We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont leave anything in the room behind you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Maidstone
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dont leave anything in the room behind you”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

i left my phone on the bed and checked out. i rang the hotel 2 hours later and spoke to housekeeping and they said they found nothing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joh n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    491
    312
    123
    87
See reviews for
267
658
59
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

WOW! what a fantastic place, superb gym, great pool with steam sauna. The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable. The staff couldn't be more helpful and the food was delicious. The waiter that served us answered any questions we had and nothing was too much trouble, AND we were offered the chance to upgrade our meal to include a bottle of wine for £7. Where can you get a bottle for £7 in any hotel. Great nights sleep and the breakfast was a real winner. I would jump at the chance to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed at this hotel for two nights last weekend. Room warm, clean and spacious. Staff all extremely friendly. Food exceptional value - three courses with plenty of choice for £10.95! (This is for early diners - before 7pm which suits us fine.) In fact cannot fault it and wrote to hotel manager to say how impressed we were!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemaryread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We used the hotel as an overnight stay enroute to Eurotunnel. For this it was very convenient. I'd assumed that staying at The Village would be a cut above Premier Inn etc, but was disappointed in a few of the small touches that weren't attended to.
Despite booking the hotel for 2 person occupancy, we received only 1 bathtowel and when we came to shower the following morning, we discovered the shower-gel cannister was empty.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I stayed at Maidstone Village for 3.5 weeks... a very long business trip. The best part about this hotel was the bed! Coming home after 12 hour work days and laying in that comfortable bed was amazing, very airy with lots of pillows; felt like sleeping on a cloud. I've traveled quite a bit in Europe and must say, the room was a nice size. Not too small as some rooms can be. The room was very comfortable with a very nice bathroom. The food at this hotel was just OK. Although I did lie the fact that there was a Starbucks in the lobby! Lastly, the location was pretty nice as well. There is a mall and pharmacy nearby and you could also access Kent attractions pretty easily. Overall, this is a nice hotel... did I mention the beds were super comfortable :-) ?

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamaicanGyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is the only hotel I have used where the check in time is delayed until 3pm !! - however if you want the room earlier it magically becomes available on payment of a further £10. WHAT A SCAM THIS IS !! Also they didn't mention the loud music from the wedding reception party when we checked in that went on until 1 am to ensure an awful nights sleep!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Checked in last night and as I have stayed in various Village Hotels around the country, I was expecting a good standard (previously stayed in Elstree and Solihull) both of these are excellent for customer service and room standards.

This is obviously an older Hotel, by the condition of the room I would guess this was bought from Premier Inn or Holiday Inn Express and they have re-branded.

The check in was great, lobby and reception were OK. receptionist was friendly and prompt.

Arrival in the room spolied the trip for me, not only did the room have no Air con and was uncomfortably hot the room was dirty and obviously not cleaned to a good standard. there was a build up of dust and dirt on all skirting boards, the carpet was old and tired and the furniture was ready for changing and the areas that were not easily reached had a layer of dust and dirt where they had obvioulsy done a "quick clean"

The bathroom was also unclean, the sink, toilet and bath was OK but again, it was clear that they had limited time to clean each room as every corner had a build up of dust and grime and the tops of the tiles hadn't been wiped for a very long time.

As said, this is not up to the normal Village standards I have experienced elsewhere in the chain, It would of been a little more acceptable if the rooms were cheaper than normal Village hotels but this was the same price that we have paid for a far superior hotel in another part of the country.

Village hotels, this hotel is letting you down and I personally won't book this hotel again.

BTW, I also find your smoking policy "Customer un-friendly" there are a percentage of people who still smoke and your zero tollerance approach is not delivering a great customer experience. you should have 5-10 rooms dedicated to smokers, My bet is that these rooms would always be full and you may solve your noise issues as mentioned in other reviews...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grapesmugglers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
1.6 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Maidstone

Property: Village Hotel Maidstone
Address: Hotel Maidstone Forstal Road | Castle View, Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AQ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Maidstone)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Maidstone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Maidstone is situated close to the River Medway and is perfectly located to explore Kent and beyond. From shopping at Bluewater to a trip to see the animals at Hop Farm Country Park; from a walk along the new Millennium riverside pathway or a trip back in time to the Museum of Kent Life or Leeds Castle, you'll find everything on your doorstep. Village Urban Resort Maidstone has 122 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Maidstone
Village Hotel Leisure Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing