We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel has deteriorated”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Days Inn Maidstone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Maidstone
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Tours
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel has deteriorated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have used this hotel many times previously as it is conveniently located, reasonably priced and has always been comfortable in the past. However, we arrived at 8.30 on the evening of the 3rd of July and immediately noticed that the public areas were dirty, scruffy and with an unpleasant odour of cigarette smoke mixed with cheap air freshener. The first room we were allocated was only partly furnished, with a bed whose base appeared to be broken, and had the same unpleasant odour. The second room was more like a dormitory in a hostel, same nasty smell and the overwhelming noise of the adjacent generator. Carpets were worn and tatty and the whole place needed a thorough refurbishment. Quite shocking deterioration in the ten months since our last stay. We decided we could not possibly stay in such conditions so we opted for a five hour drive to our home in Yorkshire instead. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthea S, Manager at Days Inn Maidstone, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank You for Your review

Your comments have been noted and passed to the relevent people

There is a refurbishment programm due but as yet have not been given a date for the work to commence

I hope we can welcome you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    58
    41
    13
    13
See reviews for
40
41
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Thatcham
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

First time we stopped at Days Inn Maidstone and found the service was excellent,very pleased with the room we booked,very clean,excellent value for money,staff very friendly,location was excellent for the Eurotunnel and good choice of places to eat over at the service station next door. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sarah_LU4318IY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthea S, Manager at Days Inn Maidstone, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review
I'm really pleased you had a plesant stay with us and look forward to hosting you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Booked this for an overnight before the drive north after returning from a driving tour of France. This hotel does what it says on the tin, after all it is situated on a motorway service area and I knew that.

Good size room with a sofa and TV. Wifi is free but you need to input some personal details and a cellphone number (I will now await the marketing calls/texts). Had a good breakfast valued at £10 for £7.50 at the RestBite restaurant next door using a voucher bought at the hotel. Good value, receptionist helpful.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank killerbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthea S, Manager at Days Inn Maidstone, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your review
I'm very pleased you found our hotel met your needs and hope we can host you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We live in Maidstone and needed to accommodate a group of people who were attending a family gathering, Days Inn fitted the bill very well, the prices are for the room, so no single room supplement. Our guests were very comfortable and all slept well. Staff were all very helpful. The hotel is at Junction 8 Services on the M20 and breakfast is available at the services if you need it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthea S, Manager at Days Inn Maidstone, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your review
I'm really pleased to hear that the group of guests attending your family gathering had a comfortable stay with us and also that you found our staff to be very helpful
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is our second stay here. Comfortable and surprisingly quiet considering the busy service station. Only one thing stops A 5star rating - the rooms are really gloomy due to the overgrown foliage outside which if pruned back a bit would greatly improve the view, even if it is only of the car park! All in all though, a pleasant experience, very dog friendly who's is a big plus for us, we will stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Biljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthea S, Manager at Days Inn Maidstone, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank You for your review
I'm really pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us
I will pass your comments on regarding the view from your room to see if the foliage can be trimmed back to allow more light in the room
Again thank you and we look forward to hosting you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

OK, let's start with the good. The hotel was very reasonably priced, at £55 for a family room consisting of a main room with a double bed, and another room off this with twin beds for the kids. The rooms were spacious and well equipped with a nice flat screen TV with plenty of channels, and tea/coffee making. The hotel also has free wi-fi with a good signal. The receptionist was friendly, helpful and efficient. There is free parking outside the hotel, but remember to inform the receptionist of your reg no or you'll get a parking ticket.
Now the not so good. There is no aircon, and if, like us, your room is one that overlooks the shrubbery at the rear, and you open the windows, you are plagued by insects. The double bed needed a new mattress as it was sagging and lumpy (it reminded me of my ex-wife in that respect...). There was also mould in the bathroom.
In addition, the location is very noisy, from the rumbles of high speed trains, to the noise of obnoxious morons who roll in drunk at 2am and stand in the corridors talking loudly about things only other obnoxious morons would want to hear about! Therefore avoid rooms that are close to the stairs.
I took advantage of a deal whereby you get £10 vouchers to eat in the 'Rest Bite' (see what they did there???) restaurant for £7.50 and free meals for the kids. My advice? Don't bother. I really thought (naively) that motorway food in Britain had improved since the 1970s, but at this service station time has stood still. The great Clive James would have described it as 'food that belches before you do!'
Would I stay here again? No, I've now resolved to stop being a cheapskate and treat my family to a decent hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliffy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthea S, Manager at Days Inn Maidstone, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review
All feedback such as yours is used to help improve the product & service we offer
Although we dont have air conditioning we do have a number fans that are available from reception
I will pass on your comments regarding your breakfast to the site director
Again thankyou for review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maidstone hotels

Bridgend
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We used the Days Hotel as a stay over for the Chanel Tunnel. We booked through Bookings.com. Check in was easy. The room was clean and comfortable. We got something to eat at the services and it was a convenient way for us to rest before our onward destination.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthea S, Manager at Days Inn Maidstone, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank You for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
3.2 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#12 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.0 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Maidstone

Property: Days Inn Maidstone
Address: Svc Area Junction 8 M20 Motorway | M20 Junction 8, Maidstone ME17 1SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Maidstone 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Maidstone Hotel Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing