We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knight's Glamping at Leeds Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knight's Glamping at Leeds Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

What a lovely place. Leeds Castle was so photogenic and lovely to have the grounds to yourself in the evening. The tent was glamorous and comfortable with twinkly fairy lights. Definitely going back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirstyred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

A really enjoyable experience. We stayed for 2 nights at the end of August, arrived before check-in but were allowed to park up and take advantage of the free entry to the castle and grounds. We walked around for a couple of hours and then went and checked in at the Reception. They then directed us up to the Knights Cottage where we were met by staff who checked us in and showed us around. We were taken to our tent which was amazing! Four Poster bed with fur throws, a basket of logs next to the wood burner and twinkling fairy lights around the bed and ceiling to create a really magical atmosphere. What I liked was each tent had it's own private picnic bench and outside and so you feel really private and secluded. The bathrooms up in the cottage were really nice and of a good standard finish. The kitchen in the cottage was also really handy to use - we could boil a kettle, take a flask of boiling water down to the tent so that we could have mugs of hot chocolate (sachets also provided) once we'd sealed ourselves in the tent in the evening infront of the roaring wood burning stove!

The only thing I think was a bit of a swizz was the optional breakfast. Somone else on here has written the same but we opted for the continental. £5 each and we got 4 criossants, butter, a little pot of jam and I'd ordered orange juice which I expected would have been a nice glass or jug of freshly squeezed for that price but no - it was cheap carton with a straw. All in all I could have gone out and purchased all of the above for about £3 so being charged £10 was way over the top and I wouldn't bother again!

Can thoroughly recommend the Glamping Tents though - really wonderful experience and Leeds Castle itself and the grounds were beautiful. We went to Go Ape on site too while we were there which was really good fun!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Booked five tents with friends to celebrate a birthday. Fab tents and must mention the very comfy four poster beds. Everything thought of and felt very spoilt both by the location and the staff. We went punting around the castle moat which was great, a chance to see the castle from a very different perspective. We visited the bar at the Great British Kitchen for Pimms and then enjoyed the BBQ facilities at the glampsite for the evening. Next morning we were delivered breakfast and then got lost in the maze before walking round the grounds. Everyone from my two year old nephew, teenage friends to the more "mature" amongst us had a fab time and can't wait to go back. Thank you to Chris and Jack for being great hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dubaidiva63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Our family of four had one night's glamping at the end of July. We all absolutely loved it. We had complimentary entry to the castle grounds on both the day before and after our stay. This gave us time to catch many of the events on offer - birds of prey demonstrations, truck train around the grounds etc.- but the stand out experience was roaming around the park when it was empty after the park closed to the day visitors. It felt such a privilege.
Every single staff member was friendly and helpful and the camping site was very well organised as well as being beautiful. We had sunny weather for the first day and rain the day after, but found plenty to do on both days. We got the train to Bearsted and then a taxi to Leeds Castle. Once we checked in, we were offered a lift from the reception desk to the camping site where there was a secure spot for our luggage. The staff made everything totally stress free. I'd love to return!

Room Tip: The tents all share the same design, but the two at the top of the hill are slightly closer to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spixblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Being a castle fanatic, when I found out about this glamping I just had to try it :-) So me and the other half booked for one night in June 2013. Check in was simple and the guys were very helpful and friendly towards us, explaining and showing us where everything was. The inside of the tent was lovely and even had personal dressing gowns! It was too windy to light the log burner which was a shame as it was a bit chilly being typical British weather!
The best bit was being able to explore the grounds after hours, theres something special about wandering around a castle when theres no-one else around, it was great and we got some nice pictures.
The bed was comfy and we slept pretty well. The guys made us brekkie in the morning which was a massive bacon bagette, yummy!
Would return again next year as a special treat for sure, I can never get enough of Leeds Castle :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We arrived on Friday afternoon & Chris & Kelly made us feel immediately at home. Nothing was too much for them. Everything was catered for, including a fantastic kitchen, for when it rained, and a large area for BBQ-into, if it didn't rain.

The circus style tents had all we needed - utensils for the BBQ, wood for the internal wood stove, kindling, dressing gowns, spare blankets and teas & coffees.

All of the staff around the castle were equally as friendly and, despite the torrential rain, we loved every minute.

Room Tip: Take a cool bag if you'll be BBQ-ing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxhodgexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Very different. Tents secluded and quite posh. Castle very good. Staff abit manic for no reason. The idea is tremendous and the setting marvellous. The Fairfax restaurant was ok. If theres a group of you, barbeque and beers would be brilliant. Recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Jermingham tent is quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jont33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
2.5 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.7 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#10 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knight's Glamping at Leeds Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knight's Glamping at Leeds Castle

Property: Knight's Glamping at Leeds Castle
Address: Broomfield Road, Maidstone ME17 1PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening this spring, Leeds Castle in Kent is offering families and couples the chance to escape to the countryside for a glamorous camping holiday with a difference. Located just under an hour’s drive from London, eight traditionally coloured striped tents based on Medieval design, form a ‘village’ on the one-acre castle vineyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Knight's Glamping at Leeds Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knight's Glamping At Leeds Castle Maidstone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing