We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good family fun & a great gym - Highly recommended!”

Maidstone Leisure Centre
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good family fun & a great gym - Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We come here regularly with the kids, but also have memberships of the gym. The kids use the diving boards, swimming pools and soft play area, which are excellent. The changing rooms are always kept clean and during school holidays they run some really excellent activities such as pet shows and have mascot characters wandering around. It's well worth a trip as you can make a day of it and go into Mote Park next door. My Wife and I use the gym regularly which whilst a little hidden away is probably the best we have found in Maidstone and is excellent value.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Underground_Hero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    42
    19
    27
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great for children , good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

My 4 year old has attended swimming lessons here for a year now.
He really enjoys it and he has built up a really high level of confidence in the water. Karen and the man that does the lessons with her (sorry I don't know your name)! Are fantastic with them.
If you sign up to the yearly direct debit at about £16 a month you also get a weeks crash course in the summer.

The changing facilities are good although you do find people using the large cubicles designed for people with young children that don't need to use them which is frustrating.
Unfortunately I would say the nappy bins aren't changed regularly enough. It is very warm in the change areas for a good reason but then does make the bins very unpleasant quite quickly!

The leisure pool is full of floats and boats for children to play on so lots if interaction to keep them entertained. There is a baby pool that doesn't seem to ever be open. There are lots of water jets whales squirting water and a wave machine. Also it has a graded entrance to the pool so children can walk in confidently rather than being plopped in out of their depth. So if you wish you don't need to put arm bands on your child.

There is a large fitness pool and diving boards too.

I do think the value for money is very good as its a lot cheaper than Larkfield that has no where near the amount of facilities or fun pools.

The tea coffee and food is at the standard you would expect for a leisure centre! Not that great but ok.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KateLHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb swimming fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

Haven't been here for a while lots of new touches inc kids lazy river and young swimming play area which is warm, nice floats, loud music,good showers, impressive fountain s and water jets..it's very clean!! Dive off the top board and big pool for sensible swimming , the other pool for younger people.. If your little ones get out early there's a indoor " junglejims" style play area..All very good we will be back!
Only two minor negatives , jacuzzi wasn't bubbling and you can't go down the flume together but you could easily spend a lot of time up here!!!
Price £6 adults, junior s £4 and under5s £1.20, it's pretty good price for what's there ..
Good viewing area with food and drink , prefect to keep an eye on the kiddile winks..

Helpful?
3 Thank FrankMiall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for all leisure needs/”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Fab for swimming for all the family, a diving pool too if thats tickles your fancy and also handy for the childrens soft play which we use quite often!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bigbloomerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice swim, bad food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

I have been here many times, I love the pools and water slides, however for once we decided to have food here. The chips where cold and most food unavailable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bunny5770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maidstone Leisure Centre also viewed

 
Maidstone, Kent
Maidstone, Kent
 

Been to Maidstone Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing