We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“understatede fab restaurant”

Embankments Floating Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 358 Restaurants in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$38
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Embankments restaurant is the only permanently moored floating restaurant in the whole of Kent and is unique in design to the whole of the south-east of England. We are situated on the River Medway behind Maidstone's Archbishops palace. This unique restaurant boasts 60 covers where guests can enjoy great food and wine
Reviewed 28 February 2018

went last fri eve,food was very nice indeed,staff were very young but excellent.very friendly and nothing was too much even when we wanted to change tables to one with a nicer view of the river.was reasonable price for the food and we then went to the bar which had a young dj playing some great tunes and had us singing and dancing along.shame there wasn't more people there but was a very cold night and I guess this is prob a great place to go in the summer to be actually on the river

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank derek t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Treated my misses to a valentines day meal tonight. We visited 2 years ago for the same celebration and were very happy with the whole evening. Tonight was absolutely amazing! The restaurant looked stunning, the service was on point and the food was to die for. We will definitely be returning!! Highly recommend this restaurant to anybody!!

Date of visit: February 2018
2  Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

Me and my husband got married in the Archbishop Palace and the ideal place to hold our wedding breakfast was at the Embankment floating restaurant situated directly behind the Archbishop Palace, the staff were very welcoming and worked amazingly to cater for us and our guests, the food was absolutely fantastic, our guests even complimented the owner that this was the best wedding food (starters, main and desert) they have tasted, all freshly prepared and cooked on the day, the evening buffet food was amazing and catered for all different types of food for our guest, all the guests loved it, Jim even catered for vegetarian and vegan meals. Jim even went out of his way to facilitate a few people who had changed their mind on meals at the last minute. This amazing place Embankment, Jim and his staff were the perfect place and people to complete our wedding day, the DJ was amazing everybody didn’t stop dancing the DJ was accommodating with our music request and our guest music request, some guests have said they love Embankments’s and will even be going back to visit as they loved the vibe, the peaceful & tranquility of the restaurant, we cannot thank you enough, thank you so much Harry & David Collier-Glynn

Date of visit: January 2018
4  Thank Collier-Glynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Came here for our work Christmas Lunch and was looking forward to seeing what it was like. The restaurant itself is nicely decorated and has a lovely view across the river. It really does feel a million miles away from Maidstone town centre.

Firstly the entertainment was a bit unexpected. Very loud and made it difficult to socialise with my work colleagues. Although it has to be said the singer had an excellent voice and made me wonder why he was singing at a restaurant.

I’d gone old school with the food and started with prawn cocktail. It’s never the most outstanding starter but it was pleasant. However for some reason they had included some prawn crackers as garnish. While I like prawn crackers with a Chinese meal, they are not so nice dipped in mayonnaise.

My main was turkey and was perfectly acceptable although it was served “school dinner” style. The Christmas pudding for dessert was a bit heavy even for a heavy pudding.

All in all the food was edible, the place ok but nothing to recommend it.

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank phillipsrobert5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

So disappointed, first time we have visited in a couple of years and it has gone downhill considerably in that time.

First off, the menu. So many spelling mistakes, and every cut off steak, whether it be sirloin, rib eye or fillet is all 'shin'

The rib eye I had was in no way a rib eye. It came with 2 small scallops. The dauphinoise potatoes had meat in it which I've never had before.

The cheese board was horrendous, the brie was dried up as was the red Leicester. No butter and about 5 crackers.

Won't be visiting again.

Ps, if you are bored, play the 'spot the spelling / grammatical errors' in the attached menu

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank coleburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Embankments Floating Restaurant also viewed

 
Boughton Monchelsea, Maidstone
 

Been to Embankments Floating Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing