We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate but a little expensive for what it is” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Maidstone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Village Hotel Maidstone
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Adequate but a little expensive for what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Not the sort of place we'd normally choose but it was booked for us as part of a family event. My hear sank when we arrived at what looks like a Tesco but in fairness the staff were efficient and helpful and the room was spotlessly clean and perfectly adequate if all you are looking for is a place to lay your head. Breakfast was good. There was no mini bar or safe in the room. It all felt rather soulless and I thought a little expensive. Some of the clientele were noticeably downmarket. As I said adequate if all you want is a bed for the night. Look elsewhere however if you like a hotel with a bit more style.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    453
    295
    119
    83
See reviews for
242
599
54
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel was ok but you would probably get a better room for a cheaper price at the premiere in that is next door to the hotel. If you are only looking for a room dont stay here. If you plan to use the leasure centre then it is very good except for the poor quality gym equiptment. The rooms are ok but not worth the price. The walls in the hotel are very thin so you can here the slightest noises, and also the bars are very loud but when we askes the hotel staff to have the noised turned down they did nothing and we were kept up till about 03:00 then to be woken up 4 hours later by someones alarm from down the corridor. I was not impressed by the hotel and thought that it was extremely over priced for the quality that you are given. Stay at the premiere in.

Helpful?
Thank Wtw1998
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here on the way to France last Sunday using the complimentary night we received for the poor time we had at the Liverpool Urban Resort.
Nice welcome at reception on arrival, lady explained the meal times and facilities to us.

Had meal in the Victory Pub and it was way better than our previous offering, but still overpriced for average pub food.

Nice clean room and public areas, good parking and well located for motorway.

Breakfast was fine at least food was hot.

Overall visit was satisfactory but not special.

Room Tip: try for one at back as rooms are so hot you will want a window open and front rooms overlook a busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stay at the Village hotel for work only when my normal hotel is full. Well Monday night was a reminder not to leave it to the last minute next time.
The staff on check in were pleasant as normal, the rooms ok ,and dinner uninspiring, so far just over priced normal average chain hotel.
But this Monday the hotel had a large private party staying. When I and my 3 colleagues went to bed at 11.00 all was quiet. At 12.30 it all kicked off outside with rowdy very drunk smokers outside my window. I rang down at 01.00 to complain and then agin at 02.00 nothing seemed to change at 02.30 the corridors became a war zone with screaming, shouting and doors slamming until 03.30.
I heard normal guests asking for peace only to be threatened.
In the morning I complained at reception to the night porters who while being polite,had nothing to say but that they were sorry and that the Police had been called 3 times to the hotel that night and that this only happens at the weekends normally !!!!.
I asked for the General mangers number to make a complaint to. I have called over 10 times and she has never answered her phone.
With a large number of complaints and the Police been called 3 times I can not understand why they did not shut the bar and throw the disruptive guests out of the hotel.

A night not to remember.

Room Tip: Never have a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCMB1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped for one night on the way home from the Continent via the Eurotunnel,very easy to find just off the M20.
The welcome at Reception was warm and inviting and check in was handled very professionally.
The room was exactly as ordered although a little too warm,it was clean and tidy and had all the amenities required.We ate in the Restaurant that evening and again the service was very good and attentive.The food came quickly and efficiently and was of a very good quality .Breakfast the following morning was again hot and plentiful ,all in all an excellent stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Our checkin was very quick , by lovely friendly staff - our room was spotless and I am a very fussy picky person !! A little bit hot at night but this was sorted by a huge fan already in the room - very comfy bed and overall a very pleasant stay and can't wait to stay again -

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michellemaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a Village Urban resort and so you can expect all of the usual facilities and finery that brings with it. However, unusually for this brand I had THE most uncomfortable bed ever. Not only was the king size bed two singles joined together with a ridge between them, but they were both lumpy and unforgiving. I woke with a backache from hell. A descent hotel otherwise.

Room Tip: Avoid room 117
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
1.8 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Maidstone

Property: Village Hotel Maidstone
Address: Hotel Maidstone Forstal Road | Castle View, Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AQ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Maidstone)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Maidstone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Maidstone is situated close to the River Medway and is perfectly located to explore Kent and beyond. From shopping at Bluewater to a trip to see the animals at Hop Farm Country Park; from a walk along the new Millennium riverside pathway or a trip back in time to the Museum of Kent Life or Leeds Castle, you'll find everything on your doorstep. Village Urban Resort Maidstone has 122 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Village Hotel Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Maidstone
Village Hotel Leisure Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing