We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good curry, nice staff & brilliant food”

Shamrat Indian Brasserie
Ranked #36 of 319 Restaurants in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good curry, nice staff & brilliant food”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Fresh, tasty curry & freindly staff. Come here for good indian food at a reasonable price.

The service is relaxed making a nice atmosphere to enjoy a meal with freinds or any other occasion.

Helpful?
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    48
    17
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Top notch Indian”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Decided to try an Indian that was not in Rochester for a change and noticed that the Shamrat had a certificate of excellence for 2014 so decided to give it a go. We went on a Wednesday eve and were surprised to see the restaurant was busy which is usually a good sign, the tables were laid out nicely and well positioned,the staff friendly and attentive.We ordered our starters and were delighted with them they were generous portions and tasted good.There were lots of main courses we had not tried before and we selected one of those and were not disappointed. We received very good service throughout our meal and were even offered a free drink at the end of our meal. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lousy takeaway”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We're keen Indian food lovers and prepare our own as well as having frequented some of the best restaurants n the country (one was Michelin starred) so, being starved of good Indian takeaways/restaurants in Norfolk, when our son moved to Kent we set out to explore.

After trying Coxheath Spice Lounge (superb!) three months ago, we were advised that Shamrat was even better. Time for another takeout.

Oh dear! Rice was over cooked and tasteless. Everything else was a flavourless mush, only the prawn poori starter merited (just) an average rating whilst the main and sides were awful (my wife couldn't finish hers). Side dish portions were miniscule.

Unless takeouts are different from restaurant food (they shouldn't be) this place is to be avoided at all costs.

(The person who, a couple of months ago, recommended Shamrat, did mention two days ago that since then it had gone down hill but we wanted to try it anyway - big mistake.)

If I could have awarded no stars I would have done - AVOID.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mardler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good food & excellent service.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Waiters are very friendly & have sense of humour, very attentive too.
Have been twice in the last month as couldn't believe how good it was the first time, also my partner had his stag do here. Extremely good food.
Very good atmosphere, as always busy & very popular. My favourite Indian restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank crakajaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Moved to Maidstone just over 6 months ago and have been struggling to find a decent curry, after researching online and reading the reviews here , we jumped into the car yesterday and found The Shamrat, the only problem, where can we park? we drove around and around , even tried the 24 hour car park which was closed! We conceded defeat after about half an hour and decided to look for somewhere else to go to eat, what is the point in having a restaurant where there is absolutely nowhere to park .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shamrat Indian Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Shamrat Indian Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing