We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and excellent food - little gem in the centre of Maidstone”
Review of Gurkha

Gurkha
Ranked #21 of 319 Restaurants in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This has very recently opened and has replaced the cafe 'Dancing Dishes'.
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good value and excellent food - little gem in the centre of Maidstone”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Maidstone has a large number of restaurants varying from the fast food chains to independently owned cafes and as such there is always a good choice of places to eat in the town but this is the first time that we have eaten Nepalese food even though there is a strong link with the Gurkhas in Kent.

Before booking, we read the positive reviews and we were not disappointed. It is a very small restaurant and, as it was a Saturday night, it was very busy but we had excellent service with the waiter taking time to recommend dishes when we said that it was the first time we had been there. The food was delicious with a good variety of flavours and it all seemed freshly cooked.

This isn't a romantic restaurant, the lighting is harsh and because it is small, the tables are crammed in so there isn't much privacy but it didn't distract from the great food.

We were pleasantly surprised by the prices as well, this is not an expensive restaurant and the food was very good value for money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roz1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    78
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place for Lunch”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Not as hot as an Indian nor as greasy. An excellent choice if you like it spicy but are on a diet. Small and intimate space compensated for by the excellent service and beautiful \zfood

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graceno7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our favourite in Maidstone ”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We love this place and eat here regularly. The menu is so varied, spiced lamb shank, sea bass, asparagus, Bombay aloo to name a few great dishes and starters such as Sinka prawn and lamb tikka all cooked in Nepalese spices rather than Indian.

The lunchtime curry and rice or nan for a fiver can't be beaten.

Once you have tried it you will return again and again as the quality of the food will draw you back as we have been doing for years.

It certainly is our number one in Maidstone and we have tried most places.

I would be amazed if you fail to enjoy the food.


Helpful?
Thank Alastair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Went to this restaurant today with my wife for lunch and we will DEFINITELY be returning.
If you want to be surrounded in lavish luxury with huge tables then this is not the restaurant for you. The restaurant is small and I can imagine it's fairly cramped during busy periods, but the food and the service easily make up for this.
The food is excellent as was the service and I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed.”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Tiny, cramped, extremely small tables and noisy, but the food is excellent and the staff efficient and courtious. Another terrific meal last night and the Gurkha Lager (brewed in Horsham) is surpisingly good. Personally I prefer to eat there ay midday when it's quieter but last night's meal with friends was very enjoyable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gurkha also viewed

 

Been to Gurkha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing