We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to scratch”
Review of Detling Coachhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Detling Coachhouse
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Not up to scratch”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Beautiful cottage, however the double bed in our room was two single beds pushed together. this was uncomfortable as one bed was higher than the other, which is fine if you want your partner to stay well away from you (and squeaky headboards)! The water tank only held enough hot water for one of us to get a bath at a time, so you had a choice of sharing the bath water or alternating days that you bathed. The kettle only boiled halfway to boiling temperature and then you needed to hold your finger on the button and there wasn't enough tables in the dining room for everyone to have breakfast when they wanted to.

The reason why I am giving this rating is because although there were all of the above faults the hostess was welcoming and the cottage was so beautiful and in such beautiful surroundings. However, changes should be made!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacgeohen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you were not 100% happy. We understand that it is annoying to run out of hot water especially after the long hard run during the day but when your partner had used it all up the boiler needs time to re heat the water. each room has its own cylinder and it is more than enough for showers and a bath. The beds are your standard industry Zip and Link beds and the kettle will be checked to ensure that it is working satisfactorily .
We hope this has not dampened your feelings and you will re visit us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    48
    15
    10
    2
See reviews for
24
86
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed for two nights on a leisure break, for a friend's 60th Birthday. The owners are very hands-on and more than helpful. Pleasant bedroom with lovely views and everything one required was supplied.

Breakfast offered with excellent choice. Locally produced produce used in cooked breakfast.

On returning late one evening, I was amazed at the clarity of the night stars - no light pollution - and this would be a wonderful centre for star-gazers, close to Maidstone centre and yet very much in the country.

Would stay again in a heartbeat any time I am in the area. The personal touch does matter, and the owners so welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparrowlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Than you for your great view, I agree with you the stars are great hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Lovely room, beautiful building, fantastic location for kent event centre and they really went extra mile by ensuring kec would keep gates open for access at the end of evening to enable us to walk back. Very friendly all round. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon TYne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed for one night on business. Very helpful hosts who coped with my later than expected arrival. Comfortable room with everyone that you'd need. Great area for my morning run! Good home produced breakfast.
All in all, does what it says on the tin and gives good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_B1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed here whilst on business in the area lovely room very comfortable very nice staff who were very helpfull and a lovely breakfast was provided in a very nice breakfast room it is all situated in a lovely area !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days and really enjoyed ourselves.I prefer the personal touch that you do not get in the sterile environment of a chain hotel. The food and accommodation were good and the staff were attentive and genuine. I will return in the summer.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilberto 70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for you lovely review. It is always nice to hear that our guests are happy during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

we travel down from north wales and was met by emma , and she showed us to our rooms ,we booked two of them ,lovely rooms very quiet area peaceful settings and we liked that !,ruby and max are there dogs I liked very much ,the whole time there was good , slept very well ,recommend Steve bev kids thank you

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxste-bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for you lovely review. It is always nice to hear that our guests are happy during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
0.9 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
549 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#12 of 15 in Maidstone
348 reviews
4.2 mi away
Oakwood House Hotel
Oakwood House Hotel
#11 of 15 in Maidstone
313 reviews
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#13 of 15 in Maidstone
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detling Coachhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detling Coachhouse

Property: Detling Coachhouse
Address: Scragged Oak Road | Detling, Maidstone ME14 3HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Maidstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Detling Coachhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully beamed Coachhouse set in stunning North Downs Way, Kent, convenient to M20 & M2 between London & Dover. 35 mins from Gatwick Airport. Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Excellent traditional pubs and restaurants nearby. 10 mins from Leeds Castle, directly opposite Kent County Showground. Free Parking & WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Detling Coachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detling Coachhouse Maidstone, Kent
Detling Coachhouse Hotel Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing