We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Rouge

Cafe Rouge
Ranked #100 of 307 Restaurants in Maidstone
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Situated a short walk away from the River Medway, Café Rouge Maidstone serves a delicious menu of French food all day long. Drop by for a coffee and croissant, baguette, salad, steak and much more. The uniquely designed Maidstone Museum - Maidstone's most popular tourist attraction - is located nearby.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Lunch out usually two or three times a week, throughout the country, and I would have to say that lunching here today with my daughter and grandchildren has to be one of the worst possible experiences I have had. Have also lunched here several times but today hit rock bottom. Should possibly have been forewarned by the fact that the elderly couple sitting on the next table gave up waiting to be served after 10 minutes and walked out. As a starter ordered the shared board but after trying to cut into one of the chorizo sausages which was so cold and rock hard it went pinging off to the other side of the restaurant and then after failing to bite into one of the olives my attempts to draw this to the attention ofthe waitress was met with a snooty reply ''they have to be refrigerated'. Yes, dear, we know that but surely you should be able to bite into an olive!
Main course was served, which was fine, but when I wanted another drink was finally forced to go to the bar myself when surprise, surprise, there was nobody present.
Subsequently mentioned to the waitress that they appear to be understaffed which she readily agreed with stating that as it had been quiet earlier on they had sent the other staff home. Perhaps they should have made a call and asked them to get back sharpish.
As mentioned previously I have lunched here several times before and have found some of the staff to be friendly and helpful. They were not present today.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    85
    36
    27
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An ok restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

The restaurant had a nice menu. However there were a few children running around the restaurant. although I don't mind children it's not what you want when you're trying to have a quiet meal with your husband. The food was nicely served and the price was not too bad.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank milou_430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. Wales
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food, slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

The staff were very friendly, but service took ages. There was a bit of a mix up with our order, which resulted in a longer wait, but the staff were very good about it. The food was very good indeed, but in keeping with the French theme, we waited a long time in between courses, and by the time we were offered the dessert menu I just wanted to pay the bill and go! The staff were very helpful and friendly, and I would go again, but would hope for slightly quicker service!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mamoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant, shame about the minute steak.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I've been to the Café Rouge many times, the atmosphere is always good, the staff are friendly and efficient and the food is usually a very high standard.
This particular time I had half a chicken which was lovely, my son a minute steak. He complained it was chewy and he wasn't able to swallow it. So I gave him what was left of my chicken and I took his plate, thinking he just wasn't chewing well enough.
I'm afraid to say he was right. I chewed and chewed and the meat just seemed to be collecting itself into an un-swallowable ball. The napkin was put to use.
But usually the food is lovely, it's my fav restuarant. Next time I will be avoiding the minute steak.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Came here for dinner on the weekend as part of a group and had a fantastic time. Service was spot on and the food was delicious. Good mix of couples and groups in so a great atmosphere. Definitely one of the best cafe rouges I've been in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rockyandoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Rouge also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing