We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

The Townhouse Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Townhouse Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 311 Restaurants in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$39
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Town House hotel is a newly refurbished and extended 18 room boutique hotel that provides a relaxed environment for guests.The Town House hotel creates a unique and inviting atmosphere for diners in it's 20-30 seat fine dining restaurant.
Medway
Level Contributor
68 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Amazing welcoming, fantastic food, great service, a perfect lunch! You really made our special day special. Thank you to all the team. We can not wait to return

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Olivier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    47
    19
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So near yet so far”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Gareth Cox at the Townhouse is a rare thing in Maidstone, a very good restaurant! There aren't that many which set out to provide a great experience with great atmosphere in a beautiful dining room with superb food and slick service.

On arriving, last Friday, we were offered cocktails or a drink at the bar before sitting for dinner. The cocktail list is a little limited, nothing that took our fancy so we opted for a bottle of wine. This set the scene well, the service was prompt, efficient and friendly and as we sat there watching the world go by you get a feel for how a place is run and we were reassured that our first visit would be a good one.

The dining room is a nice size, not that big and pleasingly they haven't tried to cram in the covers so you are not sat on top of other diners. Perfect for a romantic dinner.

Service throughout was friendly and efficient without being overbearing. And now for the food. My wife had the scallops, I had ravioli and we both had venison. Suggestions for side dishes were sensible and we did not feel we had been sold sides that we would not be able to eat.

However, this is where we come to the slight rub. When our order was taken the waitress (who we think is probably the manager) was in a rush. Obviously in a rush. When she left the table we had ordered sides but both commented that she didn't appear to be listening, we got the feeling she was already thinking about what needed to be done next. And we were right, our sides arrived and were what we had mentioned before asking what she recommended, not what we settled on.

It was quickly rectified, about 3-4 minutes so no real trouble. But we did notice as they got busier some of the finesse dropped. When we arrived, all the dishes would be presented by two staff, one carrying a tray and the other, donning white gloves, placing the plates on the table. As they got busier this became a bit more haphazard, some served with white gloves, some not. It's not significant, we will still go back but customers notice this stuff and it detracts when your food is placed in front of you without the ceremony the table next to you enjoyed.

All the food was excellent, tasty and portion sizes were what I would expect from a fine dining restaurant, nicely proportioned. Cannot fault the food, it was all very nice and particularly the scallops which are so easily overcooked, were cooked to perfection.

We didn't have desserts, a shortcoming of the menu was a lack of a stodgy chocolate dessert! Surely every restaurant should have one, my wife certainly thought so. Should they be criticised for that, mmm, depends on your view.

Coffee was good although my double espresso with a dash of milk (macchiato) was more just half a cup of coffee. Tasted good though.

Overall, we were very happy, loved the food, loved the whole experience, but there are some minor refinements that are needed for Gareth Cox at the Townhouse to build upon their reputation as a great place to go in Maidstone. (Oh and a decent chocolate dessert)!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephenp1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Makes you want to go back again and again”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Gareth and his team have everything "Just Right" at this resturant. Everything from the welcome, being seated to the drinks menu was very relaxing. The drinks menu had on my favourite but rare wine too which was a pleasent surprise.

That all led on the the food, the culinary expertise of Gareth and the team at the Townhouse really shone through in the food, everything from the way it was presented to the taste was remarkable.

A fine dining establishment with reasonable prices, this should be a must visit for anyone looking for a great evening in the South East.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBloom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Ate in The Townhouse on Saturday night and couldn't of asked for more. The atmosphere and service was second to none. Waitresses were very attentive and knowledgable of the dishes and ingredients on offer,
We were served a complimentary amuse bouche before our starter which was delicious and a lovely touch. I had the Goats Cheese cannelloni, Rump of Lamp and the Chocolate and Rasberry Delice to finish. All I would recommend and tasted as good as they looked.
Was lucky enough to meet Gareth the chef after the meal and you can see why the food was of such a high standard as he is clearly very skilled and passionate about the restaurant and his food.
I would highly recommend to anyone and definitely the best place to eat in Maidstone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jazz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food nice, but lacked seasoning”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was staying at the hotel and decided to have a meal in the restaurant. The dining room was very hot due to the heating being on during one of the hottest days we have had this year so far. I ordered the foie gras for starter and the Lamb rump for my main and a bottle of Slovakian lager. The lager was not cold, the accompaniments to the fois gras were far too sweet, though if eaten without the cherries and sweet sauce it was very nice. The lamb needed a lot of seasoning but there was no salt and pepper on the table and the staff were not around to ask. However, once i did add some salt and pepper the flavours were great. I think with a little attention to detail this could have been a fantastic meal and a great experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Townhouse Restaurant also viewed

Boughton Monchelsea, Maidstone
 

Been to The Townhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing