We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Campanile Dartford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Campanile Dartford
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dartford
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We wanted to be close to London, so we chose this Campanile in Dartford as we already knew this chain in France.


We took the breakfast on the last day of our stay as it was opened until 11 (week end) and the buffet was composed of every thing we could expect. The waitress was really nice by the way.

I recommand this hotel for travelers who hasn't big budget, and we will come back if we want to go to London again.
The train to London is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel, so we have been able to go to London each of our 4 days of stay.

The room is spacious, well equiped and really clean. It is quiet even if there is a lot of trafic just in front of the window.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic0las95000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredRousselle, Directeur général at Campanile Dartford, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for giving us a feedback on your stay in our Campanile in Dartford.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. It is important for us to get both good and bad feedbacks as it helps us to improve our welcoming.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Hotel is a cross between a Travel Lodge and a Premier Inn. Quick check in and friendly staff. The rooms are very small and plan, floor and ceiling are white artex, no pictures or colour but clean with tea , coffee , milk and kettle. 3 Pillows, would be nice to have 4 to save asking for an extra one. Again as per other complaints, noise from other people staying even nocturnal activates lol. I think the problem is because the reception is separate from the entrance to the rooms, this means the staff don't know who is in the building. The security door was never locked you just walked in and the barriers to get in to the car park was always open, even when you issued with a code to get in and out. It's a budget hotel but with some small amendments could be better than it's rivals. Would I stay again, only if a Travel Lodge and a Premier Inn was not available.

Room Tip: If there is no other budget hotels available, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markgparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredRousselle, Directeur général at Campanile Dartford, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for giving us a feedback on your stay in our hotel.

We are happy to know that you have been pleased by your welcoming and the staff, and that you liked your room even if you found it basic.
We are sorry to learn that you have been disturbed during your night, and next time do not hesitate to call our night team member who can fix the problem quickly.
Providing you an extra pillow directly to your room isn’t a problem for us as each person has his proper need.

We would be pleased to welcome you in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Easy to find, polite staff, nice breakfast, clean restaurant and rooms. Towels and extra pillars provided. For value for money, would stay again. Close to blue water with loads of restaurants close if u don't fancy hotel restaurant

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly031284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredRousselle, Directeur général at Campanile Dartford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for giving us a feedback

We are happy to know that you appreciated your stay in the hotel Campanile Dartford.
It is always a pleasure for our staff to welcome our guests and to provide the best service possible.
We would be glad to receive you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

As Budget hotel it attracts a varied clientele from coach loads of Belgium pensioners to groups of teenagers to groups of travellers overnight staying on route to and from channel ports as well as guests like myself visiting places in the area ie Brands Hatch. The rooms are a little basic but generally clean with all you need for a short stay. I have stayed here before and must say the type of guest it attracts seem to be inconsiderate to other guests! Being very noisy late at night. One group of either French or Belgium seemed to like to play around in the car park smoking and making noise till the early hours. When we went down stairs the next day it looked like they had come off a muddy football pitch with sod sod mud all over the stairs and hall carpets. If you're on a budget it's ok but don't expect too much.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredRousselle, Directeur général at Campanile Dartford, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for giving us your feedback on your stay.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your room.
We are sorry that you have been disturbed by a group of guests during the night. Don’t hesitate to call our reception (dial 0) at any time of the night, as our team member will be able to act against the problem 24/7.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

So reading previous reviews I wasn't sure whether to get my hopes up or not with this hotel, however it was better than I expected.

The hotel was quite easy to navigate to and the car park had plenty of spaces when we arrived in mid afternoon and again later in the evening. The staff were friendly on reception and when we requested an extra pillow this was delivered to us quickly.

The rooms were clean with comfortable beds and decent blackout curtains. Usual supply of teas and coffee, with the bathroom also having soap and shower gel in dispensers on the wall. Fixtures and fittings in here looked quite new and the shower was easy to get to the right temperature for my liking. You are provided with 1 large towel per person and a bath mat which is perfectly adequate.

The television has Freeview with a DVD player also hidden behind it. If we had known this we would've brought 1 or 2 to watch with us. The room did lack in plug sockets though and we could only find 2 in the whole room...one of which was next to the bathroom.

The downsides to the hotel would be the décor seemed a little on the dull side, and specifically in our room one of the window fasteners was broken! Which made it near impossible to shut half asleep at 4am. If hotel management read this, we were in room 329. The room also only had 1 chair to sit on which gave it a little bit of an empty feel.

We did not try the breakfast, for the price of the room we would've expected this to be included not another £6 on top...needless to say there in a McDonald's a few minutes away which also serves rather pleasant breakfasts.

Room Tip: All rooms may have some traffic noise from M25 (if windows are open) but closed should not be a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xp132476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredRousselle, Directeur général at Campanile Dartford, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us a feedback on your stay in our Campanile.
We are really happy to know that you appreciated your room and the staff, as we are always making the best we can to satisfy our guests. Our rooms have recently been renovated to improve the quality of your stay.
Thank you for informing us about the window and we will try to fix it as soon as possible, our maintenance manager is working on it.
Next time we hope that you will try our breakfast which is a buffet full of cereals, pastries, ham and cheese, fresh fruits and so on.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Rooms were ok beds were nice and comfy, shower was either red hot or freezing cold! Unlike other hotels I have stayed in there were no toiletries in the bathroom I.e shampoo,shower gel conditioner etc just a mix in a bag attached to the wall. Car parking at the hotel was free and we had no trouble parking, however based on the number of rooms if all were full parking would have been an issue. Breakfast was a complete joke. We went through reception said good morning to the receptionist and she ignored us, the dining room itself was fairly empty and we had a choice of about 25 tables to sit at, however 24 had dirty plates on from previous diners so we only had 1 table to choose from. The first to mugs I picked up for my coffee were dirty, the oj was watered down. We waited (4 of us) for 35 minutes for the chef to bring out bacon and when he finally did he brought out 5 pieces. The sausages were cold and tasteless, very cheap brand and when we tried to leave the dining area to take our bacon sandwiches to our rooms ( as we had been in the dining room for 50 mins waiting) we were told in no uncertain terms that take away was forbidden!! There were 6 staff around that we saw and the tables remained un-cleared for at least 45 mins. All in all thouroughly disgusted with the complete and utter lack of service and the very poor attitude of the staff
seriously if you are thinking of staying here you should just get a tent!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredRousselle, Directeur général at Campanile Dartford, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for giving us your opinion.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your room, but sorry to learn that you have been disappointed by the breakfast.
The shampoo/shower which is at your disposal in the bathroom is an Ecolabel certified product as the Campanile is evolving toward an ecological future.
Thank you for being anxious about our free car park but we have never had any problem with the issue you raised as we have 134 places available for 125 rooms, so you don’t have to worry about that, you will always have a place available for your car if you wish to come again.
The Campanile receives many groups during the year and we are sorry that it bothered you. About the time you had to wait I will make sure that it doesn't happen again.
Thank you for giving us your feedback that is useful for us to keep evolving toward the best quality of service for our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The potential downsides are:

1. You can see (and hear) the thundering traffic crossing the Dartford Bridge 24/7
2. The hotel is on an industrial estate / trading park so you need to be content to eat there or drive
3. Its another chain business hotel

BUT

This place is French owned and (mostly) staffed... and they do seem genuinely to try to make things good. I have stayed in Campaniles on the continent before, and they're the same here. OK sized rooms, with excellent and free wifi, well equipped (but no A/C), plenty of parking and a good and fairly priced restaurant. The noise from the M25 is ever present, but I didn't find it too bad - even with the window open wide all the (hot summer!) night.

So, a pleasant surprise, much better than the other Travel Chain lodge-inns... I will use them again if I have the need.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TACHSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredRousselle, Directeur général at Campanile Dartford, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Many thanks for taking time to write a feedback on your stay.
We are glad to learn that you have appreciated your stay with us, even more knowing that you were expecting less from us.
Our staff is making the most to please you at any time of your stay.
We all hope that you will come back again in the Campanile Dartford and we will make our best to please you even more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartford
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Dartford
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dartford Bridge
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Dartford
Travelodge Dartford
#6 of 7 in Dartford
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#766 of 1,075 in London
683 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#1 of 2 in Grays Thurrock
644 reviews
11.1 mi away
Britannia Inn Hotel
Britannia Inn Hotel
#6 of 14 in Ilford
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Dartford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Dartford

Address: 1 Clipper Boulevard West | Crossways Business Park, Dartford DA2 6QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dartford
Price Range: £39 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Dartford 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Campanile Hotel Dartford hotel is close to the m25 - Dartford Tunnel and the Bluewater and Lakeside shopping centres. It has free parking, WiFi with supplement, a bar and buffet restaurant. The Campanile Hotel Dartford has 125 rooms with TVs, telephones, tea/coffee and work desks. The Campanile Dartford is on Crossways Business Park and there are 3 lakes and many footpaths to explore. Junction 1A of the m25 motorway is a short drive away and there are local buses to Dartford and the nearby shopping centres. The bar at the hotel has a terrace with views over the lake and the restaurant offers great-value buffets for breakfast and for evening meals. At Campanile Hotel Restaurant we have 2 meeting rooms available from 2 - 50 delegates. Our well-equipped meeting rooms benefit from natural daylight and air conditioning. Other equipment available includes LCD projectors, AV equipment, OHP, White boards, Flip chart and business folders for delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Dartford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Dartford Hotel Dartford
Campanile Hotel Dartford
Campanile Dartford Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing