We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic New Year's Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Maidstone
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is the 2nd year we have been to this hotel for New Year's Eve and have to say it was brilliant. The waiting staff ( all young people) were helpful, polite and looked after us all evening. We thought the food was good last year but it was even better this time. We booked a package which included room, breakfast and the evening dinner and disco. We feel it was good value for money and will certainly be spending New Year there again.
Many,many thanks and a very happy new year to all the staff

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,768)
There are newer reviews for Village Hotel Maidstone
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,497 - 1,503 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay. We were a party of 17 including 2 children. Arrived early and we checked in with no problems. Reception staff very helpful.

The rooms were very clean, beds comfy. We were next to the road, but were not disturbed by traffic noise.

The breakfast was superb and all the staff were very polite and obliging.

The bar was quite pricey, but not as dear as some hotels we have stayed in. The bar food was nice as well. There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance, which catered for our large party as the hotel restaurant was shut the two nights we were there.

The leisure facilites are lovely. The swimming pool was big and the sauna, steam rooms and jacussi were well used by all of us. The gym was well equipped, but we didn't use it.

There is a lovely walk into Maidstone town by the River Medway, but this was quited flooded when we did it. This would be lovely in the spring and summer.

We had a great stay and are planning to go back at Easter.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiggyChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We just go home from a one night stop in the Village Maidstone. I booked one upper deck double and 2 family rooms. I think that Village have hit the sweet spot. Great location just off the M20, smart clean room with comfy beds. Free wifi and a Starbucks. The breakfast was superb, staff were excellent. Overall a super stay, just like it was this time last year, well done Village, see you again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Despite a few flaws this is one of my favourite hotels but occasionally it forgets its responsibilities towards residents.

My wife and I checked in on a Friday for 3 nights to be told (for the first time) the hotel had Christmas party nights on and both restaurants were 'out of bounds' for residents. We could have room service if we wished but if we wanted a drink we had to go to a specially set up bar but could not drink there and would have to take it back to the front lounge to consume.

The party night was soon in full swing, as it was on the following Saturday night. To get a quick drink we had to get past bouncers (sorry, stewards) and in doing so felt like minor criminals.

At no point did management apologise for the serious inconvenience of not having anywhere to have dinner in-house, or offer compensation of any sort. The idea of having room service was accompanied by the belief that, with hundreds upon hundreds of outsiders in the hotel, a meal was likely to take a very, very long time to arrive.

To be fair, at my request we were given a room well away from the noise and our sleep was not disturbed.

I really like this hotel. It's good quality, good value, the staff are generally friendly (give or take the odd one or two reception or restaurant staff who look as if they'd sooner be at home doing the ironing), the Victory pub staff couldn't be nicer and the pool and leisure centre are excellent. The breakfasts are copious, if predictable, and set you up for a good part of the day.

But it needs to sort out its ridiculously patchy wi-fi.

And £9.90 for a large glass of Sauvignon Blanc?! This is taking liberties to extreme.

And management should remember who pays most of its bills throughout the year: residents, especially regular ones.

Room Tip: If there's a party night on make sure you're well away from it - and when you book as if you...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaselinerGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Went along to a christmas party and stayed at the Village as it was paid for by the business so we stayed. Average best describes this place staff were keen but just not enough of them to cope.

Food was average and breakfast was bordering on freezing, again just not enough staff.

Leisure facilities were good though and the gym and pool complex is good.

If its paid for again i would use it but not out of my pocket.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpencerNegus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Sunday lunch is a carvery which is all right but nothing special. The roast meats didn't look particularly inviting so I asked for fish but apparently that had to be ordered in advance. The brussel sprouts were horrible - all watery and tasteless, although the other vegetables were reasonable. Staff are friendly and helpful but in no way can this place be described as a 'dining experience'. The soup was good and the desserts were tasty. Drinks are quite pricey. The hotel is set right beside the M20 so not somewhere you would go for a pretty or a quiet location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val1945181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The cleaning staff walking in without knocking to see me stood naked totally sums up how utterly rubbish De Vere Village Hotel, Maidstone actually is! Awful!!!!!
Moved rooms 3 times due to broken things,
Changed keys 4 times due to new locks not working,
builders installing locks with hammers, chisels and routers at 0830 in the morning,
Unhelpful and rude staff,
Breakfast finishing before the stated time and when i asked for a bacon sandwich was told there was a starbucks near by,
Coming back to the room to find the cleaners cleaning the room - asking them to give me 10 mins to get changed and she says no you can wait i'll only be 5 minutes,
Staff going through the fire exit at the end of the corridor to go have a fag at all times of the day and night and letting it slam shut,
Being kicked out the bar before time to sit in reception with our drinks,
Oh and to sum up their uniform looks laughable at best !

In short stay elsewhere, The Tudor Park Marriot up the road is very good indeed! This place is worse than a traveloge in blackpool on a friday night !

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels are great !
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linaj001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
2.6 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#9 of 17 in Maidstone
1,615 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Maidstone Central
Travelodge Maidstone Central
#11 of 17 in Maidstone
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#15 of 17 in Maidstone
374 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
570 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Maidstone

Address: Hotel Maidstone Forstal Road | Castle View, Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AQ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Maidstone)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Maidstone
Price Range: £52 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Maidstone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Maidstone is situated close to the River Medway and is perfectly located to explore Kent and beyond. From shopping at Bluewater to a trip to see the animals at Hop Farm Country Park; from a walk along the new Millennium riverside pathway or a trip back in time to the Museum of Kent Life or Leeds Castle, you'll find everything on your doorstep. Village Urban Resort Maidstone has 122 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Maidstone
Village Hotel Leisure Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing