We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Detling Coachhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Detling Coachhouse
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I recently spend an evening at the Detling Coach House, a restored couch house turned bed and breakfast in Kent, and was extremely please with the accomodations and service. It has a warm homey atmosphere, good service, and comfortable rooms. My bed was very comfortable, and I appreciated the free cable TV and internet access. All in all it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loobiloo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for you for your lovely review, I'm always glad to hear when new visitors enjoy our B&B and our service.
Hope to see you in the future
Kind regards
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    48
    16
    11
    2
See reviews for
24
88
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

A lovely place to stay , just off the main Maidstone to Sheerness road and motorway,but so quiet would not know it. Room clean and tidy with en-suite , breakfast freshly cooked to order and a choose of fruits ,pastry and cereals also. The offer of a torch by Emma to see the way down to the local pub as no street lighting as is that rural,is the kind of personal touch you will appreciate. would recommend to all and will use again .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your kind words, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we do try our best to ensure that everyone is well looked after to the best of our ability
Many thanks
Emma,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Arrived Thursday 14th February around 6pm. Nice character place a friendly welcome and offered a cup of coffee.
We were going to shower before going out for a meal but the water was cold in our room, we were offered another room whilst the boost was put on but decided to have our meal and see what situation was when we returned, water still cold at 10pm?

Next morning the water was hot and breakfast nice, quality sausages , bacon and cooked nicely and just the right amount size wise. also choice of fruit, yoghurt ,cereal and muffins.

Water cold again Friday evening, so we realised that we were going to have to shower in the mornings!

Relief member of staff made an effort to be friendly on Saturday and so did the other lady member of staff.

Pillows in the room were a bit flat could perhaps do with renewing at some point.

Saturday evening water was cold again we found out by now that it appeared to start to get warm around 11.15pm we think that that the hot water was probably on economy 7.

nice b and b just a shame about the hot water.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liane558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for your review.
We shall investigate the situation to see why there was no hot water in the evening but only hot water in the morning.
Again, thank you for your advice about the pillows and will certainly invest in some new ones.
We hope the hot water problem in the evening didn’t spoil your stay.
Many thanks
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

We arrived late at night , Emma had everything arranged , room was perfect for us , woke up looking out on a snowy garden , picture postcard . Breakfast more than you could hope for , excellent value !
Will definitely use the coach house again , even though we live quite local :-)

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you for your very kind words, we always aim to please our guests, hope to see you again in the near future.
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaior, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We arrived after a long drive through very bad road conditions and were immediately greeted with tea and mince pies, so we knew Detling Coach House was going to be a great place to stay. The double room was small but well equipped and the large bathroom compensated for the lack of space in the bedroom. We were visiting the adjacent showground for a company Christmas party and we were told that instead of paying £15 for a cab to take us less than 1/2 a mile, we could drive there and they would arrange for us to be allowed to return on foot through a gate at the rear of the showground which was directly opposite the Coachhouse. We could then return the following day for the car. Athough directly next to the showground, the Coachhouse is far away from the main buildings, so there is no noise or disturbance.

Breakfast the following day was absolutely wonderful, with just about everything you could possibly want. If we every pass this way again, we would definately stay here.

Room Tip: We only experienced one room and it was excellent. My guess is that all the others are of similar q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DhBahiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review it was my pleasure to look after you and I wish you a very Merry Christmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Emma was exceptionally helpful over the phone when I made the booking, and proved to be a wonderful hostess at her lovely B&B. Our room was tucked into the eaves of the Coach House, pristinely clean, and well appointed with bathroom essentials, tea and coffee facilities etc. Emma welcomed us, showed us up to the room,brought up tea and biscuits, and helped us plan our evening with recomendations and directions to local restaurants and pubs. Her suggestions were excellent, we had a great night out, with fine food at the Cock Horse locally.
Beds were comfy, the room was a good temperature, there didn't appear to be any noise from other rooms, tv reception was good, water pressure/temp great, lots of fluffy towels. Everywhere was immaculately clean.
Breakfast exceeded my B&B expectations - a good choice of fruits, cereals, porridge, breads and a complete FEB (Full English Breakfast) as well! It's served in the Breakfast Room where we had the opportunity to chat with the other guests about plans for the day and their experiences of local attractions and hostelries.
I'd love to come back here, and recommend it heartily. It is pretty close to Leeds Castle, which had been our Dy 1 destination on the trip. Thanks Emma!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjgiants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, we always appreciate knowing that we are doing the right thing and that our guests are enjoying their stay with us.
Many thanks
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Excellent homely accommodation, owner Emma is very welcoming and friendly. The rooms are very clean and comfy.
Would 100% recommend and will look forward to staying again. We went for a`work Christmas party to the Detling show ground, which was within stumbling distance from the coach house.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ria716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Its really great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again sometime Happy Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
0.9 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
559 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.0 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#12 of 14 in Maidstone
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#7 of 14 in Maidstone
1,584 reviews
4.0 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 14 in Maidstone
1,704 reviews
4.2 mi away
Oakwood House Hotel
Oakwood House Hotel
#10 of 14 in Maidstone
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detling Coachhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detling Coachhouse

Property: Detling Coachhouse
Address: Scragged Oak Road | Detling, Maidstone ME14 3HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Maidstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Detling Coachhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully beamed Coachhouse set in stunning North Downs Way, Kent, convenient to M20 & M2 between London & Dover. 35 mins from Gatwick Airport. Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Excellent traditional pubs and restaurants nearby. 10 mins from Leeds Castle, directly opposite Kent County Showground. Free Parking & WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Detling Coachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detling Coachhouse Maidstone, Kent
Detling Coachhouse Hotel Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing