We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and comfortable with the best hosts”
Review of Wealden Hall

Wealden Hall
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wealden Hall
Ranked #8 of 27 Maidstone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I booked Wealden Hall for my girlfriend and I (26 & 27) to get out of London, and into the countryside for the weekend.

With nothing planned except for fresh air and an evening in the local pub, we just wanted to relax. On arrival Jacqui and John made us feel at home with tea and cake. They informed us of local attractions and even gave us a lift to one (Kent Life - great for farm animals and Kent history). They were always on hand to help, and allowed us our personal time and space where we could unwind. The breakfast was amazing, their 2 dogs are brilliant and John was more than happy to let us run around the garden with their pig Carly. The local pub couldn't seat us so we walked the mile to The Black Horse. Food was amazing and the staff really helpful.

The room was really comfortable and the bathroom amazing. We loved our "Pig-view" room :)

All in all a cracking stay away from home. It was even Mother's Day sunday and they didn't make us feel unwelcome. Entirely the opposite in fact, where they went above and beyond the service of which most people wouldn't do, never mind our B&B hosts. I won't go into detail, but it saved us a whole lot of bother, and we won't forget it. Thank you guys.

5*

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Wealden Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed at Wealden Hall the night before a trip to France on Eurotunnel. Very warm welcome with tea and homemade cake and immediately made to feel at home by Jacqui and John.
Beautiful room, spotlessly clean with superb large bathroom . Short walk to local pub which serves food but decided to eat at Oak on the Green at next village which was excellent. Breakfast was exceptional with homemade bread and full English was very tasty and made from fresh local produce. Looking forward to return visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M5bow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

If you're looking for a luxury stay this is it. We stayed for three days and had a very warm welcome from Jacqui and John. Breakfast was a joy. Home made marmalade, eggs from their own chickens. My wife said that Jacqui pandered to my every whim providing me with smoked haddock on two days, my favourite.

Our room was first class, with a lovely big modern bathroom.
What more could you want?

Pat and Bill

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We received a very warm welcome from Jacqui and John. Nothing was too much trouble. Excellent breakfast. Jacqui even made me some special spelt bread when I said I had wheat intolerance! Good location - a short walk to the local pub which serves good food and excellent beer. The cats were an extra bonus - competing for laps when we were sitting by the pool. Lovely garden/grounds overlooking open countryside.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anddid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Enjoyed a brilliant stay at Wealden Hall on way to Le Tunnel. Hosts John and Jacqui could not have been more hospitable and helpful, with offer of tea or coffee on arrival and use of the swimming pool if we wanted. This place really has everything you need. Lovely bedroom with huge en-suite bath and shower room. They clearly care about the service they give and the quality of the food they serve for breakfast. Has to be the best breakfast we have had at a b&b. Sausages from their pigs which they keep in their garden, and eggs from their own chickens, with a breakfast menu so you can choose which items you want. Plenty of parking and a couple of decent pubs within walking distance. The cock horse inn is in Detling, just a 2 minute walk from Wealden Hall and does food and decent real ales. We ate at the black horse inn in Turnham which is more of an eating pub, but is about a 20 minute walk along pilgrims way. If you are going to walk there in the evening definitely take a torch as the road is narrow. Overall a very pleasant stay and we will definitely visit again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

For those of you in a rush to read through the reviews......In a single word "outstanding". The welcome is genuinly warm, the room(s) fantastic and the breakfast bursting with flavour as its all locally sourced literally from their own pigs and chickens. Real value for money.

For those of you who are reading at a more leisurely pace........ You can not go wrong in choosing Wealden hall b&b.

We were visiting the area to exhibit at the Kent show. We were let down by our original accommodation who cancelled due to a family emergency the night before our booking was due to commence,( wife fell down the steps and broke her hip) so a frantic search led me to me sending a....."I don't suppose you have a room for 3-4 nights starting tomorrow" e- mail to a number of hotels and b&bs in a 10 mile radius.

The reply from Jacqui was warm and sympathetic and told us that if we didn't mind switching rooms during our stay, due to previous bookings, we could be accommodated. We arrived to a very warm welcome, tea cake and sympathy. There was a lovely surprise when we saw our room, sofa and tv! Soothing lilac colour scheme, the most comfortable bed ever and a fab bathroom. During our stay, when we switched to the rose room and had an even bigger bathroom and even more comfortable bed I thought I had died and gone to heaven! ( and not just because I got a fab nights sleep after standing for 10 hours on an exhibition stand) a peaceful, rural location, gallons of hot water for the soak in the bath and the flexibility of Jaqcui and John in our early departure and late arrivals back each day,made it a really lovely stay.

The watsons have an interesting collection of animals...... Meep the whippet ( or is he a greyhound) that sleeps all day! Two cats ( Watson with 3 legs and Pablo who is very sociable when he feels like it) we met Phoebe the huge pig and her 20+ piglets and the chickens with a cockerel with half a crow in the mornings ( cocker - doooo without the doodle ! ) I can only assume that visitors with small children would love meeting these animals as I certainly did!

The Wealden Hall B&B isn't just a B&B it's a warm family experience, with lovely hosts, lovely rooms, lovely breakfast and the feeling that you really ARE welcome into their home.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here overnight on the way home from a week in France and were totally blown away by the welcome we recieved. Jacqui had the kettle on almost before we were out of the car and produced home made cake to go with it too. We visited the local pub within easy walking distance for a nice relaxed evening meal and walked back to find our hosts were going out with friends and were happy to leave us alone in their home! At the rear of the house the view is spectacular with views down the valley as far as Leeds Castle and they have chickens and pigs. A nice comfortable night after watching Team GB winning SIX gold medals at the Olympics was followed by a super breakfast featurin fresh eggs and home reared pork for the sausages and bacon washed down by as much real coffee as we could drink.
All I can say is, If you want a bed & breakfast in this area dont miss this one!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
0.8 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
570 reviews
1.6 mi away
Detling Coachhouse
Detling Coachhouse
#10 of 17 in Maidstone
221 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#9 of 17 in Maidstone
1,616 reviews
5.2 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 17 in Maidstone
1,769 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wealden Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wealden Hall

Address: Wealden Hall Pilgrims Way | Detling, Maidstone ME14 3JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Maidstone
Hotel Class:4 star — Wealden Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wealden Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wealden Hall Maidstone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing