We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem of a cafe”
Review of Moonlight Cafe

Moonlight Cafe
Ranked #8 of 23 Coffee & Tea in Maidstone
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A little gem of a cafe”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I was looking for somewhere quiet and reasonably priced for a quick bite to eat one lunchtime and found myself wandering along Bank Street in Maidstone, somewhere I rarely walk. I was very pleasantly surprised to find The Moonlight Café tucked away, offering a very good choice of food at extremely reasonable prices.

Not the usual 'greasy spoon cafe'. The cooked breakfast looked delicious and well cooked and was very keenly priced. There were also specials on the board for those who don't want 'fried' food, such as a cottage pie i.e. a meat and two veg dinner. They have a range of sandwiches and baguettes on offer too.

I chose a bacon sandwich on brown bread and a cold fizzy drink. This all came in at under £4 which I believe to be excellent value. The bacon was freshly cooked, the bread fresh and thick sliced and the efficient service came with a smile.

The café is clean and the staff very friendly. There a few tables outside for those who prefer to eat outdoors. I will most definitely eat there again, to sample some of their other very good value meals.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lannerfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Basic Greasy Spoon, Average Coffee”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Looking up for cafe's in Maidstone for a quick visit, saw this cafe, the reviews looked great staying "great coffee, great food, great atmosphere", it turns out that it's just a cheap greasy spoon cafe, fine for anyone looking for a quick easy bite, but couldn't find much I liked about this place except the price. Coffee was pretty bad. Off to find another cafe!

Helpful?
4 Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Mary's Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food at sensible prices”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Usually eat at Wimpy but today as it was closed we took a walk about a minute down the road and stumbled upon the Moonlight Cafe. Friendly staff, well presented food, no long wait and good value.
This will now be our preferred choice when next in Maidstone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

lunch to day was very good and nice people and a very small cost .clean and good service what more could you need ,,,,,

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sueatcutandcurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWPORT, UK
Level Contributor
177 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“great veggie breakfast, good coffee”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

we really only went in as it was open early on the Saturday we hit town about 0800 and wondered what to do. The veggie breakfast was superb and we thought it was freshly home made, the coffee was real coffee and the atmosphere was friendly and family. The stairs to the loo were a bit steep so beware when you open the door! Nice all 'round

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeWNewport_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moonlight Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Moonlight Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing