We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a rainy day trip”

Maidstone Museum & Bentlif Art Gallery
Ranked #7 of 53 things to do in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good for a rainy day trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Good museum with a good bit to see. Took my 3 &5 yr olds during holidays and they enjoyed it. Nice little cafe to have a snack in. Worth a trip to spend an hour or two

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    62
    21
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Amazing museum and it's free.well worth a visit .kids will adore it.there is a lovely cafe and you can sit in the court yard while having a light snack and a cup of coffee.the museum is well run and clean and the staff very helpful.a must for a visit.

Helpful?
Thank thweng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It's a lovely building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

It's a shame they don;t make more of the building and less of the very odd collection of things they have in it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank munchkin59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You will enjoy this”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is a very quaint museum and they have lots of different things to see and they have regular exhibitions. I went to see an exhibition of quilts which were sent by Canadians to Londoners during the Blitz in the Second World War. There is also a cafe attached which has a selection of sandwiches and drinks at a reasonable price where you can have peace and quiet from the main frantic coffee shops.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Silvertraveller316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fab Find!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I accidentally came across this, when searching for something to do in Kent. What a great day out, there is so much to see and it is free. Our kids did do an art activity which cost £3.50 each, they had a great time doing this. We also ate in their café, which cost £15.00 for the four of us, lovely food and great service. I can absolutely recommend this, we spent about 4 hours there and would definitely go back at some point. We all love history and this was perfect for us. The kids also did an activity sheet which they took around the museum with them, this was good fun and we all had a go at it!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mandyw1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maidstone Museum & Bentlif Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Maidstone Museum & Bentlif Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing