments by continuing to focus on making Days Inn Maidstone a Great Place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Conveniently located close to Leeds Castle, this motel is a good solution for a weekend in Kent as it offers easy access to Canterbury, Dover, Folkestone etc.

It was the best value for money offer we could find at £60 per night. Yes, I could sense that the hotel was 'tired' as a previous reviewer stated but it was definitely clean and offered free WiFi, something that competitors with higher rates did not offer. Flat screen TV/computer facility was available for the road warriors - I only used the TV setting which was great!

The reception staff was very friendly and offered us the option to buy a £10 voucher for the nearby Restbite at £7.50, a promotion we gladly accepted to use for our next day breakfast.

The room has the standard amenities one can expect plus a fan which was very welcome given that we stayed there on the hottest night of the year in UK.

The mattress was very soft and bouncy which made our sleep very comfortable - but it may not be what other people like.

All in all, this is a motel to be used as a base for your activities in Kent whether business or leisure. And it is very good at fulfilling its purpose.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexPOxford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthea S, Manager at Days Inn Maidstone, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. Although we are a budget hotel, we do try to provide service of a high standard. I'm so pleased you found this.
Thank you again for your review and I hope to welcome you back to Days Inn Maidstone again soon
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

A £60 motel room near the channel ports - good location - fast journey to/from Dover.
Good eating options in Motorway Service Station.
Staff & check-in fine.
Room clean but some black mould in the bathroom.
Large but strangely empty room - as though a sofa were missing.
As a stop-over this is fine, but I had a problem with the bath taps - they have those click-buttons attached to the taps which you have to push to get a higher pressure or temperature - designed I guess for idiots who might otherwise scald themselves. Unfortunately, as so often, both buttons were broken, so all I could get was a dribble of tepid water in the bath - hence no bath or shower for me. The fire alarm went of at 5.15am. The staff later apologised - must have been a false alarm.
The "Free WiFi" requires you to give your mobile phone number and email address, both of which have to be verified before you can use the WiFi - the WiFi provider freely admits this is so they can "send you messages". Hmm.
So for me a poor experience - but you may get luckier!

Room Tip: Check the bath taps work before you accept a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maidstone hotels

Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We initially stayed here in April and encountered a couple of problems. The Hotel, however did their best to put these right and we were offered a free stay to make up for it. We took up this offer and stayed here again last weekend.
The rooms are clean and although basic,are fine for a short stay.Free wi-fi, nice clear tv picture and plenty of hot water for a bath
The beds are very soft so not good for bad back sufferers like myself. We tend to go for two singles as the double can feel like you are being devoured by a marsh mallow! The mattress that I had this time was better than the first stay though (I ended up putting that one on the floor and sleeping there!!)
Staff are very friendly and extremely helpful and accomodating- particularly Sharon

You can nip over to the Service Area and get food which is ok - as ever you get what you pay for. By uptaking a hotel offer (like the newspaper ones mentioned by others) and keeping food costs down you can make this a nice bargain weekend break- for those of us who love such things!!
We used the Hotel as a base to visit local National Trust properties - of which there are several in the area. We would certainly recommend "Chartwell" - Sir Winston Curchill's amazingly atmospheric home and also Canterbury which is only about 40 minutes away and has easy access with Park and Ride.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peykake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Booked as base for dover ferry crossing...got newspaper offer for £10 for family of 5 including breakfast, massive family rooms, great!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyandjohn2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
3.2 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#12 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.0 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Maidstone

Property: Days Inn Maidstone
Address: Svc Area Junction 8 M20 Motorway | M20 Junction 8, Maidstone ME17 1SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Maidstone 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Maidstone Hotel Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing