We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty rural setting”
Review of Detling Coachhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Detling Coachhouse
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon TYne
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very pretty rural setting”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed for one night on business. Very helpful hosts who coped with my later than expected arrival. Comfortable room with everyone that you'd need. Great area for my morning run! Good home produced breakfast.
All in all, does what it says on the tin and gives good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_B1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    48
    16
    10
    2
See reviews for
24
87
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed here whilst on business in the area lovely room very comfortable very nice staff who were very helpfull and a lovely breakfast was provided in a very nice breakfast room it is all situated in a lovely area !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days and really enjoyed ourselves.I prefer the personal touch that you do not get in the sterile environment of a chain hotel. The food and accommodation were good and the staff were attentive and genuine. I will return in the summer.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilberto 70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for you lovely review. It is always nice to hear that our guests are happy during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

we travel down from north wales and was met by emma , and she showed us to our rooms ,we booked two of them ,lovely rooms very quiet area peaceful settings and we liked that !,ruby and max are there dogs I liked very much ,the whole time there was good , slept very well ,recommend Steve bev kids thank you

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxste-bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for you lovely review. It is always nice to hear that our guests are happy during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

'Homely cottage in heart of Kent. Perfect hosts greeted with hot cup of coffee on a cold Dec afternoon, settled in my room with plenty of advice for my evening. Good breakfast selection a time to suit me...
Personality and personal service - much nicer than the big chains. '

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for you lovely review. It is always nice to hear that our guests are happy during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I was recommended to stay here by a friend. I would definitely stay here again. I stayed in a single room as it was a business related visit but I would visit again with my wife. It is in a beautiful setting and there is a warm and friendly atmosphere. The room was well appointed and the whole experience was one I hope to repeat. The breakfast was top quality and cooked personally, you could tell that the owners care about the quality of your stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for you lovely review. It is always nice to hear that our guests are happy during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

After sampling a number of hotels and B&B's in the area, I was recommended to stay at the detling coach house by an acquaintance of mine. I was initially bowled over by the beautiful picturesque country-side setting, simply stunning. Despite the rural setting the B&B is conveniently located only a few minutes away from the M20.

upon my arrival I was greeted warmly by owner Emma, who escorted me to my room. The room was a great size, the bed comfy with lovely and clean en-suite facilities. I asked Emma and her husband (who I met later) for local restaurant recommendations and they really couldn't have been more friendly or helpful.

My night sleep couldn't have been more peaceful, partly due to the comfy bed and quiet rural surroundings. I could have stayed in bed all morning, however unfortunately I had to work.

I made my way down to the breakfast room for 7am and was welcomed warmly by husband Pan who ran through the menu options. I opted for a freshly cooked-to-order full English breakfast and whilst I waited helped myself to cereal. The cooked breakfast was quite simply amazing. I've breakfasted at a number of hotels and this breakfast has surpassed them all. Quality ingredients, eggs cooked how I asked, hot and just REALLY good. They really did everything possible to make sure I enjoyed my meal, offering more tea and toast when I ran out and generally being on-hand when I wanted, yet not fussing annoyingly.

I left the B&b feeling well rested, fed and ready for my day. In short - Clean, cozy, attention to detail, friendly, great food, brilliant location and excellent value. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for you lovely review. It is always nice to hear that our guests are happy during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
0.9 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
554 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#12 of 15 in Maidstone
359 reviews
4.2 mi away
Oakwood House Hotel
Oakwood House Hotel
#11 of 15 in Maidstone
316 reviews
4.0 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#3 of 15 in Maidstone
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detling Coachhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detling Coachhouse

Property: Detling Coachhouse
Address: Scragged Oak Road | Detling, Maidstone ME14 3HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Maidstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Detling Coachhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully beamed Coachhouse set in stunning North Downs Way, Kent, convenient to M20 & M2 between London & Dover. 35 mins from Gatwick Airport. Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Excellent traditional pubs and restaurants nearby. 10 mins from Leeds Castle, directly opposite Kent County Showground. Free Parking & WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Detling Coachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detling Coachhouse Maidstone, Kent
Detling Coachhouse Hotel Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing