We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal stop over hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Maidstone
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal stop over hotel”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We just go home from a one night stop in the Village Maidstone. I booked one upper deck double and 2 family rooms. I think that Village have hit the sweet spot. Great location just off the M20, smart clean room with comfy beds. Free wifi and a Starbucks. The breakfast was superb, staff were excellent. Overall a super stay, just like it was this time last year, well done Village, see you again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    533
    331
    133
    94
See reviews for
291
711
61
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Despite a few flaws this is one of my favourite hotels but occasionally it forgets its responsibilities towards residents.

My wife and I checked in on a Friday for 3 nights to be told (for the first time) the hotel had Christmas party nights on and both restaurants were 'out of bounds' for residents. We could have room service if we wished but if we wanted a drink we had to go to a specially set up bar but could not drink there and would have to take it back to the front lounge to consume.

The party night was soon in full swing, as it was on the following Saturday night. To get a quick drink we had to get past bouncers (sorry, stewards) and in doing so felt like minor criminals.

At no point did management apologise for the serious inconvenience of not having anywhere to have dinner in-house, or offer compensation of any sort. The idea of having room service was accompanied by the belief that, with hundreds upon hundreds of outsiders in the hotel, a meal was likely to take a very, very long time to arrive.

To be fair, at my request we were given a room well away from the noise and our sleep was not disturbed.

I really like this hotel. It's good quality, good value, the staff are generally friendly (give or take the odd one or two reception or restaurant staff who look as if they'd sooner be at home doing the ironing), the Victory pub staff couldn't be nicer and the pool and leisure centre are excellent. The breakfasts are copious, if predictable, and set you up for a good part of the day.

But it needs to sort out its ridiculously patchy wi-fi.

And £9.90 for a large glass of Sauvignon Blanc?! This is taking liberties to extreme.

And management should remember who pays most of its bills throughout the year: residents, especially regular ones.

Room Tip: If there's a party night on make sure you're well away from it - and when you book as if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaselinerGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Went along to a christmas party and stayed at the Village as it was paid for by the business so we stayed. Average best describes this place staff were keen but just not enough of them to cope.

Food was average and breakfast was bordering on freezing, again just not enough staff.

Leisure facilities were good though and the gym and pool complex is good.

If its paid for again i would use it but not out of my pocket.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpencerNegus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Sunday lunch is a carvery which is all right but nothing special. The roast meats didn't look particularly inviting so I asked for fish but apparently that had to be ordered in advance. The brussel sprouts were horrible - all watery and tasteless, although the other vegetables were reasonable. Staff are friendly and helpful but in no way can this place be described as a 'dining experience'. The soup was good and the desserts were tasty. Drinks are quite pricey. The hotel is set right beside the M20 so not somewhere you would go for a pretty or a quiet location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val1945181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The cleaning staff walking in without knocking to see me stood naked totally sums up how utterly rubbish De Vere Village Hotel, Maidstone actually is! Awful!!!!!
Moved rooms 3 times due to broken things,
Changed keys 4 times due to new locks not working,
builders installing locks with hammers, chisels and routers at 0830 in the morning,
Unhelpful and rude staff,
Breakfast finishing before the stated time and when i asked for a bacon sandwich was told there was a starbucks near by,
Coming back to the room to find the cleaners cleaning the room - asking them to give me 10 mins to get changed and she says no you can wait i'll only be 5 minutes,
Staff going through the fire exit at the end of the corridor to go have a fag at all times of the day and night and letting it slam shut,
Being kicked out the bar before time to sit in reception with our drinks,
Oh and to sum up their uniform looks laughable at best !

In short stay elsewhere, The Tudor Park Marriot up the road is very good indeed! This place is worse than a traveloge in blackpool on a friday night !

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linaj001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Booked in here by my employers recently for a six-day stint. On checking the website, it looks a fairly good hotel with the weight of the De Vere name behind it. In reality it is quite a clinical looking building resembling something of a shopping centre with lots of rooms attached to it. There is a coffee shop just off one side of reception, and a Steakhouse and separate bar off to the other side.
First impressions? A bit of an upmarket Travelodge / Premier Inn with a hideously expensive bar (£29 for a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc?). They also do food which is typically overpriced (£11 for burger/fries) which to be fair though was quite tasty.
I do have to say that the staff were some of the friendliest and helpful people that I have come across, and it is solely because of them that I would give this place a 3 star rating instead of a 2. The rooms are fair, the beds are comfortable (but then so are Premier Inn's) but the ridiculous prices in the bar / restaurant are completely out of place for a hotel of this standard. Myself and my colleagues ended up buying food from local supermarkets and consuming them in our rooms rather than have to pay what would be by London standards, expensive.
I would definitely stay here again but I'm afraid the boot of my car would be stocked up with much finer (and cheaper) wines than those that are on offer at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed here for 3 weeks during October and my stay was OK.
Its not the most luxurious place to stay, but you get what you pay for.
The room rate is priced on the room, not per person which makes it good value.
The rooms are functional, maintained well and very clean.
The hotel is a very busy place, boasting a restaurant (very good food and popular for the Sunday Buffet), a pub (several screens for sport, good food and choice of beer), and a Starbucks.
In addition there are several function rooms etc, a Gym and a 25m pool.
It’s the first time I have been back in this Gym, since I was a member in 2007 and it is looking a bit tired, some of the equipment does need replacing/updating and it does get congested at peak times.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Froggy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
2.6 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,555 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.0 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#12 of 15 in Maidstone
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#13 of 15 in Maidstone
172 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
557 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Maidstone Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Maidstone

Property: Village Hotel Maidstone
Address: Hotel Maidstone Forstal Road | Castle View, Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AQ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Maidstone)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Maidstone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Maidstone is situated close to the River Medway and is perfectly located to explore Kent and beyond. From shopping at Bluewater to a trip to see the animals at Hop Farm Country Park; from a walk along the new Millennium riverside pathway or a trip back in time to the Museum of Kent Life or Leeds Castle, you'll find everything on your doorstep. Village Urban Resort Maidstone has 122 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Maidstone
Village Hotel Leisure Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing