We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please don't bother.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Please don't bother.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Check in. All good.

Want to have a take away? Don't even try it here.

We were pursued by a rather porky man, forbidding us to eat our own shop bought food in our room, which we had spent over 500£ on.

Rudeness continued as he leered over us, as we ate in the freezing, trash and spare park yard. this was an instruction by this gentlemen, whom was most unpleasant. He proceeded to smoke where we were instructed to eat.

On the plus. Breakfast is great.

Take our advice, best bet is the premier inn, just up the road.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saintofjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ally6969, General Manager at The Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We're sorry about your experience at the hotel with what happened. We have now made it more clear on booking that we don't allow outside food and drink to be brought onto the premises. Due to having our high quality restaurant and very high quality decorated rooms we have to be careful of damage to rooms or property.

Regards
Alastair
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    58
    28
    12
    8
See reviews for
27
76
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this very friendly hotel Thursday night and enjoyed our stay immensely. Our family room was well decorated with a modern contemporary feel with plenty of natural light and enough room to swing a dozen cats!!! On a slight negative note we did find the ensuite very basic with a not quite finished feel , however it was clean and everything worked,
Made very welcome during a stay and a breakfast fit for a king awaited us in the morning, would we stay again ? YES

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ally6969, General Manager at The Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We have a long term plan to improve the rooms even further! Hopefully by the time you come to stay with us again work will be completed. Again we're happy you enjoyed breakfast, we have even recently improved what we offer so already there is more choice!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Regards
Alastair
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

A fantastic find. I have been working on and off in the Mall for fifteen years and stayed at some dreadful places. To find this hotel yards from the centre is brilliant!! Spotlessly clean.
To cap it all a gorgeous looking receptionist checked me in.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redrobboChesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ally6969, General Manager at The Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We value ourselves on our high level of standards and service and are very happy you enjoyed your visit. Next time your with us please inform which receptionist, they are still arguing over who it was!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Regards
Alastair
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have stayed here twice now and both occasions our stay was nothing but a joy.
Locations is central to the town, 1 minute out the front door and you're in the shopping centre or the busy town centre.
The rooms are well presented, very clean, beds are actually comfortable, the rooms especially in the main hotel are all uniquely decorated and styled with great taste.
The restaurant , OMG... Foods is tops , Gareth Cox and his team that create and present the food and menu are worth there weight in gold. Even if you don't stay at the hotel , go to the restaurant... Food is fantastic. Also the bar is stocked with some great beers,wines and spirits not the usual plonk. Check out the cocktails also.
Finally the team who run it can't do enough for you to make the stay nothing but a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ally6969, General Manager at The Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
What can we say but WOW! Such kind comments. We are constantly improving our service and hope next time you'll be even more impressed.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Regards
Alastair
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel has been transformed compared to its previous incarnation. The hotel is very clean with excellent décor throughout. The staff are very friendly, there is a nice little bar and the hotel has an excellent location for central Maidstone.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed at The Townhouse for one night on business. It’s a real find in what is not the prettiest town centre. As someone else has described in a review, it's an oasis of calm, and once you step in off the street you're glad you did.

The style and decor is high quality, both in the reception & dining area and in the room I stayed in. The greeting/service is warm and welcoming, with all the young staff being attentive, helpful and efficient. The bed was extremely comfortable, and in-room toiletries from The White Company were a welcome touch. Parking is literally next door in a multi-storey, and The Townhouse has negotiated a special rate for guests.

Breakfast was a triumph, and great value considering it was included in the £109 room price I paid. There were five cooked choices, plus a continental option. All sounded as delicious as each other: full English, eggs benedict, smoked salmon scrambled eggs, ham & cheese omelette and homemade pancakes. I opted for eggs benedict which was made with prosciutto and a very well made hollandaise. The breakfast really emphasised the foodie credentials of this place, and it would certainly tempt me back for dinner if I was in the area again.

A few minor niggles:
> There was the odour of chip fat throughout when I visited
> The hot tap in the bathroom basin didn’t seem to supply hot water - although thankfully the shower did
> The free wifi wasn’t working during my stay
> The ubiquitous Nescafe sachets and UHT cartons make an appearance in the bedroom - such a shame when you’re paying over £100/night...I wish places like this aiming for the 'boutique' style would offer cafetieres and fresh ground coffee (thankfully the coffee served with breakfast was excellent)
> No water provided in the room - even a bottle of tap water would’ve been a welcome addition

Rectifying some of these niggles would make this place really great and worth the price tag. But overall an excellent little find and I'd certainly stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidC1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night to go to friends party. Lovely room, welcoming reception and great location. Would have been good if breakfast was a little later. 930 is a bit early to stop serving on a Sunday! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#3 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#12 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse Hotel

Property: The Townhouse Hotel
Address: 74 King Street, Maidstone ME14 1BH, England (Formerly King Street Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Townhouse Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse Hotel located in the heart of Maidstone town centre was built in 1802 as a rectory and represents a wonderful example of Georgian architecture. This Grade II listed building has been refurbished, transforming it into Maidstone's first 'Boutique' hotel and restaurant. Offering 17 stunning rooms and an exemplary restaurant The Townhouse can cater for almost all your needs.The Townhouse Restaurant is our stunning and highly rated fine dining restaurant. The new head chef uses only the best of local and seasonal produce to create innovative and unique dishes as well as some tried and tested classics (with a little twist of his own).The Townhouse Hotel is close to County Hall, Kent archives, Leeds Castle, Hever Castle, Mote Park, Hop Farm Family Park, Hop Farm, Archbishop's Palace, Maidstone Hospital and County Court, All Saints Church and Vintners Park. We are also within walking distance of The Orangery, Turkey Mill for guests who are attending weddings and functions there. The Townhouse Hotel is also ideal for anyone who likes to be close to all the restaurants, pubs, theaters, cinemas, bus and train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Street Maidstone
The Townhouse Hotel Maidstone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing