We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stopover”
Review of Grange Moor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grange Moor Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good stopover”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

'I must admit we came with low expectations but were presently surprised by how everything was presented, the friendliness of the staff, the quality of the food and the general ambiance of the hotel. You don\'t expect 5 star luxury but the beds were comfortable, tea and coffee (plus biscuits and cocoa!)plentiful in the room and the water hot and plentiful as well. True it would be great if the shower pushed out more water but otherwise it was fine. The breakfast was a great surprise. We had read some "interesting views" but feel those people were living in an alternate universe. We even had mango and strawberries - some 4 star hotels often fail to provide this level of service. Bacon was crisp and non fatty, sausages of a good quality and, very importantly, service was excellent. Finally, car parking is plentiful and we got a great night\'s sleep, despite my snoring! Well done Great Moor- great value and good service.'

Room Tip: Just remember that if you are in a triple room it will be oer he road in a separate annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farmcotian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    95
    49
    23
    38
See reviews for
79
111
25
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

we booked rooms the bridal suite for my daughters wedding night there was also several rooms booked by guest of the wedding as many had traveled from different parts of the country.
the hotel serves a Sunday launch that is the reason the grange moor was chosen .
but only to be told that that there was no Sunday lunch one year of planning had been ruined with no warring from the hotel
guest was over charged money taken debit and credit cards before guest had checked out of there rooms.
the manager Chantelle and front desk staff have a seemed only interested in taking .your money and nothing else

so a big thank you to the grange moor hotel for ruining the bride & grooms first day of their marriage.

Room Tip: rooms are dated
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange M, Manager at Grange Moor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments following you recent stay, I was disappointed to read your review, although not surprised as you did mention that you would be writing a negative review, and that you would ask all your family and friends to do the same when we could not provide you with a table at our Sunday carvery as it was fully booked.

The Grange Moor Hotel's Sunday Carvery Lunch is extremely popular among our guests and local residents and because of this, it is necessary to reserve a table before hand. We were not aware that your daughter was getting married in a venue near by and your party required a table for lunch on Sunday.

We understand that you were frustrated for not been able to have a table for lunch at the hotel. We also understand that you did give the hotel good business in having 10 rooms the previous night, however, we could not give you a table based on that and let our other guests down who had reserved tables.

With regard to taking money, we can assure you that you have been charged only for the 10 rooms that you stayed in. Regrettably, we had to decline your request to refund you the room charges in full or give a discount for the reason that we could not give you a table for the hotels carvery lunch.


Chantelle Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Rolling up outside it was nice to find a good sized hotel in a quiet suburban street, and a good large carpark. Free Wifi with several servers to choose from (although mine kept dropping out?) A clean small room with everything I needed. Pleasantly professional food etc, but the real surprise was next morning... The staff were talking about the most violent storm they'd ever witnessed, during the night. The ground was wet, sure enough, but I'd slept like a brick ! LOL
One final surprise, a young lad in an old mini let me out into traffic as soon as I turned out of the hotel and even at 9am my drive to Rochester was so quick my appointment agreed to see me early. How good was all that?!

Room Tip: Room ten was a small single overlooking the back garden, quiet, clean and functional, a shower that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel was clean and staff very friendly. Breakfast very nice.
Downsides were having to walk down the road for our room and shower not powerful only having small trickle of water. Only stayed one night so acceptable for the time there.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uba2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel and when we got there was sent 4 doors down the road. The lobby smelled and we felft as if we was not in a hotel but a hostel. My wife had a shower which was cold and only came out the centre not around the edges. and the towels were frayed. My problem was the soap. I do not want to use soap which someone else had already used. When we went to breakfast, toast was cold, bacon was cold. Orange juice was disgusting. We had to make our own tea and coffee. And service was extremely poor. This was the worst hotel i have ever stayed in.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wilfiesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange M, Manager at Grange Moor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following from your recent stay. We have addressed the shower head that you mentioned and I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention, however I was disappointed to read your comments regarding certain aspects of your stay, you state that you had to use soap that someone else had used, I was very surprised by this comment, our soap is provided in dispensers which you access by pushing a button, the soap which is topped up regularly serves clean unused soap to every individual.

Please be rest assured that our breakfasts are usually served hot as we cook it to order. I am unsure why no comments were made to my breakfast team at the time. If it were found to be cold it would have been rectified immediately.

Please do not hesitate to contact me direct should you wish to discuss this further,

Chantelle Jones
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I chose the Grangmoor to celebrate our wedding day. We had been there for previous family functions and Christmas "dos" so knew the layout etc, but on meeting Chantelle on an off the cuff visit we booked up there and then. She made us feel so welcome and we knew we would be safe in her hands. It was the most stressfree wedding. The whole day was faultless and we had a supurb day. The staff were amazing; so friendly and accomodating. They decorated the room to our requirements and it looked fabulous. We had a sit down of 50 guests and the food was delicious and hot. The waiting staff were incredible and the day ran smoothly. The weather even held out for us to have some photos in the garden which was really pretty and well maintained. The evening was just as wonderful and the transition from wedding breakfast to disco venue happened without us even realising! Our room was lovely; some may say dated but I would say traditional. The champagne at 9am the following morning topped off a perfect day. Thanks to all at the Grangemoor - we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite which had a perfect view of the garden. We had guests stay all ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma2003-79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange M, Manager at Grange Moor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind comments, we were delighted to host your wedding day and we are delighted that you and your guests had such a fabulous time!

It was our honour and pleasure, so thank you for choosing the Grange Moor Hotel.

Chantelle Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel whilst visiting relatives. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. we needed a ground floor room and we had not stipulated this on our orginal booking but it was not a problem when we arrived and it was handled very efficently. Room was lovely bright and clean with all modern facilities beds very comfortable. Breakfast was great wide range on menu great value. Overall our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange M, Manager at Grange Moor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for the positive comments you left us following from your recent stay, my colleagues and I always take great motivation from such good comments, we are pleased you had a good experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future at the Grange Moor Hotel,

Thank you,

Chantelle Jones
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Oakwood House Hotel
Oakwood House Hotel
#11 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.9 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#10 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#14 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Moor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Moor Hotel

Property: Grange Moor Hotel
Address: St Michaels Road, Maidstone ME16 8BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grange Moor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grange Moor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Moor Maidstone
Grange Moor Hotel Maidstone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing