We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice/but also not!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone
Ranked #19 of 26 Maidstone B&B and Inns
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice/but also not!”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed at the White Rabbit on 23/12/11 to do some last minute Christmas shopping in Maidstone. Its a great location (lovely walking distance to town centre), nice pub, nice place. The problem we had was with our room. It was on quite a slope (felt like blood rushed to our heads in bed), mattress was really old and springy (needs changing), just after midnight we were awoken by some awful noise (chairs and tables being dragged on a wooden floor for about 30min as the breakfast room was underneath us and they were preparing it for the next day. Couldn't go back to sleep for quite a while due to noise.

Taking all of the above into account, I wouldn't say "dont go there"! Just make sure you dont get room number 3, maybe another room has more luck.

To recap - nice place, great location but room 3 not recommended!

Room Tip: Avoid room 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    40
    26
    12
    12
See reviews for
13
38
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I like this place for lunch and the odd beer but I only stay there when I am out in the town centre otherwise I stay at one of the new hotels as the extra £15 a night is worth paying.

Positives include all big rooms, clean, good grub, new tv and key fob for late night return.
Mattresses need renewing, creaky floorboards are even worse than you'd expect and I take earplugs with me because of the early traffic noise. I wish also that the breakfast was a little bit better - it is very much toast or cereal with no staff around. Even a boiled egg would be a result! Check in at the bar can be a bit slow.

Overall I would not say for anyone to avoid this place - just be realistic that this is mainly a pub restaurant, it is not new, but the position and car park are very convenient

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better for road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I stayed in room 11, at the top of the hotel. This hotel is full of character and believe that this is the old mess house when this used to be part of 36 Engineers.
With such buildings, redecoration is a persistent concern. But overall I was very happy with the hotel.
The bathroom appeared to have been refurbished and was great despite a missing washer on the shower hose, but that is me trying to find fault.
The bed was very comfortable and room stayed warm throughout the night, without being hot.
Staff were very helpful, storing my luggage before I could check in and also providing an Ice Bucket later on.

Room Tip: Room 11 and 12 look out over the main road to the West which is about 200 feet away, there was no ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ObjectiveView001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We took advantage of the 3 nights for 2 offer (very good value!) to stay with our friends to celebrate their wedding anniversary at the White Rabbit. First impressions were not helped by being asked to pay in advance for the full tariff of 3 nights whilst checking in.We were also rather perturbed to see there were no optics in place for the spirits at the bar. Drinks were not poured in front of you and I couldn't tell the difference when I was bought a "double". The radiators were noisy and we were glad the weather was mild enough not to need them switched on.Rooms were large, beds were comfortable, but everything needed a makeover and in our friends' case, a thorough cleaning, as their wall light fittings were thick with dust. Floors were not cleaned very well in the bar areas either We saw bits of food under the tables still there after 3 days. One of the radiators in the breakfast room was literally hanging off the wall and the skirting boards were dusty all over the hotel. Continental breakfast was included but was very poor on two of the mornings, with hardly any white bread and only 2 of the 4 slots on the one toaster working. Dinner on two nights was excellent,the staff were always very friendly and helpful but, oh dear, the Sunday night meal was diabolical. We'd ordered 3 roast dinners but had to wait about 25 mins for them to arrive. The meats were fine but the roast potatoes were still white on one side and inedible as they were uncooked. The roasted vegs had obviously been left over from the lunch time sitting as they were hard and shrivelled. Apart from the gravy, all the food was cold. The meals should never have been allowed to leave the kitchen. My husband complained to the waiter, who apologised and rang someone. He then told us the 3 roast meals would be taken from our bill. Although that was dealt with very well, it did put a bit of a damper on a very enjoyable few days. It was very noticeable when Vicky the manager, was on duty but what a difference when she wasn't!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostinDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I stayed at the White Rabbit in September. The first thing that struck me was the shabby exterior and then I got inside to check in and the Staff were youngsters that didn't really know about customer service, as i put my printed out paperwork on the bar in front of me while checking in and a barman put someone else's pint on half of it and then a Bar Menu over the other half?!? like I wasn't there? Very strange.

Also the girl checking us in didn't know how to do it, so after 15 minutes of waiting, she sent us to the room and sorted it out at her leisure.

The room has been refurbished so that was good. It was very comfortable & had a modern Bathroom so that was a plus point.

So in summary. Staying here is fine - But we found drinks and food loads better just over the road at The Society Rooms, that was awesome!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProdigyPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

What a joke, going to this place is like walking into a practical joke!! The manager was sitting at the bar laughing at the one person trying to serve drinks to a que of people going out the door! It's really sad these people have been employed to ruin a place! Such a great building but such a shame its such a poorly run place!! DO NOT ENTER!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maidstone hotels

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My husband and I have stayed at this pub in the past but standards have certainly slipped since we stayed before. The cost of the accommodation is very good, particulary with the "stay Friday and Saturday nights and stay for free on Sunday night".

We waited a long time for our food on Friday night and I ordered a burger on Saturday night which was tough with no flavour. Also the continental breakfast was disorganised. The first morning there was hardly any fruit and no cheese and a shortage of cutlery. On the third morning of our stay there was no hot water for tea, no clean cups and no white bread for toast.

Also the cleanliness of the breakfast room left a lot to be desired and glasses/wine bottles from the previous night were still on the tables in the beer garden at midday.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in our roomy and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueburl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,526 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#12 of 15 in Maidstone
348 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#10 of 15 in Maidstone
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Maidstone Central
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
1,593 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone
Address: Sandling Road | The White Rabbit, Maidstone ME14 2RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1797 to house the officers' quarters of the Invicta Barracks, this distinctive lodge is one of the most welcoming hotels in Maidstone. Rather than repelling Napoleonic troops it now serves as relaxing budget accommodation for short breaks and business travel, and is ideally placed for exploring Kent or nearby towns like Chatham and East Malling.The colonial-style building offers 12 comfy rooms and a cosy pub, where you can unwind with a pint of cask ale and some freshly cooked, seasonally inspired food.Maidstone is Kent's business heart, but there's plenty to see and do besides attending an event at the East Malling Conference Centre. It's best known as home to the beautiful Leeds Castle, with its 500 acres of scenic parkland and popular golf course, but you could also enjoy the town's theatres, bars or busy shopping centre. Or you could explore the area via water, taking a canoe along the River Medway or a more leisurely boat trip on the Allington Belle or Kentish Lady. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rabbit Vintage Hotel Maidstone
Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing