We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place to stay!”
Review of Maidens Tower B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maidstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maidens Tower B&B
Ranked #12 of 27 Maidstone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in The Maidens Tower for my husband's birthday and it was wonderful. The rooms have obviously been renovated in recent years and have been done very sympathetically retaining great character. It was pouring with rain when we arrived so the receptionist kindly drove us to our room and picked us up again to take us to the restaurant. Otherwise, it's a five minute walk which is no problem because you can take in the wonderful views along the way! We enjoyed our dinner, it wasn't particularly fancy but the food and service were very good.
Waking up the next morning to the castle right outside our window was really special and it was lovely to have a wander around the grounds before it was open to the public. We also had a look inside the castle as that was included in the price of the room.
A very memorable stay, I would highly recommend, especially if you're looking for something a bit
different from a normal hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mouflon75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed in the Princess Isabella room in the Maiden's Castle. A beautiful room with splendid views. The rooms have everything you need including hair dryers, iron and ironing board, iPhone doc/charger, water and L'Occitaine bath products! The bathroom was lovely, with deep bath and huge shower. the leaded windows and studded oak doors gave great atmospher to the room. Only downside was having to leave your room for tea making facilities, which were communal and a hand basin tap that showered you whenever you used it! The staff everywhere went out of their way to help you and all seemed happy in their work and proud of their castle. A very special weekend retreat.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Booked the Maidens Tower at Leeds Castle through Secret Escapes as a birthday present for my partner. It is a beautiful setting and she was overjoyed when we drove up the long drive to the reception. We were early so we walked around the castle and had lunch in the Fairfax restuarant.
It was beautiful, and all the staff were saying how lucky we were to be staying in the Maidens Tower, and how fabulous the view was. When we went back to the reception we were met by the manager, Mark who said that there was a party downstairs that night in the Maiden tower and if it was too noisy, to let him know and he would put us in a Stable Room. We were driven up there and it was as everyone had been saying. One of the ten best views in the world. We had only been there 5 minutes and the manager came back and said we would have to move as the party downstairs had booked exclusivity for the Tower. We were frog marched out again in front of all the tourists and guests and driven to what was a Stable room. The magic had gone by then and we said we would rather go home and forget it. mark showed us a self catering cottage on the estate, but completely out of view of the Castle. We said No. and left. Secret Escapes phoned that evening when we got home and said we would get a refund plus £25 goodwill gesture. We could not care less by then the day was ruined. Leeds castle and Secret Escapes had failed in every way.
P.S Secret Escapes forgot about the Goodwill gesture. I never did see the £25.00.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank freespiritashford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Leeds castle is truly a very special and beautiful castle, we booked to stay in the Maidens Tower of which there are only 5 individual rooms accessed on first floor by an exceptional old staircase.Our room was the " Joan of Navarre" room (she was Henry IV second wife until she was accused of trying to "do him in! " using foul Wyche craft). The room was large with views across the moat and into the woods. The bathroom had a large bath,almost a plunge pool!! if you can get your legs over the high sides!! and the most stupid wash basin I have ever encountered, it was square with with a depth of 2inches with the overflow at 1!!so useless to fill with water for a proper wash or shave and being so shallow shot water everywhere even when using gently.There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room so had to go to central point in the hall where a kettle was shared between the 5 rooms!!fun in the mornings I think not! the restaurant served many functions during the day and evenings, catering at all times was excellent although,because its a large impressive barn, there was no atmosphere at night, so we had dressed up for the occasion but as is so often the case these everyone else was casual even to the many jean/teashirt brigade! such a shame, obviously an age thing!!having said all that, it was truly not to be misssed, the staff at all times were all without exception very helpful and friendly and full marks to them all,a final point if you are lucky to stay in the Maidens Tower or one of the rooms on the "island" then remember it can be a long walk across the causeway to the restaurant or reception especially on cold wet or windy nights,and as for any young thing wanting a Special venue for a wedding then they really roll the carpet out to make things special,and not as expensive as you might think!!! Well done Leeds castle for making another unforgettable memory in lifes journey.

Room Tip: Take earplugs for a good nights sleep as the swans,ducks and geese are very audible even into the ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We arrived at Leeds Castle on a miserable wet day but our room in the Maidens Tower made up for it. We stayed in the Isabella of France room. It overlooks the castle, grounds and moat. The main room (bedroom) is extremley large and so is the seperate bathroom, which has a funny shaped bath and a large seperate shower. The room itself has everything you could ask for. You are unable to park directly at the maidens tower, so I suggest packing a small overnight bag instead of a normal suitcase. You park and take breakfast near the stable courtyards a 5 min walk away. As it was raining when we checked in we were driven to the room by staff. As it was a Monday night there was no dining available on site but we drove no more than 5 minutes to a lovely inn.

Room Tip: I think any room in the maidens tower would be nice. We stayed in the Isabella of France room overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewolf20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We spent one night here in Maidens Tower for our 28th wedding anniversary. It was a fantastic weekend. The weather was even on our side. Our room was excellent, and the location amazing. The only shame was that you had to leave the room to make tea/coffee, there were no facilities in the room. The view was wonderful, and we really felt privileged to be there.
Highly recommended for a romantic weekend :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Undeniably an outstanding location. We stayed in the Catherine De Valois room, sunlight streaming through the windows, overlooking the front of the castle, moat and golf course through one, a view of the gatehouse and Maiden’s tower garden through another. Beautiful!

The staff, from reception, to the restaurant and especially the castle guides were of a very good quality, courteous, friendly and knowledgeable. The audio tour of the castle is worth doing as it puts the period rooms which range from medieval times to the 1950s into context.

The accommodation was to a high standard, although tea and coffee making facilities were located in a communal area on the landing, these would be better placed within our own room. It’s a shame there is no service within the Maidens tower, a ¼ mile walk to the restaurant for breakfast is not what you expect at £260 per night.

If, like us you are able to negotiate a better price then I would highly recommend the Maidens Tower. It is undeniably a fabulous place to stay, and who could not be seduced by feeling like a Queen (or King!) waking in the castle grounds where Henry VIII and his entourage once stayed!

Room Tip: If you like sunlight streaming through the windows and a double aspect view then ask for Catherine D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hertfordshireSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
2.2 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.9 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
7.0 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 17 in Maidstone
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 17 in Maidstone
1,638 reviews
19.5 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leeds Castle Stable Courtyard Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maidens Tower B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maidens Tower B&B

Address: Leeds Castle, Maidstone ME17 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Maidstone
Hotel Class:5 star — Maidens Tower B&B 5*
Also Known As:
Maidens Tower B&B Maidstone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing