We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laughing Buddha is the best”

Laughing Buddha Chinese Restaurant
Price range: US$16 - US$40
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: No longer trading
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Laughing Buddha is the best”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Went to this restuarant with friend and then again as a couple and each time it did not disappoint. The service was brilliant, non intrusive and polite. The food was excellent. we had the buffet which was cooked to order each time so non of this food hanging about and all types of people poking at it! We were not rushed at all and whenever we were not sure of a item on the menu it was clearly explained. The other good thing was the chef actually comes out to see you which is unusual these days.
This place is probably the best chinese (which does thai dishes as well) restuarant we have been to in a long time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ragdoll8565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    21
    12
    11
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South of England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well kept secret”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The second visit to his hidden gem. It looks a little like any other town centre Chinese restaurant. But as before the food and service far out surpass its cover. How often does the chef in a Chinese restaurant come out to chat with his diners. This is truly a well kept secret.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MisterJDB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, service excellent and food to die for!!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Dined there this evening as we wanted somewhere nice for our 5th wedding anniversary. The menu consists of a few set menu options or individually priced dishes but I have to say the food itself is to die for! Freshly cooked with a more alacarte feel to it and beautiful presentation. Tasted so yummy! Lovely sound of water from the fish pond in the restaurant and generally very pleasant inside. Staff were great, very attentive without being a nuisance and very friendly. We really enjoyed this, best Chinese I have been to in a long time. Don't understand the negative reviews at all, maybe they ate somewhere else!!
Thanks for a lovely evening

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Im back 1 year later!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

So I left a review here about a year ago stating how good the laughing Buddha was to me and my fiance and lets just say second time round and they didn't seize to amaze us :D The food and service was really great and we had a good time.

I've noticed quite a few bad reviews about this place and im surprised because none of the bad stuff mentioned ever happened to us. yeah sure I have only been there twice but both times have been exceptional.

I definitely recommend for new comers in Kent and lovers of a good Chinese ;)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank george t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Malling
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unfortunately, a formerly great restaurant that's now overpriced.”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I've been visiting this restaurant for over fifteen years and have followed it from Hon's Palace to Tang's Imperial to Laughing Buddha so it's rather sad to see what was, at one point, my absolute favourite restaurant fall so badly from grace. The majority of people eating here do so from the "all you can eat" menu which used to have something of the region of 130 to 150 dishes for £13.80 per person. When we went here at the end of August, the choice of dishes has been cut down to about 50 to 60 dishes for £16.80 per person. I think this might not have been such an issue if they hadn't increased the price and decreased the choice simultaneously. On the upside, the quality of food was excellent and the service was prompt.

One warning for allergy sufferers: the "vegetarian" soup I had contained prawns, pork and chicken. The only other table in the restaurant had someone with a nut allergy and despite disclosing this to the waiter prior to ordering, their dish was covered in peanuts.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PuffinRub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jin c, Manager at Laughing Buddha Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Firstly we are glad that you found the quality of our food excellent and service prompt. We have taken over the restaurant for almost 1 year as Laughing Buddha and price wise we have kept it the same as it was when the restaurant use to be Tang's Imperial we have not added a penny to it and after reading your review I went to dig up a tang's imperial menu and counted the verity that we have witch is 75 dishes and Tang's Imperial had 76 dishes witch 12 dishes on the menu was duplicated i.e Chicken in black bean sauce then few lines down it has chicken with green peppers and black bean sauce witch is the same thing this mistake is on the prawn and beef sections too. Then there is sweet and sour pork and chicken Cantonese style and sweet and sour pork and chicken Hong Kong style witch is also the same thing.
There menu had 1 extra dish to us but technically lot less as there was duplicates. As far as I know from the land lord as he was the one that had the restaurant when it was Hon's Palace he said they never had the All You Can Eat Menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Laughing Buddha Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Maidstone, Kent
Maidstone, Kent
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing