We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprising from start to finish”
Review of Grange Moor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grange Moor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Maidstone
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Rolling up outside it was nice to find a good sized hotel in a quiet suburban street, and a good large carpark. Free Wifi with several servers to choose from (although mine kept dropping out?) A clean small room with everything I needed. Pleasantly professional food etc, but the real surprise was next morning... The staff were talking about the most violent storm they'd ever witnessed, during the night. The ground was wet, sure enough, but I'd slept like a brick ! LOL
One final surprise, a young lad in an old mini let me out into traffic as soon as I turned out of the hotel and even at 9am my drive to Rochester was so quick my appointment agreed to see me early. How good was all that?!

Room Tip: Room ten was a small single overlooking the back garden, quiet, clean and functional, a shower that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel was clean and staff very friendly. Breakfast very nice.
Downsides were having to walk down the road for our room and shower not powerful only having small trickle of water. Only stayed one night so acceptable for the time there.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uba2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked this hotel and when we got there was sent 4 doors down the road. The lobby smelled and we felft as if we was not in a hotel but a hostel. My wife had a shower which was cold and only came out the centre not around the edges. and the towels were frayed. My problem was the soap. I do not want to use soap which someone else had already used. When we went to breakfast, toast was cold, bacon was cold. Orange juice was disgusting. We had to make our own tea and coffee. And service was extremely poor. This was the worst hotel i have ever stayed in.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wilfiesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange M, Manager at Grange Moor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following from your recent stay. We have addressed the shower head that you mentioned and I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention, however I was disappointed to read your comments regarding certain aspects of your stay, you state that you had to use soap that someone else had used, I was very surprised by this comment, our soap is provided in dispensers which you access by pushing a button, the soap which is topped up regularly serves clean unused soap to every individual.

Please be rest assured that our breakfasts are usually served hot as we cook it to order. I am unsure why no comments were made to my breakfast team at the time. If it were found to be cold it would have been rectified immediately.

Please do not hesitate to contact me direct should you wish to discuss this further,

Chantelle Jones
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I chose the Grangmoor to celebrate our wedding day. We had been there for previous family functions and Christmas "dos" so knew the layout etc, but on meeting Chantelle on an off the cuff visit we booked up there and then. She made us feel so welcome and we knew we would be safe in her hands. It was the most stressfree wedding. The whole day was faultless and we had a supurb day. The staff were amazing; so friendly and accomodating. They decorated the room to our requirements and it looked fabulous. We had a sit down of 50 guests and the food was delicious and hot. The waiting staff were incredible and the day ran smoothly. The weather even held out for us to have some photos in the garden which was really pretty and well maintained. The evening was just as wonderful and the transition from wedding breakfast to disco venue happened without us even realising! Our room was lovely; some may say dated but I would say traditional. The champagne at 9am the following morning topped off a perfect day. Thanks to all at the Grangemoor - we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite which had a perfect view of the garden. We had guests stay all ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emma2003-79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange M, Manager at Grange Moor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you so very much for your kind comments, we were delighted to host your wedding day and we are delighted that you and your guests had such a fabulous time!

It was our honour and pleasure, so thank you for choosing the Grange Moor Hotel.

Chantelle Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel whilst visiting relatives. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. we needed a ground floor room and we had not stipulated this on our orginal booking but it was not a problem when we arrived and it was handled very efficently. Room was lovely bright and clean with all modern facilities beds very comfortable. Breakfast was great wide range on menu great value. Overall our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange M, Manager at Grange Moor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for the positive comments you left us following from your recent stay, my colleagues and I always take great motivation from such good comments, we are pleased you had a good experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future at the Grange Moor Hotel,

Thank you,

Chantelle Jones
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

on arrival... the hotel receptionist was talking on the phone to another member of staff called Fiona...I stood there waiting to check in...but the receptionist obviously forgetting her customer service training and thinking her conversation was more important than me the paying customer having to wait continued to natter away for several minutes while I stood there waiting...eventually she managed to drag herself away from the riveting conversation...replaced the receiver...looked at me and said..."sorry to keep you waiting" ??.. really !... sorry !... had I not been tired...thirsty...and in need of a shower I might have been in the frame of mind to berate her...and go stay somewhere else.....however... things got better....the room.. number 27 is a bit laura ashley....but spotlessly clean...comfy 4 poster bed....weak shower but plenty of hot water....kettle...biscuits....tv...etc....all very satisfactory for £60+ a night.
dinner was excellent...catch of the day...cheese and biscuits...2 very attentive waitresses/barmaids......breakfast was hot and speedily served....wifi is good and free...parking is plentiful and free...would i stay here again...yes probably...

Room Tip: 27 was ok....quiet..on the first floor...view over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here as it was near a friend's house, but it is also very handy to walk into Maidstone if you're after bars and restaurants. We weren't staying in the main building, but were across the road in basically a large converted house. Not a problem and our family room was very big, but the whole place felt very dated and in need of a serious re-decoration. We also had no hot water and after calling we waited 30 minutes for assistance by which time we had to leave. However, the next morning we did have hot water. Breakfast was pleasant. I don't think, overall, it was worth £79, but perhaps having breakfast included makes it ok value as many hotels charge extra for that.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Maidstone Central
Travelodge Maidstone Central
#11 of 17 in Maidstone
491 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 17 in Maidstone
1,659 reviews
1.9 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 17 in Maidstone
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.4 mi away
Oakwood House Hotel
Oakwood House Hotel
#12 of 17 in Maidstone
343 reviews
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#13 of 17 in Maidstone
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Moor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Moor Hotel

Address: St Michaels Road, Maidstone ME16 8BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range: £48 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grange Moor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Grange Moor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Moor Maidstone
Grange Moor Hotel Maidstone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing