We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than i expected”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maidstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocky Hill House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 27 Maidstone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 November 2013

1.Very nice hostess
2.Nice Breakfast
3.Nice clean room
4.Nice POWER shower
5.Nice location easy to find and off road parking.

Only downside for me was no lock on bedroom door. Good WiFi and phone signal (EE).

I would definately recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Revelatio00x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosandandy, Owner at Rocky Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you very much for your candid review, we are pleased and intrigued that we are "better than expected" I have had some comment about the lack of an external lock on the bedroom doors (although there is an internal lock whilst inside the room). Most travellers take valuables with them - laptops etc and I am happy to look after items on their behalf. We will put our thinking caps on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Best money I have ever spent. To call Rocky Hill House just your average B&B would be underrating it severely. I have stayed in five star hotels that could learn a thing from this place. It is a stunning property hidden quite literally a five minute walk from Maidstone West station and yet when the wooden shutters are closed and curtains drawn you can hear your breathing it is that quiet!

I could rave on about the original beams, wooden floors, period window shutters, the attention and care that has gone in to the decor but all you need do is read all the other reviews on trip advisor for more details. There is a reason why this place consistently is rated five stars, it really is that good.

A full english breakfast is included in the price and quite frankly I ate better than the Groom and Bride whose wedding I was there for but they stayed in another hotel. The array of choices was fantastic, cereals, juices, hot beverages, condiments. I am happy to say with pride that I made an absolute pig of myself. And yet the wonderful host that is Ros asked me if I would like any more!!?

The service is exemplary and Ros will try and accommodate your needs wherever possible, she always puts the guest first. She was warm, welcoming and thoughtful. The little touches like real butter in a butter dish as opposed to the little butter sachets you get in hotel chains, warm towels, my own little tea pot. I felt like Elizabeth Bennett from 'Pride and Prejudice' staying at the Rocky Hill House. I felt pampered, cosy and treated as a guest rather than a room number.

I intend to go back if only to stay there again and feel like a Jane Austen character. I recommend this place as a must stay if you have to visit Maidstone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madalene2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosandandy, Owner at Rocky Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Wow what a stunning review, thank you so much for your comments especially as they are so positive. The house seems to have an effect on many people's imaginations - including ours! We look forward to seeing you again especially as you want to have a repeat "Jane Austin" moment. Visit again soon, kindest regards Ros and Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Great place the floorboards creek for 15th century place, its real you might think its a ghost of the past walking.
Beds comfortable you sleep well at night, the food good.

I have used when I had to catch the Gran UK holidays coach from the station, its all downhill to the station to tow my cases.

Nice people welcoming, good breakfast

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterParkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosandandy, Owner at Rocky Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Ah Peter thank you so much for your positive and encouraging review. We try our best to offer a good service to our guests and we are happy that you have found our B&B to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area. Ros and Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Rocky Hill is a historical house, and it shows all of its best. High wooden ceilings, wooden floors, special windows, you name it you will find it here. Although only minutes away from the city centre, the place is very quiet. Ros and Andy are the owners, they are always ready to share stories and informations, and love to talk. Just our type of folks. Our party of three stayed in two different rooms, and both offered a comfortable beds and plenty of space. Wifi was excellent throughout the house. Breakfasts very tasty and filling. Parking was by the house, and thus very secure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosandandy, Owner at Rocky Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for writing such a glowing review. We are so pleased that you found the house interesting it has such a history and we have more tales to tell if you want to come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Rocky Hill House is a lovely b&b just 5 mins walk from the centre of town. The building is nearly 500 years old so is full of character & creaks, we loved it. Very comfortable, clean & spacious room, wonderfully welcoming hosts in Ros & Andy and a delicious breakfast cooked to order. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BabyBlueLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosandandy, Owner at Rocky Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

We are so pleased that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review and we will try our hardest to maintain our standards. We look forward to seeing you if and when you return to Maidstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Being within striking distance of Heathrow and Gatwick this B&B was the perfect launch pad for our epic 5+ week self drive tour of England. In fact it was so good we booked our final night there too. Ros and Andy are perfect hosts in this quirky but charming historical home complete with creaky floorboards and railway line in the garden. We stayed in the Family room which was very spacious and comfortable with a queen size bed and a single included. An excellent breakfast was cooked to order by Ros and nothing seemed too much trouble. We highly recommend this B&B as a friendly and welcoming home away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine77Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosandandy, Owner at Rocky Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you both so much for taking the time to write a review. We try hard to offer a good service to our guests and it is pleasing to know that it is appreciated. We would love you to come and stay with us again and we can regale you with even more stories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in Rocky Hill House in Maidstone. The house is amazing, beautifull and original ''old''. As the house is away from the London road you hardly hear any traffic. The room was very comfortable and traditional furnished. Ros and Andy are good hosts and very thoughtfull. Breakfast was plentyfull at a nice set table. Anytime i come again to Maidstone, i will stay there!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosandandy, Owner at Rocky Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Thank you Liz for your kind review, it was a real pleasure to meet you and we are hoping that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Maidstone Central
Travelodge Maidstone Central
#11 of 17 in Maidstone
481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#14 of 17 in Maidstone
378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oakwood House Hotel
Oakwood House Hotel
#12 of 17 in Maidstone
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 17 in Maidstone
1,806 reviews
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#13 of 17 in Maidstone
186 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Hill House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Hill House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 19 London Road, Maidstone ME16 8JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Maidstone
Price Range: £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful period property nearly five hundred years old, close to Maidstone town center. Ample parking, friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rocky Hill House Bed And Breakfast Maidstone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing