We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring what an unexpected little gem.”

Maidstone Museum & Bentlif Art Gallery
Ranked #9 of 54 things to do in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inspiring what an unexpected little gem.”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

What a lovely visit. From a Talon and Tiara exhibition to Taxidermy this museum has many interest covered. Ill be back with the children, this journey is one worth revisiting and sharing.the coffee is great too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GillianFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    65
    22
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A gem in our town.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I've been visiting this museum since I was little and now bring the children.
Dressing up area was well stocked for half term and the new microscope is fantastic!
My husband complained, however, that your Maidstone United Football Club information needs updating and seeing as we now have a much needed and long-awaited for new ground, this is very important for our town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank victoria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great day out.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What to do in half term when it's raining and not much money?
Visit this place... You won't be disappointed!
I went today with my 4year old & 11month old boys and my 72 year old nan. It's free to enter and there is so much to see! The staff at reception were so friendly and helpful, there is a room to keep your buggy (there are a lot of steps) and they gave us a map.
My son is into Egyptian mummies and dinosaurs... Perfect. They have an Egyptian exhibition which includes a real mummy! Mummified crocodile, cat head, and child's foot.
The dinosaur exhibition includes an iguanodon which was found in maidstone, lots of fossils, skulls, teeth etc.
there is a room full of different stuffed animals, birds and bugs.
They have old clothes, toys, bikes, clocks, boats, military room, Victoria cross medals, Japanese art gallery. There is seriously so much to see and my boy never once said he was bored! He loved it!
We had lunch in the cafe, the sandwiches are very tasty, they have a deal of hot drink, sand which and crisps for £4.95, a kids deal for £2.75 and you get half a sand which, a drink, a chocolate or piece of fruit and some crisps. (They do not take card so have cash to hand).
The museum is a 1 minute walk from the fremlin walk car park, just behind Boots and Next.
I never knew it existed until a friend recommended and I'm so glad they did.
Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harrylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good but something is missing”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Well located and free are massive plus points to this museum. Easy to get around and there is a true variety of exhibits. Children from 7 to 10 will get a lot from it by way of its accessibility for sure but there were so many different periods, interests and items jumbled up that I could not really join up Maidstone's history logically and so much of the town's history was not even there. Cannot fault the volunteers and curators but something is missing in comparison to other museums around the country.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mixed opinion”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Maidstone museum is nicely situated in the centre of town and is easy to access and move around. It is free to get in which is a bonus as there is not many very interesting exhibits to see. My wife enjoyed the Victorian clothing displays and I felt that the small regimental museum which had some nice items in it such as the 4 Victoria crosses could have been presented much better.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Markgreen1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maidstone Museum & Bentlif Art Gallery also viewed

Maidstone, Kent
Yalding, Maidstone
 
Maidstone, Kent
 

Been to Maidstone Museum & Bentlif Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing