We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Basic Hotel”
Review of Grange Moor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grange Moor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Maidstone
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Although I stayed in the hotel more than one occasion, it was always for a one night stay. There is plenty of parking so no issues there. Reception very friendly and they always provide you with the required information such as the location of room, time for dinner and breakfast etc…

The hotel is subdivided; and sometimes you have to get out of the main building to get to the other section where the room might be. This, of course is not a problem as it’s only a couple of metres away. The hotel corridor is a bit of a maze and can be slightly difficult to navigate your way through. The rooms are good in size, although some of the bathrooms are small (no baths). You will find a TV, an old digital alarm clock (sometimes no socket close to the bed-so not great), an old wooden wardrobe and an adjustable radiator, a kettle for tea/coffee and a couple of biscuits. The hotel is in need of modernisation; especially the rooms; however, I always found them to be very quiet, comfortable and clean. Dinner is fine too, I tend to go for the steak which is pretty good and cooked to order; no issues with dinner. Breakfast is served from 7:00am; there is a selection of boxed cereals, yogurts, fruit (some of which tinned), jams and other spreads and some juices. In addition, you can order a cooked breakfast too. Regarding breakfast, again, I have no issues. The service overall is good and the staff always very friendly.

In summary, for a basic hotel, offering a clean bed and breakfast for a great price, the Grange Moor is a decent hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghost0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Grange Moor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

We last stayed at the hotel 18 years ago and the decor was very familiar!! That being said, it was clean and comfortable. The best thing about the hotel is the very friendly and helpful staff who genuinely looked after you. The food was great and enjoyed the cooked breakfast. There is free wifi but I couldn't get it to work so gave up.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Keith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

After reading both good and bad reviews for this hotel, we decided to make up our own minds and booked in for a 3 night short break.

On arrival we were instructed that our room was situated in the annex part of the hotel. This is infact a house which has been converted into rooms, down the street. There are no facilities in the annex, meaning that meals had to be taken in the main building. Not such of a problem if it isn't pouing of rain!

Rooms are ok, tired looking and are in need of new beds.

Numerous contractors were booked into the hotel and annex. Some were on nightshifts which made for unrestful nights sleep. The bedding was dirty and the duvet burnt by cigarettes (in a non smoking room) but on complaint and in here defence was swiftly dealt with by the manager. Offering us a drink on the house as a goodwill gesture, was very pleasant of Debbie.

On arrival, the receptionist took our newspaper order, then forgot to order them!

The waiting staff in the hotel were its saving grace. Very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate, offering choices in cereals, yogurts, tinned and fresh fruit, aswell as a freshly cooked breakfast. On a personal note I didn't like the fact that the contractors were served pints of lager and beer at the breakfast tables.

The hotel is tired and dated and needs some tlc. On the upside, it's in a fantastic location for Maidstone town centre, with shops, museums, country walks and Leeds Castle, all very close by.

I feel that this hotel suits the business/ contractors market well or for just an overnight stay. It offers reasonable weekday rates. Would we visit again? No, it was a little too Fawlty Towers for us!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main hotel, to avoid a trapse up the hill for breakfast, espeically if you have a...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

After having an overnight stay at Leeds castle, my husband and I then booked a night at the Grange Moor Hotel so that we could have a day shopping in Maidstone. We arrived 4 hours before being able to collect the keys for our room (booking in is at 2pm), but was allowed to leave the car in the patrons car park while we went off to explore the town, which is approximately a 15 minute walk away.
On our return we was greeted by a very friendly receptionist, lively and bubbly..who made us feel instantly welcome. everything was explained at the desk: dinner times, bar opening, breakfast and then we received the keys to our room. The room itself was an eyeopener, mahogany four poster bed with matching bedside tables, wardrobe and full dressing table....including the usual tea, coffee etc, china cups and saucers as well as a tea pot.
We booked dinner in the dining room and enjoyed a few drinks before eating....the food was remarkable and very reasonably priced...I enjoyed (for the first time) sauted breast of pheasant with pan fried new potatoes and vegetables and £12.95, which I considered good value for money.
Breakfast was also very nice, with a lovely range of foods....fresh fruit, cereals, full English etc.
All of the staff were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble.
Would we stay again....well I spoke to our daughter while we were there..and not only said we wished we booked two nights, but also recommended that if her and her partner wanted a break..they should think about it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

All of the staff were so welcoming and friendly, especially the nice waitress during breakfast. The place is quite old but I really liked it. The little bar was awesome too.. Would recommend for anyone wanting a 'homey' kind of stay........

Stayed: October 2013
3  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stay at The Grange Moor once a year when we visit Maidstone. We find the staff friendly and welcoming, the rooms comfortable and the food excellent. It is perfect for a short stay and handy for Maidstone centre. We will certainly stay there again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Grangeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

A most homely and friendly hotel,due for an update internally,but spotlessly clean.Great food friendly and helpful staff.In a superb location for so many places to visit,Leeds Castle is just a very short trip away and definitely a must see day out.

Room Tip: Because the hotel caters for weddings and functions on weekends we chose the sister hotel across the...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Maidstone Central
Travelodge Maidstone Central
#11 of 17 in Maidstone
474 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#9 of 17 in Maidstone
1,615 reviews
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 17 in Maidstone
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oakwood House Hotel
Oakwood House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Maidstone
326 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#12 of 17 in Maidstone
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Moor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Moor Hotel

Address: St Michaels Road, Maidstone ME16 8BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range: £46 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grange Moor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grange Moor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Moor Maidstone
Grange Moor Hotel Maidstone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing